We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely spot on”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Absolutely spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed for one night in a family room on the ground floor. Really impressed with the whole experience. Booked online - easy, turned up on the day, plenty of parking, really friendly staff and really nice breakfast from the new menu.

The room was very clean with the guest bed already erected and made up. The main bed had a welcome choice of either soft or firm pillows and the bed was very comfortable which resulted in an excellent nights sleep. The room was very modern with the usual tea/coffee facilities and a decent TV with our name on the welcome screen when we arrived. Nice touch. It was very quiet too, as our room was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. I am not sure if the rooms are air conditioned or not, there is a controller on the wall which has a cool setting but no cold air came out although the heating worked not that we needed it, it maybe a generic controller. Air Conditioning would be a real plus as with three of us it felt a little warm at times.

Breakfast was included in already very reasonable price with a choice of cereals, toast, croissants, fruit, sausages and scrambled eggs etc and second or third helpings were not a problem.

Will we be going back? Most definitely.

The hotel is in a good location, ample safe parking, clean and modern, friendly staff, comfy rooms and a decent breakfast. Well done Hemel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turbo130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    270
    94
    23
    7
See reviews for
258
166
33
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stay here 2 or 3 times a year when visitng relatives. This was our first visit with the new breakfast menu, which we dis justice to, though we missed the yummy crusty rolls they had before - would have preferred those to croissants, but that our personal choice.
The room was clean, the shower worked properly and the staff were excellent. Our stay was up its usual standard, and was exactly what we had experienced on our many other visits, and for £49 with breakfast was cheaper than the other budget hotels in the area!
A recommendation for meals, is Woodys. Its just over the white bridge, by the marina and canal. It is a vegetarian/organic food restaurant, and whilst we are not vegetarians, our rellies are. Prices are reasonable, everything is cooked to order, from scratch, and service is good. Its a good sign that its always crowded.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsmother19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle/england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

I stay here about once every two months visiting friends in Hemel. The hotel is clean and good value. The breakfast is now much improved, and for about £35 a night its fantastic value.
Apsley station is 2 mins walk, so getting to/from London is a doddle in less than 30 mins.
One word of advice though-insist on a canal side room. It can be noisy facing the road/railway line !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights to visit snow centre. When we arrived we were given a room on 3rd floor. The carpet in the room was filthy, full of crumbs which looked like dog biscuits. We rang reception to ask for it to be cleaned they said they would move us. We went to another room which again was dirty. The carpets just hadn't been hoovered, so we moved again, this time it was ok. Receptionist was not the happiest of people and her appearance was lacking. She was scruffy, her hair looked like it hadn;t been brushed and if you tried to have a laugh with her she wasn;t amused. The breakfast was lacking, really poor quality bread and the rest was not great. When things were spilt on the floor, the staff just walked past it and didn't clean up. In general it needed a good clean. Would i go back..... definetly not!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gutwrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share comments on your recent stay.

I was sorry to hear that you have found the hotel not to your satisfaction and I have ensured that all comments have been addressed immediately.

We do pride ourselves on delivering consistent high quality of service but we have evidently failed you on this occasion.

Please feel free to contact me at the hotel and I will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future so you can sample the changes.

Sharine Carrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hesperia, ca
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

Having stayed at many HIE properties world wide, I didn't find this one to be at all exciting. The rooms are very small, with very few ammenities. The on screen service generally controlled using the TV remote (wake up call, etc) did not work. The breakfast was very limited, with the juice dispencer being broken for 4 out of the 5 days I stayed there. The staff for the most part was very nice and helpful, barring getting the problem with the TV repaired, the person on the night shift apoligized for it not working, but there was no attempt made to repair the problem during the remainder of my stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hester22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel as we value guest feedback. I was pleased to hear that you found the staff both nice and helpful throughout your stay

Please accept my apologies for any frustration encountered with the wake up service and breakfast juice machine. I can assure you that this has been addressed as a matter of urgency.

With regards to breakfast I am delighted to confirm that we have introduced a new hot breakfast with choices of sausage and scrambled egg.

I hope I can welcome you back in the near future so that you can see the changes.

Sharine Carrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cologne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

Spent 2 nights and was disappointed. On arrival no towels in the room, small room with basically no space for clothes, had to stay in suitcase. Internet is 14 GBP a day! Breakfast with very small selection, no ham or cheese, just 2 different jams, but cornflakes and fruits were available. Parking 5 GBP/day, but not enough space. Needed bathroom supply (combe), but although advertised, nothing available at reception. Only 4 TV channels, but very accurate wake up service.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asdasdasCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Thank you for your comment regarding your stay and please accept my apologies for the lack of towels in the room on arrival.

We are pleased to confirm that following guests feedback, we are introducing free WIFI into the lounge area of the hotel for all guests in June 2010.

We have also recently introduced a new hot breakfast selection with a greater choice of items including sausage and scrambled egg.

Again please accept my apologies for the TV reception during your stay and this has now been rectified with a full choice of over 10 channels.

Sharine Carrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

We stayed here after a work night out (20 of us!) and I have the say the room was nice and clean, plenty big enough and the bathroom too.
The bar area was quite nice - we all got a bit rowdy by 3am and the staff were very good.
Breakfast is just self-service continental but nice enough.
nly downside is that you have to pay to park.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niknak78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Address: Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead hotel, a short drive from local businesses and 2 minutes' walk from Apsley train station. The inviting Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead is just 10 minutes by car from the handy A4251, M1 and M25. You can take off from London Luton Airport, 25 minutes' drive away, and reach central London in 30 minutes by train. We offer free parking on-site and you can set yourself up for the day with an inclusive buffet breakfast in our comfortable Great Room. Book a meeting for 40 in one of our 3 meeting rooms and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. We're 10 minutes' drive from local companies on Maylands Avenue and Breakspear Way. You can take to the slopes at the The Snow Centre in 5 minutes. Under-18s stay for free when sharing with their parents in one of Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead's welcoming family rooms. Spend a relaxing evening with friends over drinks or dinner in the Great Room lounge or simply relax in your newly refurbished guest room with modern decor, an en-suite with power shower and a 32-inch flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing