We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secure, clean, convenient Hotel. Use HP1 1BT for Multi-Storey car park.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Secure, clean, convenient Hotel. Use HP1 1BT for Multi-Storey car park.”
Reviewed 26 April 2011

A good stay. Very secure set up with the upper floors only accessible with the card. Very clean room. Offer of a fan if hot. Efficient heating system, even if a bit noisy.
It is a bit confusing to find if driving and using the Hotel postcode for your sat-nav as
the Hotel Post code (HP1 1DL) will take you to the front of the Hotel where Moor End outdoor Long stay car park is- free from 6pm to 8 am which is a shorter walk with bags to the Hotel but less secure than the Multi-storey. As the other reviews say go to Level 3 of Riverside multi-storey and walk across the walkway to the Hotel and they validate your parking there. However, this is a fair distance with bags and it took me 15 minutes to do 2 journeys with all my luggage up to the top floor which is why I give it 4* rather than 5 which the actual level of cleanliness etc deserves. I could not find the Multi-storey without the sat-nav direction for it, as , if you have not been there before, the 'magic' roundabout is very confusing so make sure you read the directions the Hotel give for the Multi-storey in the small print if you want to use it: HP1 1BT.

Room Tip: Leave time for unloading and walking to the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    207
    88
    35
    26
See reviews for
284
188
34
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uae
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Stayed here a few times over the past few months and always look forward to staying. Depending on which direction you come from you don't have to negotiate too much of the Magic roundabout to get to it! I'd received a really helpful reminder email with directions which was a great help as I was coming from a different location and my SatNav had packed up.

Last time I stayed I had a room overlooking the lovely lake, but even though I was on a high floor, the ducks made quite a racket so this time I requested a room on the other side of the hotel. It was a view of houses but I much preferred the quiet. Room was great - roomy and plenty of options to do my work.

Breakfast is such great value for money and I found I was still full way after lunchtime - and the dining room is pleasant enough, plus there's a kind of lounge area for more relaxed sitting although it's near the bar. One criticism I have of Premier Inn is that the meal deals are at a reasonable price, but the menu doesn't change, not so bad for carnivores, but for veggies there's only one choice of starter and main meal - after eating on my first visit, I didn't fancy having exactly the same food again.

It's a huge bonus being able to park in the adjacent multi-storey car park and as they validate your ticket a full day's parking is free and I stayed two days! Even though the hotel is right beside the shopping centre and roundabout it still feel quiet and once I'd finished shopping I only had a really short walk back to the hotel. There are different restaurants also on the door step - haven't tried the indian across the road, did attempt to go to the Pizza Express but that's the subject of a different review!

I find this a really secure hotel. People can come in office the street obviously, but can't access the upper floors to rooms unless they have a room key - I also had to use the room key to enter my floor so I felt very safe there.
The staff were great, every person I spoke with or passed was friendly and polite.
I've stayed at a few of the budget HH hotels but this is the only one where you can get a decent enough meal, complimentary toiletries, and freeview TV. Also with the others I've been put off by either their cleanliness, inconvenient location or high parking charges - this one ticks all the boxes for me.

Room Tip: View of pond - if you don't mind noisy ducks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I would like to praise this premier inn and the staff working there. The location is perfect especially for an additional treat of shopping before travelling into London! Next door to TK Maxx and Debenhams was just what we needed to relax after travelling there. Perfect! The staff were so pleasant and helpful - going the extra mile even without being asked. Love the fact that you do not even have to go outside for the bar or breakfast. Pizza Express underneath - what more can i say?? Already booked to go again in June. Making full use of the £8.50 train ticket to london that includes all your underground transport also. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matrix_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

As always, premier inn does exactly what it says on the tin! i have never stayed in a bad one yet. we stayed here as a base to do some sightseeing in london and got the room for the bargain price of £29! we also found the train prices into london to be excellent and it only took about 20 minutes to get into central london. the receptionist told us the train station was in walking distance, however we tried it once and it was quite far but we got a taxi the next time and it was only about £4 so well worth it. my ONLY fault is the location of the reception. i am TERRIFIED of heights and you have to park in (i think it was) level 3 of the multi storey car park, then cross a bridge over the road before walking along a pathway that starts off really wide but narrows right in towards the hotel entrance. once we had checked in we could use the lift and come and go at ground level (phew) but you can only use the lift while you have your room key so checking in and out mean using the bridge. the hotel would be much improved if this was not the case, also we only found our way to reception because an off duty member of staff told us where it was. if you arrive at the ground level hotel enterance you will find stairs and a lift that you cannot use without a room key and no directions on how to get to reception!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire1975xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

I was in Premier Inn with my wife when I landed in Hemel Hempstead for work. Its in the heart of the city, shopping malls and restaurants are just 2 steps away. The hotel is very neat and clean and all modern facilities available. The room service is very nice and the staffs are very friendly. The breakfast has quite a good range of choices available. The reception is in the first floor and it looks very small for a premier hotel. One drawback of this hotel is nobody at the downstair to receive the guest as its little bit confusing where actually the reception lies. Also the lift is very very small and if a family comes to Premier Inn with quite a good number of luggage, then i am afraid, you have to take the lifts 2/3 times. Apart from these negative points, the hotel is very nice to stay and relax. It is very easily accessible to all places because of its prime location. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cool-Bubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

The place has to be called nice as it is very clean, right in the middle of a shopping mall and offers free parking. But the service is bare bones as you would expect in a Premier Inn. No luxuries. But very good value for money.


Funny bit is that you have to pick up your own room service from the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiddMoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURREY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

From check in to check out this hotel is brilliant, staff always smiling, comfortable clean rooms, food very good, nothing too much trouble. We had a very relaxed stay so well done to all the staff BRILLIANT!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolsimpson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Address: Moor End Road, Hemel Hempstead HP1 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemel Hempstead Central Premier Inn is a 114 bed hotel positioned in the centre of Hemel Hempstead's business and shopping district. It has an excellent restaurant and bar which opens at 06:30am to serve full breakfast. Evening meals are served from 06:00pm until 10pm from an a la carte menu and the bar is open to residents until late. We are on excellent transport links into London, trains run from Hemel station every 20 minutes direct into Lomdon Euston and the Northern and Victoria tubelines. Parking is chargeable at £4 per night charged on arrival. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing