We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Conference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Customer Conference”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We held our Customer Conference here in May 2013. The amount of feedback we received from our customers about the venue being 'Stunning', 'Fantastic' and 'Scenic' for a conference was overwhelming. The day went very well, staff were professional and everything ran on time as per our function sheet.
The event planners are very thorough and excellent communicators.
The bar staff are excellent - our Bar Man even knew what drinks we were having and brought them over to us when we were in a meeting at the end of the day - a nice touch!
A really reasonable priced conference that gave the impression that we'd spent a lot of money on the event.
Overall, we had a great day, the event was very beneficial to our business.

Room Tip: Manor Rooms are beautiful, but ask for one for a soft bed if you like soft beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    281
    128
    57
    42
See reviews for
142
325
11
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Bascially, as my title states, this place needs a total overall of its mangement and a complete re training of staff.

Customer service was extemely poor.Communication between staff members and towards customers was non existent or extremely unethuastic, unhelpful, or just plain rude.

During my stay the hotel was host to a large wedding, which was a huge disruption to myself other guests, and there was no prior communication with me regarding this potential disruption, or any sign of apology while staying from staff.

The offer i was using inlcuded a evening meal and breakfast included in the price, however no where in the terms and conditions when booking was there a mention of a limit to how much you could spend during your 3 course evening meal, making certain choices from the menu actually unavilable. Furthermore, this detail was not told to us and at point during the meal. Any order which came above the limit was then charged to our room.

The room was contained damaged or broken equipment and facilities. the tv had to be fixed, there was only 1 towel between the two of us, and halfway through our stay our keys stopped working.

all in all, i would not recommend this hotel in its current state. It is such a shame as the buildings and grounds are so nice, and the hotel clearly has potential.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjones1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shendishmanager, Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Mr. Jones,

Thank you for your review and I’m sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay with us.

We did have an outside catered wedding taking place that night. We do try where possible to allocate rooms as far away from the wedding as possible, but can’t always guarantee this. Having said this if you informed our duty manager of any disruption on shift they would have moved your bedroom.

Looking at your booking I can see you were on our Spring into Summer Reservation Offer, the advertisement on our website and information when booking the room does state that it’s a £25.00 meal allowance in our Restaurant. This is also displayed on the Menu you were given on the night.

I’m sorry your keys stopped working; I can understand your frustration walking to your room and having to go back to Reception.
Our system states that 1 person was in the room so 1 set of towels were available, but we do always keep a spare sets of towels in the wardrobes.
Looking through the reports from that night I can see the Duty Manager came to your room to fix the TV where a lead had come loose at the back of it, this was fixed as soon as the Duty Manager was called.

It’s a shame to hear you would not recommend us, we at the Hotel strive on customer service towards our guests so they will return to stay with us again and again. I do hope you will stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We hired one of the rooms for my father's 90th birthday on May 5. The room and layout was excellent; food and service very good (we had a finger buffet). A very enjoyable and successful day - thanks to all at Shendish Manor

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregoryg19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed for one night before a trip to the Harry Potter Studios & had chosen this hotel in preference to the De Vere which is much closer as we thought it would be rather more luxurious. We booked a superior room in the older part of the hotel, the room was very nice & the view of the grounds was lovely. The bathroom was spotlessly clean & large but there was a crack in the sink & one of the lights didn't work. The bar had run out of the drinks we ordered apparently because they had to supplement the bar serving a large wedding party. Dinner in the evening was mediocre at best & we spent most of the evening being the only diners. On the positive side, the staff were very nice, particularly Mohammad & Ahmed.
We had the impression that the hotel is geared more towards weddings than individual guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivPManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2013

20 local girls had a brilliant golf day at Shendish Manor last Saturday. The reception was warm and friendly. The staff were excellent in their care of us all day. The 2 course lunch afterwards was well prepared and hot. A lovely day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This is just a short note to let you know that a colleague and I had a fantastic time staying with Shendish Manor last week (16-19 Apr 13).

The administration was superb, the welcome and all of the staff we encountered were warm and accommodating, the golf was good and the food was really something rather quite exquisite!

We rated this experience so highly that we have passed on our heartfelt thanks and compliments direct to all of the staff that looked after us. It truly was a most enjoyable business trip.

We have already reported that we would love to come and stay with Shendish Manor again should business bring us to their neck of the woods in the future and we have no reservations in pass on their details and making appropriate recommendation to our families, friends and colleagues alike.

A magnificent experience. Well done indeed!

Room Tip: If you don't like a firm bed, then make sure you ask for a soft bed, as whilst the bed's are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This was the first time visiting Shendish Manor and as part of a wedding party I couldn't fault it. The venue was spot on, and the staff were great. The rooms are a good size and very comfortable. All in all I think as a wedding venue you can't go wrong, so worth taking a look at Shendish.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevr0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
1.5 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
734 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
633 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Property: Shendish Manor Hotel
Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing