We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Holford Somerset
2 reviews
“Just the Job”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

My second time back to Boxmoor Lodge - but this time not as a solo traveller but with colleagues and clients to host a very important sales negotiation followed by an evening dinner for 9 in the conservatory restaurant. Owner Andy Rickett and his Front of House Manager Mark Hicks and his team not only made my colleagues and more importantly our clients feel very welcome they were very attentive without being obtrusive in their service. Our sales discussion in one of their well appointed meeting rooms went without a hitch - and dinner in the recently refurbished restaurant was delicious. Suffice to say everyone met at breakfast well rested and refreshed. Well done Boxmoor Lodge and thank you for looking after us so well, with service like this why people bother with the big chain hotels is totally beyond me.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garethweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    85
    40
    10
    8
See reviews for
104
126
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
totland bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

I was a bit disappointed with this hotel. We had requested a cot in our room, but when we got there we didnt have one, so baby slept in bed with me. The man at reception just handed us a key and muttered where the room was. That was the introduction. Not a great start. There was a disco on in the conference centre, which is part of the hotel, the disco played loud music until quite late, and my children struggled to sleep with all the noise. The room was ok, but the toiletries were pathetic. The breakfast in the morning was super, and saved me from making this a two star rating, as the staff were lovely in the restaurant, very attentive and sweet. They were also good with the children.
I wouldnt recommend to a family especially if they have discos regularly.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeellen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

The staff are very friendly and make you welcome, the rooms are a bit dated and tired looking.
The towels are old but clean, the bed was comfortable and the room/ shower fairly clean, although I had cobwebs hanging from the ceiling.
The breakfast was great and always hot.
The Sky TV was not working all week and I was informed that the repair man had found some problems and it was being fixed, one of the lights in the shower did not work and despite reporting it as soon as I arrived it stayed like that for the rest of the time.
The down side is that you are very close to the road and railway so bring your ear plugs as you will need them.
The other problem I encountered was that the smokers had to go outside of their rooms to light up and they had a tendency to walk up and down outside other rooms, and the smell was pretty bad.
I do not think I would stay here again unless I really had to.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The noise and smoking
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHILLIPHARRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

We stayed here as a convenient stop after visiting family and before heading to Whipsnade the next day.

On arriving in lashing rain at 7pm we were unable to get into reception as it was locked. So perhaps not a great start.

It was a Sunday night and the restaurant was closed. It seems from previous reviews that this is the highpoint of this place.

The room was a bit smelly with a mouldy shower head only two channels on the TV and one towel between three of us. I also had to go to reception twice to get a sheet for my daughters bed as there wasn't one.

Ran a bath and rather disappointed as the water wasn't even hot enough. Also bit mean on toiletries.

Breakfast staff and food was good enough.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — mouldy shower head
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abbielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2008

The Best business Trip ever !!
The Property itself is in a really nice setting on the Outskirts Of Hemel near to the station. From check in to check out my stay was a special one. The Only complaint I could have is that I ordered the wrong thing in the Restaurant on the first night and could not finish my main course (never mind try a dessert !! I was gutted).On Night two I had a Plan and Manged all three courses, being an ex chef I am hard to please but the variety of the menu , the staff, the Presentation and the setting Meant that there is nothing to complain about.
Already Planning to take my wife back to enjoy a Relaxing weekend adn the restaurant.

  • Liked — the Food
  • Disliked — I was on business
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank stewai01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2007

How lovely to be in a beautiful privately owned hotel with such history. The staff made me feel very special. The food was excellent and all freshly prepared. The accomodation was lovely too.

  • Liked — The white egyptian cotton bedding
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FreddieHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2007

Stayed at this Hotel whilst attending a Wedding . Live locally and hadn't really taken any notice of this place before. What a fab place, rooms comfortable and really nicely furnished. Breakfast was the best we have had in any hotel and the service was just so smooth and relaxed - no fussiness.
Restaurant food was superb - a group of us had a meal night before wedding itself and menu offered a wide choice of things that you wouldn't cook yourself at home. Only thing was trying to decide what to have !
Wedding Breakfast next day was just as good - unusual when a small establishment is feeding so many people.
Cannot fault this place and we are planning our Christmas do here in December.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank MozzyHemelHempstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boxmoor Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boxmoor Lodge Hotel

Property: Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Address: Boxmoor Lodge London Road, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#1 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boxmoor Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boxmoor Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boxmoor Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing