We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Brilliant!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The best Premier Inn I have ever stayed in. The staff are so friendly and caring. We had to stay due to family emergency and the service, care & concern we received from the staff was second to none. The Hotel itself is beautifully clean and well maintained, we felt very safe during our stay as you needed your room key cards to operate the lifts to the room levels. I was staying with my disabled mother and she found the facilities met her needs completely. On the occasions I was away from the hotel they helped her to get taxi's and even went with her to wait for them to arrive. Nothing was too much for them and they made what was a very difficult trip away much easier. I would recommend this hotel to everyone staying in the area over the others available, even in the same chain as the staff here really work as a team and care about their guests

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinktasticPippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear PinktasticPippy

Thank you for taking time to complete a Review on Tripadvisor.com, we appreciate your valued comments.

Your Review serves as a great motivator to the team here at the hotel and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto our valued staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central on another stay in Hemel Hempstead.

Kind Regards
David Brown
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

We chose this hotel because we were attending a wedding party just outside the town. This is the first Premier Inn we have stayed in and, for a budget hotel, we were very impressed. The staff were more friendly and professional than many more 'up-market' hotels we have stayed in over the years.The bedroom was functional and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was very good with food to suit all tastes. A very pleasant experience all round.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandNGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear BandNGuildford

Thank you for taking time to complete a Review on Tripadvisor.com, we appreciate your valued comments.

Your Review serves as a great motivator to the team here at the hotel and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto our valued staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central on another stay in Hemel Hempstead.

Kind Regards
David Brown
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

stayed here as we had tickets to take our so to the harry potter experience which is only 10 mins drive away. Never stayed in a budget hotel and was extremely surprised. Hotel had free parking right outside in the centre of town, was spotlessly clean, beds comfortable in a spacious room, staff couldnt do enough for us and the food for evening meal and breakfast was lovely. Would definately stay in a premier inn again especially when it only cost us 50 quid for 3 ppl bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahball78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear sarahball78

Thank you for taking time to complete a review on Tripadvisor.com, we appreciate your valued comments.

I am also delighted to read you found the hotel convenient for the Harry Potter Tour.

It has been our privilege to look after you at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central on another stay in Hemel Hempstead.

Kind Regards
David Brown
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I booked our room here for our visit to Warner Brothers Studio Tour, it seemed well located for the trip and the price was good (£34 for a family room).

Shortly before our stay I received an email with details about meal deals available, directions to the hotel and info about parking. I was initially confused by the mention of the 'magic roundabout' but having seen it for myself I now understand (aka plough roundabout)! The place was fairly easy to find.

First impressions were good, the receptionist was very friendly and polite and I appreciated her interaction with my daughter, check in was quick.

The room and linen were very clean. The room had a few bits of paintwork that needed freshening up and a hole in the plaster in the wall, but was generally in good condition and had everything you could need - freeview tv, plenty of towels, choice of pillows, heater/cooler unit, hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities, soap and bodywash etc.

We couldn't eat our evening meal in their restaurant as they had lots of bookings (so if you pay in advance for a meal deal be sure to book your table in advance as well) so we went downstairs to the pizza express next door instead.

I slept reasonably, it's very easy to hear other people moving around the corridor and doors opening and closing etc so earplugs may aid a restful night for light sleepers.

I had prepaid £8.25 for breakfast. Unfortunately the breakfast experience was the only area of real fault I could find. When we arrived at the restaurant at around 08.15, there was one large table and maybe four or five tables of 2-4 eating and one member of staff. We stood for a couple of minutes and weren't acknowledged, it is possible she didn't see us. But then she definitely saw and still didn't acknowledge us, instead clearing a table before eventually coming over when I noticed she had a badge on saying she was a trainee, maybe this explains the bad service/rudeness but surely if she is incapable of providing good customer service independently there should have been an experienced member of staff on the floor as well. On sitting down we were informed hot breakfasts were being cooked to order this morning not the buffet as advertised and that she would be back shortly to take our order. It was almost 10 minutes before she returned despite me catching her eye several times. I ordered fried eggs on toast for my daughter and sausage, bacon, hash brown, beans and mushrooms for myself after checking how long it would take. I was getting quite irritable about the time by then as I had wanted to leave at 9am so thankfully it did only take the ten minutes I was told!

The breakfast was of the quality I would expect for a pub meal and cooked well. Despite this I wasn't pleased with the 'cooked to order' service we were provided. It meant the meal took longer then I had planned and also didn't get to chose my own portion size (maybe I should be thanking them, I would have picked two sausages but was only given one - better for my figure!). I would have appreciated at least being informed in advance of the change to the advertised breakfast service.

Checkout was once again simple and my misplaced car park ticket was dealt with quickly and easily with a phone all to the car park staff.

Overall apart from the breakfast experience I have no complaints. I have never stayed in a Premier Inn before but feel it compared favourably to the Travelodges I've stayed in, in that all of the hotel staff we encountered seemed to make a real effort to be pleasant and polite and the quality of the mattress and bedding were very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Rachel2809

Thank you for taking time to complete a Review on Tripadvisor.com, we appreciate your valued comments.

Your Review serves as a great motivator to the team here at the hotel and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto our valued staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central on another stay in Hemel Hempstead.

Kind Regards
David Brown
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I stayed there en-route from a late evening arrival at Heathrow to a holiday in Yorkshire.

Reasonable directions, convenient location, excellent parking (but a bit of a walk on the flat, so if your cases are heavy make sure they have wheels). Good late night check in, clean room, good breakfast. Right in a shopping centre with Markies, Milletts etc., so very good for picking up last minute items - in our case binoculars, wellies and sandwiches.

All boxes ticked for a en-route stop.

Very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Dear mbalou

Thank you for taking time to complete a review on Tripadvisor.com, we appreciate your valued comments.

I am also delighted to read you found the hotel convenient for your wife and yourself whilst on your way to your holiday destination (Yorkshire).

It has been our privilege to look after you at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central on another stay in Hemel Hempstead.

Kind Regards
David Brown
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is a fantastic gem of a hotel. Supposed to be a budget chain but you wouldn't know. Spotlessly clean and the staff are all very pleasant and helpful especially in the dining area and reception. Food excellent in terms of choice, taste and value. Free parking provided in the nearby Riverside multi-storey and bridge shortcut to the hotel. Well done!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poptician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Dear Poptician

Thank you for taking time to complete a Review on Tripadvisor.com, we appreciate your valued comments.

Your Review serves as a great motivator to the team here at the hotel and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto our valued staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central on another stay in Hemel Hempstead.

Kind Regards
David Brown
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This was my first stay at a Premier Inn and I will most certainly be using on a regular basis.

I have stayed in many hotels much more expensive and supposedly'quality' hotels but the Premier was actually better than any of these if all you want is a very clean comfortable room, top quality everday food and a frendly professional service.

We were so impressed at the price and the all round quality that we have decided to use Preniere Inn's for weekend breaks once a month at least.

Highly recommended indeed!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Dear Jo-Anne C

Thank you for taking time to complete a Review on Tripadvisor.com, we appreciate your valued comments.

Your Review serves as a great motivator to the team here at the hotel and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto our valued staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central on another stay in Hemel Hempstead.

Kind Regards
David Brown
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#8 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel

Address: Moor End Road, Hemel Hempstead HP1 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £43 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemel Hempstead Central Premier Inn is a 114 bed hotel positioned in the centre of Hemel Hempstead's business and shopping district. It has an excellent restaurant and bar which opens at 06:30am to serve full breakfast. Evening meals are served from 06:00pm until 10pm from an a la carte menu and the bar is open to residents until late. We are on excellent transport links into London, trains run from Hemel station every 20 minutes direct into Lomdon Euston and the Northern and Victoria tubelines. Parking is chargeable at £4 per night charged on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing