We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARMTH AND EFFICIENT FRIENDLINES.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WARMTH AND EFFICIENT FRIENDLINES.”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Having worked in 5 star, and stayed in 5 star or higher for a total of 50 years we were thrilled with this Hotel. The whole stay was warm, friendly, and service was good, as was the food. Cleanliness was 100%. As experts we could find no speck of dust anywhere!
We attended a weddiing reception in this Hotel,which went off perfectly.
We highly recommend this Hotel to anyone seeking a cosy, warm, friendly hotel where stars are of no consequence but where quality is predominant, both for a stay or for a function.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    91
    41
    11
    9
See reviews for
110
131
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almoradi, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We enjoyed a 3 night stay from 5th December 2012. Literally everything was really nice at this hotel. We mark it as excellent because of a great mixture of comfort and value.

Clean, comfortable and cosy. The bathroom is dated but has everything you need including a great shower. The heating is easily controllable by thermostatic valves, and there is a good TV, comfy chairs, a radio with an I pod dock and also free WiFi.

Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. The dining/breakfast room is very nice indeed, as is the cooked to order breakfast. There is also free parking on site.

The hotel is very close to the main line station and also to the Fisheries pub and restaurant, which is canal-side. The negatives are so tiny that they are not worth mentioning.

Room Tip: We chose a downstairs room. They are all 'remote' from the main building so if you are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby19121970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed at Boxmoor Lodge for 5 nights and were impressed with every thing about the stay. The room was very cosey, clean, comfortable and roomy. The room was warm and the shower was nice and hot too. We liked the little things like a nice choice of hot drinks and cookies, the ipod dock and the extra pillows. There was a supply of shampoo etc in the bath room and the towels were on a warmer. The people in reception and dining were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and there was plenty to choose from. We had a meal at the restaurant and it was really delicious and filling. The gardens are lovely. It is close to transport, the station is about 5 minutes walk and there are buses going past the lodge. I would definItely stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slyunus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Made a change from a normal hotel - parked outside front door which opened into our room. Comfortable in every respect and had every thing you would expect. Bathroom dated but not lacking in facilities. Short walk to restaurant for excellent breakfast and complimentary newspapers. Close to rail station and 1/2 hour trip to Euston. Would definitely go again, but maybe not in hot weather - open windows would expose you to the noise made by the many trains passing through HH at speed.

Room Tip: We had room 2 on ground floor. Some rooms were up steps on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is a nice little hotel, does exactly what you need.
Room decor is a bit tired, but they've thrown in a few modern touches - LCD TV, iPod dock, and although the rooms were from early 90's it wasn't tatty.
Bathroom clean, and as much hot water from the power shower as you need.
Room warm and comfy, and nice bed.
It's not a romantic spa break type place, think functional motel style. Crossroads!
Breakfast nice, and staff all helpful.

We bought through a late deal site and paid £80. Felt about right really, could do a lot worse.

Room Tip: We had room 17, which seemed nice and quiet, and ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wont-eat-no-foriegn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

A great place to stay and close to the centre of Hemel Hempstead. A warm greeting and a lovely room with new bathroom facilities. For less than £80 a real bargain all set in a colourful flower garden with generous parking. Good breakfast too.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 14-17 as they are furtest from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed here as simply a place to crash as a friend nearby was having a party. The hotel is not so appealing took at - bit like a US style motel - but the room was clean, large and the bed very comfortable. We had tried premier travel inn first but was fully booked and this place was a perfectly good alternative. The staff were very friendly and although the bacon at breakfast was way too salty and cheap, the atmosphere was relaxed. I wouldn't want to stay here as a proper hotel break but as a one night stop off it was fine.

Room Tip: We had room number 7 which was large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandidWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
1.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
819 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
713 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#7 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
406 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
596 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Penny Farthing Hotel
The Penny Farthing Hotel
#2 of 2 in Berkhamsted
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boxmoor Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boxmoor Lodge Hotel

Property: Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Address: Boxmoor Lodge London Road, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#1 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boxmoor Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boxmoor Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boxmoor Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing