We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, welcoming and good value, spot-on for a short term family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2010

The staff (Marcie and Lee) were so very helpful and so friendly. We were amazed at how family friendly they were with unsolicited suggestions and actions from our first conversation. They were kind and made us feel as if they couldn't do enough for my two girls (7 and 12) and me. It was my first time in the Express version of Holiday Inn and I wasn't sure what to expect from the room, breakfast facilities etc. Other people's write ups made it seem on the functional, impersonal, very basic side. The room was indeed on the small side but absolutely adequate, stylish, clean and likeable. After all we only wanted it for a good nights sleep, shower and a bit of telly. Breakfast was super; mini pain au chocoalate, fresh orange pieces, cereals, sausages, scrambled eggs, yoghourts, croissants, fruit and more. Not the full service in more expensive hotels but much much more than enough, especially remembering childrens' breakfast choices anyway. The serving area (self service) was on the small side. It was completely adequate for when we had breakfast but I did see it look crowded quite quickly.
We sat in an airy pleasant area with a lovely breakfast, reading the complimentary copy of the Independent and had an excellent start to our day at Legoland. It was a bit too far there to be really comfortable (35 minutes but no M25 holdups) however I would almost certainly return for a similar trip to Legoland purely on the very good value and welcome , never mind the very reasonable price. Incidentally, directly opposite the rear of the hotel was a pleasant looking pub that seemed to be family /food type overlooking water that a family could spend the evening in. The nearby village of Aspley (?) had lseveral eating out faciilities. I would not want to spend a week there with the family as it does not have gym, family rooms,pool etc. But , to repeat myself, terrific value, staff that cared and everything you could reasonably expect for a straightforward 2/3 night stop.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken_s10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2010

The hotel is easy to find and in convenient distance to the motorways. The rooms are Holiday Express standard. A bit small, with little place only for clothes or luggage. Overall appearance is clean. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Internet very expensive. Breakfast was okay, with self-service but the tables were not cleaned after guests have left. Although offered in the leaflets, hotel could not provide forgotten sanitary supply(toothbrush etc)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Germanrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

After a long and tiring journey by car to the UK, the staff made my arrival a fast efficient and a relaxing stay. The location is good and there are many local amenities in the area, there is also pub about 1/200 meters away from the hotel, area is quite and there is also a small river which helps for that relaxing walk. To sum up experience, good service, help full staff and quite location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We had a family room which was clean and tidy, the sofa bed was made up but as always there was no third set of towels or mug, tea bag etc. Had to ask at reception and was given one towel,mug and one tea bag and receptionist madesure we knew it was an effort for them.

We had a room facing the road so traffic and train noise was an issue, we were also above the front door which is where people stand smoking so the smoke smell made it's way into our room. A room facing the canal would be better.

Breakfast was ok with fresh apples, bannanas,tinned grapefruit, yougurt, toast, pastries, cereals as well as suausages and scrambled egg. I don't eat sausages or eggs and the rest of my party wished they hadn't rubbery sausages and warm eggs. There was overdiluted squash instead of juice but other than that breakfast was okay.

Had a stroll round the canal area in the morning which was very enjoyable. Overall fair value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPW21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Had what can only be described as an excellent stay. HIE Hemel's rates are excellent value for a budget chain with the added bonus that a decent self service breakfast is included in this rate. I think the hot options at breakfast are a new feature.

The room was quiet, spotlessly clean and the bed as usual for this chain, was very comfortable. The wifi in the room was a bit iffy at times, but it that is a minor niggle. Things that were a big plus were the plentiful parking and the Paper Mill pub being a few steps from the hotel. Much use was made of the pub, night and day. Business was discussed over coffee and snacks which were replenished with regularity, and there was no problem staying there for hours. In the evenings it was handy being able to grab a decent pub meal and a few drinks without having to worry about driving anywhere.

I would recommend it as a very convenient hotel for both business and pleasure. While it clearly not the most picturesque spot, and the hotel building fairly nondescript, it ticked all my boxes. Further pluses included the pub having alfresco tables overlooking the canal, and the option of being able to hop on the train from Apsley station across the road which gets you into the centre of London in just over fifteen minutes. That has to be a huge plus. Hemel Hempstead and surrounding countryside has it's charms too. Plenty of decent real ale pubs around and a good selection of restaurants, with my current favourite being the Mogul Indian in town, which is excellent.

Will definitely be staying again some time later this year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purpleceltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Stayed overnight on a couple of chilly September days, & the AirCon was still on in public area so was uncomfortable to stay in lounge too long & many people were visibly cold at breakfast. Free WiFi is a bonus but as a lone female didn't like having to go to lounge to use it - why charge for it in the rooms, would much prefer to access it in the room where there is a convenient desk. Rooms were clean but much, much smaller than expected; I always prefer a bath but it only had a shower cubicle which I suppose helps to keep rooms small. Location by the river is a plus - it's worthwhile walking along the canal, taking in the narrowboats, etc and I had a nice meal at the nearby vegetarian restaurant. I didn't appreciate the £5 car park charge - should be free for guests - and it wasn't made clear on the website when booking that the charge expires the following day at midday. If you don't have change for the meter, they'll put the charge on your bill (which is helpful), but you have to get a hand-written voucher to display in the windscreen (which means running back and forth between the first floor carpark and the 2nd floor reception). For £5 I expected it was a 24-hr parking charge so, as I arrived around 5pm, I had planned to stay in the area leaving my car parked until 5pm on checkout day. So be warned; whatever time you put a ticket on your car, it's an overnight charge & expires automatically. Having said that, I found the male receptionist quite flexible and helpful on parking. On the reception/check-in - I definitely didn't like that it's at one end of the bar and right adjacent to the lounge area - it makes it imppossible to have a discreet check-in and, as I said being a lone female other people possibly hearing my room number from the overly-loud lady on reception wasn't an ideal start - when in the lounge you hear every person's conversation who comes to reception. The breakfast was OK, having breakfast included made the rate charged more reasonable. All in all I would stay again - & even recommend it - I'd just remember to bring a woolly jumper with me!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed for one night in a family room on the ground floor. Really impressed with the whole experience. Booked online - easy, turned up on the day, plenty of parking, really friendly staff and really nice breakfast from the new menu.

The room was very clean with the guest bed already erected and made up. The main bed had a welcome choice of either soft or firm pillows and the bed was very comfortable which resulted in an excellent nights sleep. The room was very modern with the usual tea/coffee facilities and a decent TV with our name on the welcome screen when we arrived. Nice touch. It was very quiet too, as our room was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. I am not sure if the rooms are air conditioned or not, there is a controller on the wall which has a cool setting but no cold air came out although the heating worked not that we needed it, it maybe a generic controller. Air Conditioning would be a real plus as with three of us it felt a little warm at times.

Breakfast was included in already very reasonable price with a choice of cereals, toast, croissants, fruit, sausages and scrambled eggs etc and second or third helpings were not a problem.

Will we be going back? Most definitely.

The hotel is in a good location, ample safe parking, clean and modern, friendly staff, comfy rooms and a decent breakfast. Well done Hemel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turbo130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
6.4 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
926 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Address: Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £57 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead hotel, a short drive from local businesses and 2 minutes' walk from Apsley train station. Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead is just 10 minutes by car from the handy A4251, M1 and M25. You can take off from London Luton Airport, 25 minutes' drive away, and reach central London in 30 minutes by train. Just 5 miles from the Harry Potter Warner Bros Tour. We offer free parking on-site and a buffet breakfast is included. Book a meeting for 40 in one of our 3 meeting rooms and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. You can take to the slopes at The Snow Centre in 5 minutes. Our family rooms sleep up to 2 adults and 2 children under 12 and kids stay free when sharing a room with parents. Spend a relaxing evening with friends over drinks or dinner in the Great Room lounge or simply relax in your comfortable and convenient guest room with modern decor, an en-suite with power shower and a 32-inch flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing