We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We arrived here in beautiful warm sunshine and I have to say, the hotel made a very pretty sight. The lady receptionist greeted us warmly and despite the fact we were extremely early, she very obligingly allowed us to leave our bags in our designated rooms (our daughter stayed next door) even though they had not been cleared. Even in its unready state, we were pleased at what we saw. There was plenty of space to move and unpack and the bathroom was fresh and clean. The bed was very comfortable too. The choices for breakfast were plentiful and the cooked meals were very tasty. We had decided to have the afternoon in London and the railway station was just a five minute walk away. Our only tiny gripe was that after having a very hectic day and the fact we had arrived back in time, was that we had hoped to watch a certain programme on TV. However, despite the fact there was Sky TV, we could only access a small number of channels, mainly Sports, and the one we wanted to see, ITV1, was not accessible. This didn't detract from our enjoyment of our stay and we would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil Ingrid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Only stayed for one night and also ate in the restaurant but enough time to say what excellent service, friendly staff and fantastic food so would definitely recommend to anyone thinking of staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AimiKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night on business.

The hotel was clean and rooms had everything you would need for an overnight stay. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was fantastic. I need to know the make of the muesli they had......very nice.

The hotel has good road and rail links with the station being no more than 2 mins walk.

I will stay again as I come to Hemel several times a year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niaill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked in here for an overnight stay for a wedding. We found the staff helpful and cheerful throughout. The room was very clean and of a good quality. The breakfast was excellent (made to order) with tasty accompaniments. Would thoroughly recommend the lodge as a better value and quality alternative to the chain hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bozlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed in August 2013 1 adult and 2 kids 12, 10 as an overnight stop before going to Harry Potter world. Had 1 room with double bed and sofa. very clean, had to ask for extra bedding and towels, cam with no bother, didnt have evening meal. Lovely home cooked breakfast next morning. Very close to Harry Potter. Overall good experience

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannelucy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay and the staff are first class, the meal in the restaurant was amazing and the wine selection superb!

We only stayed the one night as we had an early appointment the next day, when we explained the staff were excellent in giving us some history of Boxmoor and how to make sure we had breakfast before we left.

All in all a lovey trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I would just like to thank Boxmoor Lodge for their recent help with a function I was helping one of my family members organise. From the moment I spoke to Mark the Manager nothing was too much trouble. He bent over backwards to accomodate their requirements for a function in their beautiful Marquee. Look no further in you want a celebration.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
748 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
871 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
662 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#10 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
425 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boxmoor Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boxmoor Lodge Hotel

Address: Boxmoor Lodge London Road, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#1 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £64 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boxmoor Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boxmoor Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boxmoor Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing