We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern clean hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Modern clean hotel in great location”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for trip to London. The hotel Is very clean and all the staff friendly and helpful. The family rooms are a bit snug for four but served a purpose. Facilities and breakfast were good and the location was ideal for us. Train station is only two minute walk away with good links to London. Can recommend the Italian restaurant over the bridge. The only gripe we had was the bed was very lumpy and not very comfortable. However overall an enjoyable hassle free stay at a reasonable price.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bmacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We do hope you enjoyed your trip into London. It is lovely to receive the great comments regarding the hotel and team, and I can advise that we are having a delivery of new beds throughout the whole hotel this month which we hope will prevent any further issues for our guests who may find the beds uncomfortable.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    272
    95
    23
    7
See reviews for
259
169
33
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Usual Holiday Inn Express features. Good value. But staff here make it more than a budget 'feel'. Well located close to motorways and easy to find. Interesting walks to nearby canal. Less than 1 hour from Heathrow.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments - it is so great to hear that the team really made your stay. They are so pleased with this feedback so thank you again and please do come and visit us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed over bank holiday weekend to go to Wembley, which is only down the track. Staff couldn't do enough for you, really friendly. Great location next to canal, with a great Italian on other side of canal, also Indian and very nice pub within 2 minutes walk. Sainsburys 5 mins walk. Definitely will visit again due to staff very welcoming. Ideal if you want to go into London but don't want to stay in city. Ideal for Harry Potter & Whipsnade Zoo.Thanks to staff for great weekend

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your great review. I shared your comments with the team last week and they were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to see you enjoyed our location and we met your expectations for your visit. Comments such as these make our day so thank you again and do make sure you come and see us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights for business reasons. The greet at reception was pleasant and friendly. After a long day I had trouble getting in my room. Staff were great and helped me out. The room was clean and a fair size plus a nice shower. However I have two gripes. House keeping was poor. They would just flip the duvet over and not make the bed. The sink was never cleaned. I know it wasn't because I could still see toothpaste stains. The desk was never wiped down.

The second gripe was when I asked for gluten free bread in the morning the man at reception who was helpful told me holiday inn no longer supply this. Very disappointed as my diet is limited as I do not eat wheat or dairy. So it was a struggle each morning at breakfast.

If you are looking for something to eat opposite the car park just walk over the white Bridge there is a lovely Indian worth a visit. Also if you come out the hotel turn right walk up to the roundabout there is a large Sainsbury it has a cafe too.

Overall I did enjoy my stay despite my gripes.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CillaA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay but may I apologise for the issues you did encounter. I have since spoken to the Housekeeping Team and they have actioned your comments regarding your bed not being made and the cleaning of the sink and desk. This is not our usual standard so may I sincerely apologise for this. I am also sorry that our free breakfast offering does not include gluten free bread. This is something that we are reviewing as we are experiencing more and more guests with this need. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Quick stay over for work in the area.
Room was immaculate and spacious. Breakfast was plentiful both continental and hot selection and staff lovely - I was up that early that I only saw the night shift & breakfast dude. I can't remember the guy who checked me in's name but he was an older gentleman.
Tip - Car park can get full but the hotel over spills into the neighbouring apartment car park.

Would defiantly stay again if in the area in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysOnMyHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback on your recent visit. We are so pleased you found your stay to be great with everything you needed - a clean spacious room with a free breakfast to get you ready to start your day. We do hope to see you again when you are back in the area.
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

All staff we came across were very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were well designed, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was designed so that the door could close the toilet off from the rest of the bathroom - very clever. Breakfast was the only disappointment, as there was no bacon. The cooked food consisted of sausages, scrambled eggs and baked beans.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldBat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guest, thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here. The team are very happy to hear such lovely feedback in which I have shared your comments with them.
Thank you also for your feedback on breakfast, as you mentioned our 3 hot items on the Holiday Inn Express breakfast buffet does indeed consist of sausages, scrambled egg and beans as well as the continental items. We are always trying to improve on the quality of these items and your feedback is invaluable to us.
We do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

A perfectly good budget hotel with friendly staff and reasonably well presented. I stay here frequently as it is good value for money. Although I do wish they'd sort the orange juice out at breakfast.

There is adequate parking and it's very handy for Apsley train station.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear David, thank you for your review and also for your loyalty. It is great to welcome so many of our regular guests each week and we are pleased that you find us to be ideal for what you need. I have passed on your feedback to the team regarding the orange juice and we will be sure to look into this. Our apologies if this has not been to standard.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Address: Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead hotel, a short drive from local businesses and 2 minutes' walk from Apsley train station. The inviting Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead is just 10 minutes by car from the handy A4251, M1 and M25. You can take off from London Luton Airport, 25 minutes' drive away, and reach central London in 30 minutes by train. We offer free parking on-site and you can set yourself up for the day with an inclusive buffet breakfast in our comfortable Great Room. Book a meeting for 40 in one of our 3 meeting rooms and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. We're 10 minutes' drive from local companies on Maylands Avenue and Breakspear Way. You can take to the slopes at the The Snow Centre in 5 minutes. Under-18s stay for free when sharing with their parents in one of Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead's welcoming family rooms. Spend a relaxing evening with friends over drinks or dinner in the Great Room lounge or simply relax in your newly refurbished guest room with modern decor, an en-suite with power shower and a 32-inch flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing