We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Culcheth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Well located with a wide variety of places to eat within a short walking distance. Parking is a bit of a faff but to be expected in highly populated residential area. Staff very good, had a minor complaint about the room, the receptionist made a careful note of it and promised to sort it. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We always appreciate that.
Our car park will soon be undergoing some restructuring and we do hope it will be very much beneficial to our guests.
I am also glad that your room issue was resolved promptly.

We do hope you will stay wit us again soon.


Best Regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    275
    95
    23
    7
See reviews for
261
171
33
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have stayed in many HI express's. As always they are clean, functional and offer good location and breakfast.

Nice location for a walk along the canal and free parking and good service - recommend to all.

Room Tip: Have a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very kindly for your great feedback. We are looking forward to serving you again soon.


Best Regards,

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel with all your basic needs covered. The staff we're polite, friendly and very helpful from providing wine glasses to booking and enquiring about taxi's and places to go. A good breakfast choice all fresh. The room was very comfortable. 10 out of 10!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Elaine,

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. We very are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Such feebacks make us proud and happy and motivate us to even better services.

We are looking forward to serving you soon again.


Best Regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel following a debarcle at Travelodge - the air con alone saved us with the hot weather.
I can highly recommend this chain, clean and comfortable rooms, with a choice of pillows and have never really been let down by the chain for customer service either.
Room was facing the main road, not a problem with traffic noise. Room and bathroom were clean, with new towels offered and left for us daily.
I highly recommend this hotel as a base for London (£24 for 2 return to Euston), the train station is opposite the hotel.
It took us 12 minutes from the hotel to the Warner Brother Studio tour, which again I highly recommend for even the smallest Harry Potter fan!
The bar area is standard, no great shakes, but decent enough prices and the hotel itself is located in a very nice lock side position, and enjoys 2 lovely eateries nearby (The Paper Mill & Calzone).
If you do stay, I highly recommend joining the IHG rewards system, we have built up quite a few reward nights this year, and have had fun spending 'free' nights at hotels around the UK. With the reward scheme you also get free Wifi, in this day and age, its a necessity!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swinners2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights 4 - 6 aug 2014, all the staff was fantastice and helpfull, we was traveling to london each day and train station only 2 min walk across the road and a 25 min train journey in to euston.
On this occasion our requests was oked the room was clean and quite, breakfast was amazing both mornings stocked with everything.
I have already recommended this hotel as this is our second stay her and would not hesitate to go back or recommend again. Thank you everybody on duty on theese 3 days.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacmac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM2013, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the positive review and the feedback about our hotel.

Kind regards,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice hotel, clean rooms and friendly staff. Good breakfast but dining room very busy at weekends and ran out of tables. Close to station so ideal for visiting London. Bar prices a bit expensive but next to a lovely canalside pub and opposite a great little Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is always so nice to hear great comments about the hotel and team. We are also pleased that you found our hotel to be conveniently located near to Apsley train station and situated alongside the canal and it is great to hear you were able to make use of these amenities. Thank you also for the feedback about availability of tables in the morning at breakfast. We will be sure to focus on how best to manage this on busy mornings. Thank you again and we do hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Was really impressed by this hotel. We were a party of 3 adults and 4 children the rooms were so comfortable and spotlessly clean. This hotels position is so impressive the train station with direct links to London (30 min journey) is directly opposite the hotel. we also found a lovely Italian Restaurant by the side of the river 5min. walk away and a lovely pub 2min. walk away both with outdoor seating so pleasant on a nice evening. While we were at this hotel my grandson was poorly the staff could not have been nicer and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Not sure our rooms were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear guest, such lovely comments to read regarding your recent stay, thank you so much. It is always so nice to hear when we deliver on ensuring our guests have a great stay and I know the team are so grateful to receive this feedback. The hotel's positioning makes us unique to the area and it is great to see you were able to enjoy use of the local eateries and the rail link into London. We do hope you will get the chance to come and visit us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Suzannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
612 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Address: Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead hotel, a short drive from local businesses and 2 minutes' walk from Apsley train station. The inviting Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead is just 10 minutes by car from the handy A4251, M1 and M25. You can take off from London Luton Airport, 25 minutes' drive away, and reach central London in 30 minutes by train. We offer free parking on-site and you can set yourself up for the day with an inclusive buffet breakfast in our comfortable Great Room. Book a meeting for 40 in one of our 3 meeting rooms and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. We're 10 minutes' drive from local companies on Maylands Avenue and Breakspear Way. You can take to the slopes at the The Snow Centre in 5 minutes. Under-18s stay for free when sharing with their parents in one of Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead's welcoming family rooms. Spend a relaxing evening with friends over drinks or dinner in the Great Room lounge or simply relax in your newly refurbished guest room with modern decor, an en-suite with power shower and a 32-inch flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing