We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great value hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. good value for money. The only gripe was the room being too hot and being able to control the heating. Would recommend. Traveled with a 4 yr old and the staff even gave us milk for her bedtime without charge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    151
    56
    20
    9
See reviews for
181
130
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Although an older hotel it is best we have stayed in. Customer service fab with smiling hardworking staff at all times. 5 mins drive to harry potter. 30 mins on train to euston . altho menu in restaurant is limited the food and service were excellent and good value on meal deal. Premier inn would do well to use this as a model on how to provide excellent customer service. Thanku to all the staff. Would stay here again without hesitation

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The staff were really friendly from the minute we walked in till the moment left.The room was very clean and the food was outstanding!!! Had Pizza like been in italy,really good menu for the kids too and not expansive

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob270871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Only stayed one night, easy to get to, not noisy despite being next to A41. Clean and tidy, slightly less modern than other but didn't detract from the stay.
Staff are friendly. Restaurant well worth a visit. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fandsutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I long ago switched from using the slightly cheaper but woefully dilapidated Travelodge budget hotels to Premier Inns as the latter could always be trusted to deliver on their "good night guarantees" (just about)

There is nothing particularly to grumble with about the Hemel Hempstead west location. The staff are good and everything that you would expect with a Premier Inn is there including the purple decor and lots of Lenny Henry photos.

Some comments however. The reviewer who stated that you can't hear the dual carriageway was obviously given a bedroom at the back. I was at the front and, with some unseasonably warm weather, had to open the window (because even more expensive UK hotels have still not realised that the climate has changed and some aircon would be good) Very noisy to say the least.

Pricing. I'm sure that Premier Inn is no different to every other hotel chain/owner in tweaking the prices upwards at holiday times. I would have liked to stay a little closer into London but was finding the Prem Inn rates at £90 to well over £100 per night. Hardly budget. Hemel was £78 per night which fit within what I was prepared to pay but still - for sitting in a "service area" next to a fuel station and a MacDonalds - a bit pricey?

Lastly (on the negative side) Wi-Fi. Someday all UK hotels will offer fast, free wi-fi. Today some Premier Inns offer free wi-fi (whereas it used to be £3 - ok not a lot to pay but why not free?) and also offer "Ultimate Wi Fi" at, spookily, £3. The free wi-fi is very slow and the ultimate wi-fi runs at the speed you would expect. I wish they'd just stop messing around and have, as I say, fast free wi-fi? Hotels used to have signs outside that said "H+C water all rooms" Someday all hotels will have a sign that says "Free Wi-FI" ?? Yes they pay service providers but they also pay water and energy providers and cost that into the room charge.

I hope that Premier Inns will continue to offer the good standard of accomodation and value for many years to come. I hope they continue to value their customers which always appears to be the case. Hemel cannot help being located next to a noisy dual carriageway, their staff do not dictate the nightly rates nor what they charge for wi-fi so - all the best to them. I just hope the larger corporate organisation makes a few innovative changes to keep them ahead of the pack.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the dual carriageway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huntershipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel-en-le-frith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Clean, tidy, and easy to get to. Just outside of Hemel Hempstead, near the dual carriageway but you cannot hear the traffic in your room. Staff friendly and helpful, nice place to stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed over night at this hotel as I had a super car experience the next day.
The rooms were spotless and really nicely decorated.
We decided to eat there in the evening and the food and service was excellent, the staff were really friendly too.
I would defiantly recommend it to anyone that is looking for an overnight great value for money hotel....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Address: Stoney Lane | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#2 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Chilterns, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, just half an hour's drive away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing