We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“get a room in the old part of the hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shendish Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“get a room in the old part of the hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

If you can get a room in the old part of the hotel, they are really good value for money. The hotel is set in lovely surroundings complete with golf course and yet close to Hemel and surrounding areas. It's very much a business/function type of hotel and as a result lacks the quiet intimate restaurant

Room Tip: a room in the old part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilHoward_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    267
    110
    47
    33
See reviews for
131
302
11
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I booked the Autumn Special for my parents for 2 nights in October 2012. Having read some other reviews was slightly concerned, especially about the restaurant food. However, I need not have worried. My parents had a fantastic time here. There room was lovely, large and as requested, in the old part of the hotel with a view of the garden at the rear. The room had a large double bed which was not, contrary to expectations, too hard, but very comfortable according to Mum and Dad. Also a large flat screen TV, the usual tea-making facilities, a nice table and chairs by the window to sit at, a fantastic bathroom! My parents were really impressed and I think I will book them in here again. The hot water worked fine in the bathroom apparently.
The staff were extremely nice and helpful, both on reception, at the bar and in the restaurant. I had booked Dinner, Bed and Breakfast and joined my parents both evenings for dinner and found the food really good, far exceeding expectations! Hotel food can be poor but this was lovely. I also thought the Restaurant might be deserted but in fact there were a number of people eating there and a nice atmosphere.
I didn't see the breakfast but my parents said it was fine, they had no complaints about it.
I really would recommend this hotel for good value at the price, especially considering the special offers.
When we arrived on the Sunday afternoon there waws an Indian Wedding going on but this didn't disturb us and rather added to the friendly atmosphere. Once we were in the Restaurant we couldn't hear the Wedding Party music at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsfindout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Took my small company's staff to the New Year's Eve bash and will definitely book for next year .
The entertainment was great , the staff very polite and the food excellent considering how many people they were catering for.

Well done Shendish keep it up!

Steve

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rec_properties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I recently stayed here over the weekend for Leisure with my Husband and was really impressed with the service we received. The staff were a delight, the food fantastic with plenty of choice. The beds were comfortable and the location of the venue with the stunning grounds really made our stay memorable. Emma the duty manager was approachable and informative, and even though they had a wedding on in the hotel it never affected us and our experience at Shendish- would highly reccomend a visit here.

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade in the Manor House rooms- uniquely and individually decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I am sure we will use this hotel again in the future.

The team are incredibly polite and helpful. We had dinner in the hotel on the evening before our meeting. All the girls in the restaurant were extremely helpful, attentive and professional.

Furthermore, the lads that served the meeting room and the team on front desk all continued to maintain the same level of excellent service. It’s not often you get such consistency in a team but the experience was genuinely excellent from start to finish.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Took the family plus other relatives to meet up with our son and his family [with their 8 week old twins plus a 3 year old.
Lovely table,not too may people jammed together .Easy serve yourself buffet style meal.
Extremely helpful,nice staff.Great bar staff.
After lunch one of the staff told us of a wonderful quiet area where we could go and relax
and open our presents.

Great day,thank you Shendish Manor.So amazing to have such lovely staff !

Room Tip: only went for lunch,but would love to stay sometime
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanjeanie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Had a carvery meal at Shendish with 37 of our family and friends at Christmas. Couldn't fault it. Great value, easy going friendly staff especially with the children running around. Food was good. One of our party used to work there and they had no problem with us nosying around for old times sake. Drinks ok too. all in all, from booking with Lucy to Gunta working on the day with Ahmed and Mohammed they made us feel very welcome. Thanks! JL

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
3.1 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Property: Shendish Manor Hotel
Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing