We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shendish Manor - Fantastic location with Accommodation, Food and Service to Match”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Shendish Manor - Fantastic location with Accommodation, Food and Service to Match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Organised a company re-union at the Hotel for 25 people. Superb location, especially for people coming from every direction. Friendly efficient welcome at reception, well furnished and clean accommodation, well appointed private dining room, tasty and well presented food, with excellent service created an excellent atmosphere for our get together. If i was to offer any critism it was that the corridors were to stuffy and warm and the Hotel would benefit with better signage as you come off the main road.
I understand this Hotel was taken over with new management in December 2009, any negative comments were with the previous managment. I look forward to booking our annual event again next year.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnleybourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    270
    115
    50
    35
See reviews for
132
307
11
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

..and it was. A great value package from Shendish, attention to detail from the beginning - and one of the few places in Hertfordshire that can do a large number of guests. Rooms and ambience are great - especially in the old house. Our project manager was superb on the day; the food was excellent and many guests complimented it (we had a free evening tasting for two beforehand). We made a very good choice for our big event.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgehog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

Positives:
Service and staff are great, polite, efficient etc

Negatives:
Smoking in rooms filtering into hallways and then into other rooms
Previous nights glasses from all guests rooms, left in hallway for some time by staff
Numerous LED lights in room that have to be covered up if you want to sleep well
Bed way to firm
Breakfast dining area to small
Only one set of towels for two of us, they did this to others as well, frustrating!


I know some of the above sound picky, im not normally that way, but they are just some things that added to the main problem which is the hotel just feels wrong, it is trying to be something its not. Its overpriced, with nothing special to offer. No pool, spa, or particulary nice grounds etc I did have a nice time at a family do at the hotel, but this was only because the hotel was saved by the staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank england1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seat6D
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Travelling on business, had to check in late - no problem - pint of guiness and good scotch available at bar plus good conversation
Place looks like hammer house of horror when you pitch up late. Very nice in morning, colleague went on a run around the grounds
Room modern, well appointed and comfortable. No SKY (good)
Staff all very competent, cheerful and helpful. Good breakfast
Very reasonable for quality (colleague booked thro Bookings.com
Different and well worth loking up if in area

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RocketDog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

This hotel was the venue for our daughter's wedding. The wedding was taking place early evening and we arrived at 2.30 pm for an overnight stay. The staff were courteous and helpful and our room, in the old part of the hotel, was large, light and airy.
The wedding was well organised and plenty of staff around to deal with 100+ guests. The grounds are lovely and, as it was a lovely day weatherwise, the guests could walk and sit outside and children could run around safely. The only criticism we had was that the wedding buffet could have catered a little better for vegetarians. Our breakfast the next morning was good. I would recommend this as a venue for weddings. Also, although we don't play golf, there appeared to be good golfing facilities attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
temporarily France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

I stayed for two nights. The shower is the best. Plenty of hot water and lots of water pressure. The room was big with nice decor. I was on the top floor of the main house, it had skylight windows that might be difficult for a shorter person to open and close. It was quiet because of the padded carpet in the halls and rooms.

The room was internet ready,but I didn't use the wifi as I didn't have my computer with me.

The plugs were awkward for using the hair dryer. There wasn't one close to a mirror and that made getting ready a bit more trouble than it should have been.

I didn't have time to eat in the restaurant, but when I was having a drink at the bar I saw the plates as they were being served. The food presentation looked marvelous and at that time I wished I could stay for dinner!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expatontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

Went on a golf/birthday weekend with our son. Everything went well. and we particularly enjoyed the meals in the restaurant on both days, breakfast and evening meal. The decor in all the publc rooms and our bedrooms in the Manor House were very spacious and tasteful. The locastion is convenient for the M25/A1/A11. It was a quiet weekend as far as functions in the hotel so it may not be as peaceful if there is a large wedding, etc. Free internet service was easy - no difficult keys to access it.
There is a lift but this did not take us to our rooms on the top floor.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastaltraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
3.1 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Property: Shendish Manor Hotel
Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing