We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden wedding party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
East Barkwith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Golden wedding party”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Lovely hotel in a nice cottagey settings, nice bedroom, fantastic breakfast and we had a lovely time at our sisters golden wedding the food was superb and all nice and hot considering there was 80 people there and the marquee was decorated beautifully.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    86
    40
    11
    9
See reviews for
106
127
18
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here with my boyfriend last year and did have a great time but it would appear they have a new part of the hotel and an old and we were in the old. The room was ok, had an ipod, was clean but a bit decoration a bit dated. The restaurant was lovely and the food was great. The staff were all polite

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Once again we had a wonderful time at the Boxmoor Lodge. On this visit we had room 21 which is a 4 poster-bed room and very spacious whilst still being cosy. The Boxmoor Lodge is a very tranquil and peaceful place to stay - we particularly enjoy sitting in the small patio area with the charming water feature which is a perfect sun-trap. The restuarant food is wonderful and beautifully-presented, a real treat! We cannot praise the fiendly staff enough, nothing is too much trouble. Our regular little haven and retreat!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piperunclecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Myself and my wife cathy had our reception at this hotel and its is where to start. The rooms are of an excellent standard and we would have no problem in staying in these again or recommending them to anyone we knew as they are of a high standard,we had our wedding reception in the marquee and everyone that's over a hundred guest over the day had the most memorable day and all commented on how fantastic the venue was & how they had a fantastic day. the staff excellent & and all work hard making this day special thank you. The food was fantastic and we couldn't have asked for anything more it tasted delicious,we also had the hog roast in the evening which everyone loved. In the mornings the breakfast was excellent and plentiful. over all thank you mark for making our wedding day the most fantastic & memorable day for us' organizing it all and the smooth running of it .myself and cathy and our guest all said that the work you and your staff did was fantastic and of a very high standard and they should all feel proud in making it a day we will never forget as we didn't want it to end thank you for all the help and support that you gave us in making our day special.



kenny & cathy

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenneth_mains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here to attend a family funeral.

The hotel looks quite quaint, set out as separate little terraced cottages around a square. On opening our door we were surprised to find a four-poster bed! Don't get too excited, it was made of horrible veneered stuff. The bed was beautifully comfortable, though.

The room was very well-equipped. with a chair and comfortable sofa. There was an ron and ironing board in the ward-robe.

Bathroom looked a little dated, but was warm and clean.

We intended to have a drink in the bar when we came back at 10ish, but it was dead. The girl behind the bar was happy for us to take a drink to our room.

Breakfast cannot be faulted; it was ample and delicious.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noredpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We used this as a base to travel into London to see the sights. Train was a few minutes walk and easy to get into the city.
Hotel is not bad with nice rooms very clean and friendly people.
Room we had was a family room with a pull out couch and you could not open the door with the couch pulled out.
We were also ground floor so could not open the window to let air in and it was very stuffy at night. Gave me a headache . - Ask for a higher floor for sure. I am sure it would be safe here with the window open but on my own with the kids I did not want to risk it.
I also think more tv channels would be good too.
Breakfast was nice with good coffee.
Compared to London prices this did the trick but

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My wife and I booked in on Friday 17th June met with a smile and given the key to a disabled room (as my wife is in a wheelchair) room was clean and tidy and the wet room en-suite was fanastic it did however lack a stool for my wife to sit on but this was delivered straight away. We ate in the conservatory resturant that evening and the food was incredible I have not had a steak cooked to prefection for as far back as I can remember and the meal the following evening was just as good.
The staff were extremely friendly and very helpfull regarding the wife's access to the resturant and bar area. Would love to stay again if and when we are in that part of the country. Well done Boxmoor Lodge

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajh2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boxmoor Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boxmoor Lodge Hotel

Property: Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Address: Boxmoor Lodge London Road, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#1 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boxmoor Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Boxmoor Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boxmoor Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing