We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not best location BUT...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not best location BUT...”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We liked it and quite a lot! Arrived late afternoon, the friendly receptionist appeared genuinly happy (not that Hilton-Style YesSir YesSir garbage) and went through the corporate room-guarantee and meals stuff then pointed rooms out and off we trotted. The rooms were nively clean, tidy, smelt good and everything worked.
The stand-out (maybe childish) thing was in comparing the Travelodge where we'd left friends a few minutes earlier. They had mould in bathroom, we didn't. Their windowledge was covered in fag butts, ours wasn't. Their room stank and the bed was urrgghhhh. Our smelt nice and the bed was just right. And we (with a special offer) had ours cheaper!

Premier Inn have aimed for a standard that most people will easily accept and really try to keep to it. The value for money, even without an offer, is very good.

All in all, a nice couple of nights, all round friendly staff and a clean smart motel. And the starter comment? Well, it's at a small Service area on the A41 with a Shell Garage and busy McDonalds next door. Neither affected us but for the discerning out there, some of the driving in and out of the Maccys was, um, er, different. We came and went five times and had two near misses! Positive oiks I'd say! (Oooops, slipped out.) Just take a little extra care!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitstabledave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you for your review about our hotel. I am very pleased with the comments regarding your room and will pass the compliments onto our house keeping team who are dedicated to providing the standard of room you received. We pride ourselves on having a friendly yet professional team here and are glad that you experienced this. We hope to see you again soon and would like to wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    160
    62
    20
    10
See reviews for
190
136
25
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

After a very busy day, I needed to book a hotel and my first choice was not available so I booked this Premier Inn instead. I was so glad I did.

The warm welcome I received from Cassie was lovely and she was so helpfully and friendly.

I chose the 3 course meal deal in the restaurant which was excellent value and the food was very good. The service was excellent, Hayleigh made my whole dining experience very enjoyable.

My room was of the high standard I have come to expect from Premier Inns.

Breakfast was an enjoyable experience with the added advantage of Costa coffee.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robbiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comment about our hotel and staff, we are also glad you chose our hotel too. The comments about our staff and restaurant have been passed on. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Hotel very well located just off the A41. Large well lit car park. Staff very friendly and knowledgable - very welcoming on reception. Superb breakfast - very efficiently served and presented. Rooms spacious and clean. Although we did not have dinner on this occasion, the service last time was excellent.

A short walk takes you to a petrol station selling a wide range of snacks, off license, etc. Also - if desperate - there is a McDonalds about 50 yards away!!

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the busy A41 - suggest a room at the rear. However, the qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you for leaving a lovely comment about our hotel, its lovely to see that you had a very pleasant stay with us here at Hemel West. The comments about the staff, food and how clean and comfortable the rooms are have been passed on. We do hope to see you here in the near future. Thank you again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I have stayed at Bourne End twice before and find the site a very good location as it is just far enough away from the main roads with excellent parking. The size of the Premier Inn is just big enough to still maintain friendliness of the staff and to be recoginised by some of them.
Room spotlessly clean and very comfortable for our needs.
Well done Bourne End for another successful stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnykernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Thank you for the lovely comments about our hotel. We all strive to make this the best hotel in the area, and by reading comments like yours I feel like we are achieving this. Were very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I did not stay at this hotel, the driver from the airport dropped me off at the incorrect Premier Inn. Upon this discovery in the lobby, I was left with the option to call a cab to drive me the additional 10 minutes to the correct establishment. After hearing this, associate Ryan Mullins took it upon himself to personally arrange transportation for me to the correct hotel. If there is an award for going above and beyond the call of duty, this gentleman deserves it. If this is the quality of personnel Premier Inns tend to hire, I am greatly influenced to use their services again. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viperware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
I would like to say first of all thank you for leaving such lovely words about a member of staff at our hotel. The message has been passed onto Ryan and also has been passed onto the management team. I hope you had a good stay at Hemel Hempstead central hotel, and hopefully see you staying at our hotel sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Very knowledgeable staff and helpful. Hotel is accessible for wheelchair users, but corridor is a little on the narrow side. Ring ahead if you want accessible bathroom, which are not available in family rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjmcg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for you feedback about the hotel. I will pass the kind words about the staff onto them. We do hope to see you again in the future,

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed one night at this premier inn on our way to London. There was plenty of space in the car park and check in was quick although it was 1am by time we arrived ! As others have mentioned the rooms are a bit dated in decor compared to other premier inns, but it is still spotlessly clean and this wasn't a problem at all.

Breakfasts were cooked to order on site, and it was quiet when we stayed so everything ordered was hot. Breakfast area was always tidy, well stocked and cleared of spills etc. Had a brief chat with the waitress who was cheerful and friendly.

Can't say we were particularly bothered by any road noise.

Only minor criticism was the shower - water pressure was non existant.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for taking some time out to write a comment about our hotel. Were all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully at some point in the near future, we will be getting a refurbishment in the rooms, but as of yet we do not know when this will happen. I will pass the message on about the shower pressure to maintenance to see if we can this problem resolved. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
734 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
404 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#5 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
621 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#10 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Address: Stoney Lane | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#2 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Chilterns, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, just half an hour's drive away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing