We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruby Anniversary Celebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shendish Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ruby Anniversary Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We hosted a diner for 40 and all our guests stayed the night on 20 July 2012. Everything was perfect. The quality of canapes exceeded our expections, the diner was of the highest quality with the chef having noted our particular reqirements following a tasting three weeks prior to the event. Without exception our guests were full of praise for the comfort of the rooms in the Manor House The rooms in the modern wing were more than adequate though with not quite the character of the Manor.

Breakfast was a feast. A shame we had eaten so well the night before.

But what stood out was the wonderful service the staff provided. Nothing was too much trouble and always with a smile. They were a great credit to the Shendish Manor Hotel.

Prior to our celebration we had two trial meals which in every way were excellent - highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want character rooms ask for one in the Manor (no singles).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shendishmanager, General Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for this glowing review Anthony. I am so pleased that everything was perfect for you both and you have left the hotel with given this wonderful feedback. Thank you for recognising the staffs hard work, I know the team involved were thrilled with the feedback you sent in so thank you very much for that as its always such a great motivator for the team.
I’m so pleased to hear your celebrations went so well you I hope to welcome you back to host the next big one; your golden anniversary

James Barker
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    267
    110
    47
    34
See reviews for
131
302
11
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our first time here. One of us is a wheelchair user and the accessible room was perfect. Roll-in shower and plenty of hand rails. Not all hotels have the same interpretation of "accessible"! Staff attentive and very helpful. Despite there being two big weddings on Saturday we were very well looked after and were not at all disturbed by the late evening festivities.
Highly recommended.
Price quoted on phone was same as special offer price on web booking sites.
We will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shendishmanager, Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Great to hear you were so well look after. I have to say out of other venues I have worked in the past, Shendish Manor has by far the best facilities for wheelchair users so I am pleased to hear you found our facilities to a high standard. Thank you for your positive feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Shendish Manor in the near future.

James Barker
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
211 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel on a B&B basis (booked through booking.com) on a Sunday in July 2012.
Location: excellent - less than an hour from Heathrow and also less than an hour from Silverstone. Out of town location in the countryside with rabbits, squirrels and birds in the garden. Lovely characterful building dominating the place though the restaurant and our room were in modern facilities. Easy to find with GPS/sat-nav.
There was plenty of car parking when we arrived. There was a sign in the room and at reception about the expensive charges for toiletries and requisites (e.g. 50p for 2 paracetamol tablets, 50 p for a tampon).
Service: The reception staff were a bit brusque and slow. All the service was rather casual and off-hand, including in the restaurant and at check-out.
We were allocated room 33, a large ground floor room in the modern wing with ensuite bathroom, desk, chest of drawers, wardrobe (with 8 hangers), two comfortable chairs, double bed (the room could easily have taken a bigger bed), bedside tables. There was a flat-screen TV which we did not use.
The curtains did not block out the light in the early morning. The view was dull and we looked out onto laundry bins. We wondered why we had been allocated this room as the hotel was almost empty.
Lighting was strangely dark and dull, although there were several lamps. Light switches did not control all the lights from the bed.
All aspects of the room were very clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and did not creak.
There were tea and (instant) coffee facilities in the room.
The bathroom had a shower over the bath and we had none of the cold water problems that others have mentioned in their reviews.
Dinner was very nice in the on-site restaurant. We paid 25 GBP per person for a set 3-course meal which was suitable for our requirements (one seafood and one vegetarian). Drinks including tea and coffee were extra.
The grounds and gardens were beautiful and we enjoyed walking round the paths.
I think this was very good value for money at 76 GBP for a double room including breakfast (booked through booking.com). Having stayed at several similar priced accommodation around England in the previous 3 weeks this was among the best. There were only a couple of small issues and the basics were excellent. I wish we had stayed longer here and not gone to the previous hotel!

Room Tip: An upstairs room would have better natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovemiddleeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is our second visit to Shendish,we had a fantastic meal here to celebrate a family birthday.Could not fault it .The food was delicious and the staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful.fantastic value for money.Its a shame the British weather let us down as on our previous visit we were able to explore the wonderful grounds.Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank King831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shendishmanager, General Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for this lovely feedback! It’s great for the team to hear their efforts are appreciated. Next time you visit us you must venture into the new Apsley grounds that we have just developed into a Victorian style garden. It has a lovely water fountain and some great features. I look forward to you returning to Shendish Manor for the next family celebration.

James Barker
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Held our year 11 prom at Shendish Manor and am very happy. The room was a great size and a bar was set up in the corner. Maria was very helpful in accommodating our requests. Very knowledgeable about what worked well for similar functions so gave very good advice. Food was a little expensive but overall everyone had a great time, am very pleased and would recommend it to others!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JudithEaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shendishmanager, General Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for your kind comments Judith. We have become very popular with school proms over recent years and it’s great to hear a good time was had by all and the students got to let their hair down. Maria is a great asset to our team and I’m pleased to hear she delivered you a great service. Thank you for recommending Shendish Manor and I hope you return to us next year!

James Barker
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have stayed here before and gave it a very good review
So having to be in the area for a week I checked in
Went a bit stir crazy after being in same room for a week but overall the review was good
rooms are al lfine, but had problems with lack of hot water early morning and late at night

Room service was fine and not expensive as was breakfast, although the brekafast staff were grumpy

Reception staff helpful and overall good

The hotel had a lot of functions over the stay I was there ( prom nights and weddings) which inevitably means lots of guests wlaking the corridoors late at night a little worse for wear, but this is what you expect in a hotel i guess

a good hotel to stay if you are looking in the area and beat its competitors hands down

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We attened a family wedding in June. We were not dissapointed on arrival. The building looks beautiful and once in-side we were very happy. We checked in our room without too much fuss.
Once in our room, we noticed there was no hot water!! we went to reception and told a very nice lady about the situation. She said it would be looked at. About an hour later one of the managers informed us that the fault couldnt be fixed. He kindly offered to up-grade us. Staff took every to our beautiful new room. It was spotless and stylish. The breakfast was very nice. On the whole a very nice stay, with helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loucos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
3.1 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Property: Shendish Manor Hotel
Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing