We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a pretty location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here whilst on a London theatre break. Very clean and comfortable hotel. Pretty and quiet location. Rooms very clean. Only criticism - no fridge in the room. Breakfast was great with plenty of choices.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had an adjoining room, two adults, two children. Rooms are spotless, clean fresh bed linen, friendly reception staff. Great breakfast, great nights sleep. Free wifi, and a lovely hot powershower . I would definately recommend this hotel to any body wishing to stay the night while visiting Harry Potter studio.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonyawayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a family weekend away so that we could visit the Harry Potter Studios. Very convenient for the train station to London which we used to go shopping at Westfield on the Saturday. Rooms were very clean and comfy, plenty of tea and coffee provided. Breakfast could have been a little bit better, the cooked breakfast was average and we kept to the cereal and toast and fruit. The staff were very helpful especially when we had a noisy room with loud music, we went to reception who dealt with it immediately.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great hotel , good staff and good rooms. Needed more options on the breakfast lacked hot food choices and needed to be refilled more times due to a lot of people staying in the hotel eating at the same time.
Made one complaint about loud music in a room across the hall and got dealt very quickly.

Lovely views, canal opposite the hotel and lovely food place for evening meals.

10minute drive away from the harry potter place which we visited in the afternoon, clear roads and good signs if you don't know the area.

Train station across the road handy if you want to go more into London area, we caught a cheap train to Westfield shopping mall and had a lovely shopping trip out.

would deffo recommend this hotel if you need to be near the harry potter place and also good to stay there away from main London traffic and noise but still near London, shopping, food, pubs.

Tip; please update breakfast choices.

Room Tip: outside rooms facing the road are quieter and not so hot at night. can ask for 3 people in one room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lovely location next to the canal, free on site parking, very clean room, 3 minutes walk to train station and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night but security man was there instantly to check all was ok and turn it off. Room was at the back of the building and was really quiet. Nice breakfast and you could go back for more as many times as you wanted. This was our first stay at a Holiday Inn but won't be our last as it was much better value than other branded hotels. If I had to pick one bad thing it would be the size of the family room, it needed to be slightly bigger but it isn't like we were living there it was just a place to sleep so didn't cause any issues. The dim blue light in the bathroom is a really good idea, perfect bathroom night light. Overall we were 100% happy and that is all you can ask for.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back of the hotel - soooo quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thiswayup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Second stay in this hotel. Staff very friendly (with one exception) & attentive (eg providing iron & ironing board quickly). Allocated a room overlooking the canal at the back which was very quiet. Adequate en suite but disappointing to find shower gel/shampoo in wall dispensers. Improved breakfast with a wider choice. Hot drinks still dispensed from a "office coffee machine". Breakfast would have been better with a decent cup of coffee (made by a proper cappuccino machine) or a pot of tea made from water boiled in a kettle. This hotel is opposite Apsley station (why not advertise this?) which would have helped with my travel plans if I had known beforehand. Overall good value but the lack of attention to small, important details makes this an above average but not exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trapperj0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just back from a mystery theatre break to london with travel style , nearly cancelled it after reading all the terrible reviews but so glad I didn't, had a fantastic time. The coach driver was friendly and nothing was too much trouble, hotel was comfortable and clean , will definitely do this trip again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maddog123504202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
6.4 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Address: Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £50 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead hotel, a short drive from local businesses and 2 minutes' walk from Apsley train station. Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead is just 10 minutes by car from the handy A4251, M1 and M25. You can take off from London Luton Airport, 25 minutes' drive away, and reach central London in 30 minutes by train. Just 5 miles from the Harry Potter Warner Bros Tour. We offer free parking on-site and a buffet breakfast is included. Book a meeting for 40 in one of our 3 meeting rooms and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. You can take to the slopes at The Snow Centre in 5 minutes. Our family rooms sleep up to 2 adults and 2 children under 12 and kids stay free when sharing a room with parents. Spend a relaxing evening with friends over drinks or dinner in the Great Room lounge or simply relax in your comfortable and convenient guest room with modern decor, an en-suite with power shower and a 32-inch flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing