We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bad service”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We went for afternoon tea which itself was very good but we waited for over an hour before it was served. We were the ony 2 people having tea outside whilst in just a party of 6 adults and children were having a meal. Dont know how they can be so bad but presume the locals are aware and dont come. Pity.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    277
    121
    55
    38
See reviews for
138
317
11
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I would like to thank the staff for helping organise my mum's 80th birthday lunch. They were all so helpful and nothing was to much trouble. The meal and service was 1st class. We were taking in our own birthday cake and they laied out a table for it which looked lovely. The surrounding were lovely, have never been there before, and did everything over the internet, and was not at all disappointed. I would highly reccommend The Shendish for that special occassion.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We chose shendish manor for our anniversary - not far from home, nice grounds, and good decor. We got all that. We also got a wedding reception which meant the whole staff team were unable to provide a satisfactory level of service to its non-wedding guests. We arrived at 2pm and checked into room 13, which was large and well-decorated. We popped down for a quick bite and waited 30 mins for drinks and an hour for the pizza, all the while surrounded by headless chickens preparing for the wedding. I mean yelling across the room, dragging tables, etc. General air of panic. I asked whether we should expect the rest of our stay to continue in this vein, and the embarrassed staff member didn't charge us for the pizza, so all remedied. I don't mind a cock up if one is ready to make amends. We changed our dinner reservation to a later time and went for a pleasant walk.
Dinner time, we went down to a portable speaker pumping out sting, staff racing around, and had to practically grapple someone to the floor to seat us. Our drinks arrived 40 mins after we went down. There was much explaining about the wedding, the group next door, and the new £25/head dinner system if one had prepaid. Shendish, I don't care what you're saying to me; all I'm hearing is that you can't cope with normal guests trying to enjoy what you claim to offer. When it finally arrived, I had the lamb with dauphinoise potatoes that had barely seen the oven. Not good enough. My advice: stop trying to make money on events and stick to providing a service to match the lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThorntonsTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Although I did not stay in the hotel I was able to check out my friends room. This was enormous,with a huge bed and a bathroom that was bigger than the bedroom. They enjoyed a good nights sleep. However, the day of the wedding the food was well, less than average!
The couple had gone to alot of effort to make sure all were catered for adequately with their choices of menu,but what arrived to us guests was very dry tasteless food for the main. The starter was good. The dessert was also tasteless with cheap synthetic tasting icecream! Oh and not forgetting the nibbles that were passed around prior to the wedding breakfast - this I can only say would have been better if they purchased a nibbles party pack from an Iceland supermarket! On speaking to other guests who had stayed the previous night,the bar food that was presented to them was either over or under cooked! Word of warning to potential wedding venue seekers, you may want to consider elsewhere if you want to impress your guests. Dont get me wrong, the place itself is gorgeous,its just the Food!!! Critical

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Waited over 40 minutes for our starter although only 8 tables in restaurant including ourselves!! Far too many staff but no one came to check on us. Infact they were all stood by the door chatting.Waited again for main course... Food was presented great but potato was raw! And yet again waited for 20 minutes for dessert! Very disappointing for such an impressive hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonSkiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The sun shone which allowed us to exploit the beautiful gardens. Not only are the grounds and interiors manicured and bright, the service buildings are landscaped so they don’t spoil the view. Everyone on the day went to extra trouble. Staff helped the make-up artist to arrange the bride's room with extra dressing table and mirrors before she arrived and then set the room back to its check-in state with fresh towels, clean waste basket etc, ready for their return after the ceremony. The staff dealt with crises imposed by an outside supplier (of plants) who had let us down, and went to quite a bit of trouble over the best way to set out chairs for the ceremony and tables for the dinner dance. The 'event manager' assigned to us was charming and friendly but also aware of details which might go wrong and somehow continually on hand and tactfully in the background at the same time. Lots of little polishing points; The men’s and ladies rooms were kept to standard throughout the night and the manned cloakroom was patiently manned even when almost everyone had gone and only the mothers' two hats were left there. It was noticeable that any casual encounters with staff on the day - perhaps, just passing in a corridor – provoked a sympathetic smile. It’s not easy for staff at all levels to remember that what is their everyday routine is a unique occasion for the client but the Shendish staff had the stamina (and training?) to do so. For hotel guests the lobbies, dining room and bedrooms were all excellent and in dry weather there are large grounds to enjoy on every side of the hotel. It's also near two very nice villages.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here and were lucky enough to stay in one of the rooms in the manor house, room 10, an amaZing room very large and spacious with lovely views. Great venue and location young staff extremely helpful especially Abi thanks! Would happily visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillytally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
713 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
393 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
612 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Property: Shendish Manor Hotel
Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing