We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another positive Premier Inn review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Dolgellau
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Another positive Premier Inn review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Looking back over my previous Premier Inn reviews they seem to have a similar trend and Hemel Hempstead West continued in the same vein. Although a slightly older hotel in the chain the room was totally as expected - large, clean and tidy with extra pillows and towels, while the bathroom was spotlessly clean. The gentleman on reception was friendly and welcoming and up to the high standard Premier Inn staff have seemed to set recently.

As a previous reviewer mentioned the room was very warm when we arrived and with no air conditioning, the idea of having an open window while reasonably close to the traffic noise from the A41 wasn't really an option which made for a slightly less than perfect nights sleep, which was also disturbed by the seeming obligatory selfish other guests speaking extremely loudly in the car park (although there was no noise inside the hotel). Not much Premier Inn can do to improve the lack of manners of a small minority of their guests though.

Unfortunately the other trend that continued was of the hotel being let down by the catering at their adjoining establishment. As we had to leave very early we didn't have the opportunity to try breakfast, but dinner on arrival was extremely disappointing. The 'salad bar' was that in name only with very little fresh produce, the sharing platter as a starter was a quite nice and a pleasant selection of ribs, wings etc, however my rump steak was well below the standard I would expect. It was a sub standard cut of meat - over cooked, hard, chewy and pretty flavourless and certainly not worth the money. Having said that, the waiting staff were pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith_williams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. It is great to hear that we live up to the same standards of other premier inn’s you have stayed in. We feel we have a great team here, and always appreciate positive feedback regarding team members. In future please always feel free to contact reception with regards to the temperature in the rooms, as additional fans and sheets can be provided. We are sorry to hear that you felt let down by our restaurant, and shall pass this information on to the F&B team, and look into new ways to overcome these issues to prevent them occurring again. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    143
    55
    20
    9
See reviews for
173
126
22
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newark upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here just for one night and from the outside was disappointed. The staff were fantastic, the room was spotless and the breakfast even though the restaurant was packed was the best I have ever tasted. Would stay again and was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hemel Hempstead West, It is fantastic to hear such great comments about our rooms, staff and breakfast and these will be passed on to all staff members. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed one night, 13th May, great welcome, very friendly staff, Katherine was outstanding and the others were very good also,

Basic but large clean room, everything you needed was present. remember it is a Premier Inn and not claiming to be five star. No problem with noise and a good comfy bed.

Some guests were noisy at six am but that is not the fault of the hotel.

Meal deal was good value, well worth the money.All freshly cooked to order.

We will continue to use this chain as again it has been a pleasure.

As usual, if the management want further feedback, please contact me.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you taking the time to leave such great comments about the hotel. It is always fantastic to hear such positive feedback about the staff, the facilities and restaurant. With regards to internal noise, we are always looking into news ways to help overcome this issue. It is great to hear that you will continue to use our hotels and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranwell, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

If it hadn't been for the fact that we got a very good family deal I would have been very annoyed at staying here. The room was way too hot and couldn't be regulated enough with the thermostat. Opening the window made it too noisy and with 2 kids it was not a pleasant night. Bathroom smelled really bad of smoke and for non smokers it was quite sickening. Also didn't realise that this hotel was at a service station however must be practical for travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced while staying with us. We are always looking into new ways to help overcome these issues, and shall pass on this information to the relevant staff members. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Great stopover, McDonald's next door and a bp service station selling Autogas at a low price. This premier inn is quiet comfortable and well situated. The food smelled good. A great stay got the price. I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel, it is always fantastic to hear that our guests had a great stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We had a trip to this area for a wedding anniversary nearby. We have 2 children (15 and 12) and stayed in a family room at the rear of the hotel. We found the room a decent size for all of us and the beds are comfy. It was clean and well maintained. The beds were made every day and changed once and we had fresh towels every day. There was adequate tea making facilities, replenished every day with extra if you asked.

The restaurant for breakfast and dinner was good value and the food of high standard. The "kids eat free" was brilliant, with lots of choices, as much as you can eat.

What made the stay special and what will make us use this hotel again, was the staff. Particularly Hayleigh and June. Nothing was too much trouble and they were all friendly and pleasant - chatty if you wanted to talk. The staff have been there as a team for a while and it shows. They can advise on the local area and give a good welcome when you return to the hotel. Excellent.

Overall, our stay here was better than in some other higher-priced hotels and we will be going back again. The location is good for London and Harry Potter and Whipsnade Zoo.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter due to a McDonalds at the front which is open 24 hrs. However, the dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to comment on our hotel. It is always great to hear such fantastic feedback about the rooms, restaurant and staff, and this will be passed on to everyone. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed here again recently and the room was as good as always, but I particularly wanted to comment on the meal deal. We got dinner, a glass of wine (or beer) and a full breakfast for £22.95. Amazing.

I was a bit worried that dinner might be a choice from a menu of deep fried this or battered that, but no. That sort of food was certainly available, but other stuff was too. Prawn cocktail, salmon, burgers, pizza – there was a good choice. It is never going to get Michelin stars but it was a good meal at a very good price.

A good night’s sleep, and the included breakfast is never less than great!

Room Tip: I think the twin rooms are at the front (facing the road) and the doubles ar at the back (facing fie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmer_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. It is great to hear you enjoyed you stay, and especially the restaurant. It is great to hear such positive comments, and this will be passed on to the relevant members of staff. We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.7 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Address: Stoney Lane | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#2 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Chilterns, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, just half an hour's drive away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing