We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night for a stop of before a birthday. We were very surprised by the rooms! Looking at the website you think it is going to be like any other regular hotel, but this is different, the rooms are situated outside around the car park, you open your front door to a lovely clean room (we had a double, the other members of our party had a twin) the bed is comfy with crispy white bedding. Lovely galaxy hot chocolate! The shower is nice and warm. The room is toasty but the bathroom window opens to let in lots of air. Breakfast was delicious and cooked fresh. Can't fault this place at all. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PinkFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

My sister remembered this hotel and restaurant from some years ago which came to mind after we were running out of suitable venues to celebrate our mum's 80th birthday. When I contacted the hotel by phone I was greeted warmly by Mark it turned out the date and time we wanted was available. It seemed from the moment we made our enquiry, that this was going to be the ideal place for the whole family; of children, grandchildren and even the youngest great grandchild would enjoy and we were not disappointed. The staff were extremely helpful, welcoming and certainly responsive to our requests; the Conservatory Restaurant, was beautifully decorated with the use of some beautiful silk flowers, the staff even helped to blow up the additional balloons that family members had brought along earlier that morning. Our group of 26 enjoyed a tasty Sunday lunch no-one was disappointed, there were clean plates all round from the variety of starters right through to the variety of mains of beef, succulent pork, tender slices of lamb and sea bass. If there was a negative, that would be that although I had pre-warned them about one of the children having an egg allergy, and the children's menu came with ice-cream (which contained egg) as the dessert, there was nothing offered in it's place as an alternative and I know she would have been disappointed not to have had ice-cream along with her cousins - so I was glad I anticipated this and bought a tub of ice-cream which they kindly served for her. By the time we left at about 4:30pm it was like saying goodbye to long lost friends! Thank you Mark and all the team and chefs behind the scenes who helped make my mum's birthday "the best she's ever had"!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Very convenient for rolling off a train and into bed as I did. I only need 2 things from a hotel
1. Quietness
2. Comfortable room and bed

This had both plus the added bonus of the owner driving me to work after my taxi didn't turn up. That's customer service!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colster10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights at short notice. Adequate as a base but room was very basic and in need of refurbishment. Breakfast was good. Overall ok for the late rooms price. Lots or car parking and even though there was a function going on once in room you didn't get disturbed by any noise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed one night here and it's a place for a one or two night stay tops. The rooms are in a line on the ground floor around the car park, rather like a motel but the quality and size is OK. Room 1 has a wet room type shower for people with disabilities and it was wet - everywhere- as there is no curtain. The staff are very friendly and restaurant and breakfast food are good. There is a very tiny bar and sitting room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holden1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I went here for a work Christmas lunch. The food and service was first class. The bedrooms were nice, what you would expect for the price. Friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The marquee where we ate was magical with all the Christmas decorations and beautifully laid out tables. When the food arrived it did not disappoint, prawn cocktail with a modern twist lovely fresh light sauce full of flavour . This was followed by sea bream topped with mixed beans and new potatoes, really good never had that before defiantly going back for that again and homemade pavlova for dessert. Well done Boxmoor lodge for great night.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
749 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
871 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
662 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#10 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
425 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boxmoor Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boxmoor Lodge Hotel

Address: Boxmoor Lodge London Road, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#1 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £64 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boxmoor Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boxmoor Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boxmoor Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing