We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 4 March 2014

good position, good staff, clean breakfast was beautiful with plenty to choose from. staff willing to help with any problems or advice.good hotel for visitng nearby or fro breaking journey up to London as we found when footy supporters were in before cup final


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorecambeSeasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just come back today 02/03/14 from a weekend here. The hotel is nice and clean, but it is the staff that make the difference. I booked this hotel after reading reviews and was not disappointed at all. From the moment myself and 3 young children walked through the door the service was nothing short of 5 star. On reception there was a lady called Cassie, who also worked on the bar and in the restaurant. She always had a smile and time to help when required. She gave us printed directions to Harry Potter World which was greatly appreciated. At breakfast a lovely lady called June I think was also fantastic, nothing was a problem to her and she interacted with the children making them feel special. Another staff member by the name of Hayley was also fantastic. At evening meal in the restaurant she went the extra mile offering plain paper and crayons for the children as it was obvious there would be a slight wait for food to all tables being taken. I can not praise the staff of this property enough and will definitely stay here again when visiting the area.

Room Tip: Asked for a quiet room away from main room which was fab. The family room had 1 double bed, 1 single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Who'd have thought that a Premier Inn on the A41 Services outside London (near a McDonalds and a filling station) would turn out to be so impressive!

The usual cleanliness that is found in Premier Inns applies here, however what sets them above the rest is the wonderful customer service.

Upon arrival (an hour before check in time) we thought we'd pass the time by reading the complimentary newspapers in the lounge area, also allowing the kids to unwind a little. We were soon approached by a lady, who went off to check if our room was ready and then let us go up straight away. No sticking to rigid check in times which was lovely and meant we could head off to see our family earlier than planned.

Kathrine at breakfast the next morning was wonderfully helpful. She was the only member of staff serving yet made sure everyone had everything they needed. She kept an eye on the kids who approached the variety of fresh juices, offering help only when needed which made them feel ever so grown up. A lovely touch was asking if I would like my breakfast kept warm whilst I cut my daughter's food up (many Mum's would be used to eating cold food once the kids are settled).

As we departed we were also asked if we would like some cakes or pastries from the breakfast buffet for the kids to enjoy in the car.

Really can't praise the staff enough! A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We've just stayed here for 2 nights & cannot praise it highly enough.
It ideally situated for the Harry potter studio tour (15 mins away on main roads) & travelling into London.
On our way there the staff phoned us to advise us they were having routine maintainance done on their electrics so wouldn't be able to check in until 2.30pm. During this conversation I was discussing directions & got cut off when their electric went off (!!) but the staff (? Kirstie) rang me back on a mobile & apologised for cutting me off. The fantastic attitude of the staff continued throughout. We mainly dealt with Katherine & Hayley. Nothing was too much trouble-they sorted directions for us, train timetables & prices, an extension lead we needed, & they remembered & seemed interested in where we had been & what we had done when we returned, as well as manning reception, the bar & restaurant seemingly all day & evening!!!! The bed was much softer than we're used to & the lift was broken which was a very minor pest & completely out of their hands as they had requested a repair. They had accommodated our request of high floor room (from which you heard no road noise).
The breakfast was great value & lovely. The kids ate free & the hot food was cooked to order, fresh & as much as you wanted.
I cannot finish without praising the staff again. Ladies you are fantastic & a credit to yourselves & Premier Inn. Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst visiting Warner Bros Harry Potter Studio Tour 15 minutes drive away (see separate review) and the room was spacious, comfortable and ideal for us. What made it worthy of the 5star review however was the attitude and behaviour of the staff. Nothing was too much and their customer service ethos was outstanding. One member who deserves a special mention is Kathrine, she seemed to permanently on shift but was ALWAYS willing to help, suggest things to do etc and genuinely seemed to listen and show interest when chatting.
My expectations for the food weren't high, to say the least but I am more than happy to admit my error! All 3 of us had different dishes for our evening meal and the quality and quantities were excellent, as was the service (yes, it was Kathrine serving us too) and breakfast was the same, perfect.
If we're in the area again, we'll definitely stay again

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Minotaur3868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is my preferred choice of Premier Inn's for business trips within the M25. I always look forward to staying at this excellent hotel. It is a small friendly and very well run place with delightful staff who are so willing to help with anything. The restaurant is superb and the food always of a very high standard. Breakfast's are always cooked to order as opposed to a buffet style. This is without doubt one of the best Premier Inn's in the UK having stayed in a lot of them around the UK. First Class and highly recommended

Room Tip: If staying at a weekend ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the drive thru as it can o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel was very quiet considering it was just of the A41, the staff were cheerful and friendly and the room was the usual high quality I have come to expect from Premier Inn. We didn't use the restaurant as we had already eaten dinner when we arrived but it looked lovely. McDonald's was just across from the hotel so as my daughter loves pancakes for breakfast we ate there but we do normally have a premier inn breakfast as it is such good value. I would certainly stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeandicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#8 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
428 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redbourn
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel

Address: Stoney Lane | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#2 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £44 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Chilterns, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, just half an hour's drive away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing