We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We recently got married at Shendish Manor and it was the perfect venue, and really good value. Lovely building and furnishings, nice rooms, helpful staff, beautiful grounds and great breakfasts! Laura and the team were brilliant in helping us organise the day, and were as flexible as possible to make our day a really special one.

We had a Hindu wedding followed by and evening reception (catered externally) and wanted a country manor type venue that would allow us to do this, have all the family to stay for the weekend, could fit 200+ evening guests for a sit down meal, and Shendish worked perfectly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    278
    121
    55
    38
See reviews for
138
318
11
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Shendish Manor was our wedding venue both for the ceremony and the reception. We used the gorgeous Apsley suite for our day and stayed at the hotel several times before the event took place. The hotel is gorgeous (our favourite is room 9!) and the team are fantastic. Our day ran incredibly smoothly with no hitches whatsoever, and many of our guests commented on how lovely the venue was, how nice their hotel rooms were and also how tasty the food was!

A special mention also for Laura, our wedding coordinator - she helped us organise the most fantastic day and was always on hand to help us with our random questions. Compared to all our other suppliers for the day, Laura and Shendish were absolutely perfect and took out a great deal of pressure from the planning and organisation of the wedding.

100% recommend for a hotel stay, or if you're thinking of having your wedding here - and we can't wait to come back and visit soon. Thanks Shendish :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We hosted a family fun day for a corporate client and found the hotel to be excellent. The grounds are stunning and very well-maintained. Staff were courteous and extremely helpful and the barbecue catering was very good quality. Would recommend this venue to corporate clients looking to host similar events.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed there for one night in late June 2013. A good choice to stay in this locality if you are travelling by car (or taxi from the station is a possibilty) as the hotel is located up a long driveway. It's set in beautiful, well-maintained grounds and is very quiet and peaceful. Your night's rest is unlikely to be disturbed by car/burglar alarms or some fool with a 'sports' exhaust...I parked my car outside, a short walk from the entrance, for which I was not charged extra.

The first impression was of spotless near-luxury, with a nice floral display and pleasant smells in the foyer where I was dealt with promptly. The only jarring note was the choice of newspapers on the rack - the 'Mail' and the 'Express' together are surely duplication.

I had a room on the first floor which was spotless and very quiet. There were the usual appointments like an ironing board, hairdryer and a TV which was easy to operate. It was also nice to find a full range of powdered drinks including chocolate and decaffeinated coffee. The bathroom, spotless like verything else, was modern and had an easy-to-use shower over the bath with a tranparent screen as opposed to a walk-in shower - you have to take care getting in and out. The bed, when the time came to sleep, was on the firm side but very comfortable and I had an uninterrupted night's sleep.

The hotel has a spacious restaurant overlooking the grounds where rabbits hop gaily about, and where I ate in the evening. It was refreshing to find in an establishment of this calibre a generous triple-decker sandwich served with crisps and salad for a moderate GBP 5.50. There is more opulent fare if one so wishes, but for me it was just fine. The breakfast - buffet service -cost GBP 10 extra on my room, and was very good with one minor rservation - the plates were cold. Also a slight annoyance in the restaurant was a background of piped music with prominent percussion - its wan't loud but it somehow didn't fit and was not very restful. But I think the days when they play orchestral music in public spaces are probably gone now.

So to sum up, a beautiful, comfortable hotel. If you are coming in a car or don't mind paying for the cab, do not hesitate to come to this hotel. You will enjoy it.

Room Tip: Poor mobile phone reception in the rooms at the front of the building on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winkelschleifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I attended a wedding at Shendish Manor hotel last year and stayed overnight at this establishment which turned out to be a wonderful decision. Considering that we were only 30+ minutes drive from heathrow airport, it really felt like we were in countryside. Fresh air, greenery and well manicured gardens. Check in facilities were friendly and prompt. Corridors leading to rooms were very clean although a bit narrow. So one had to standard close to wall to let fellow guest pass through coming from.the other side. Room decor was in keeping with a country hotel with the proverbial tea kettle and all the toiletteries were there as should be in a five star establishment. View from.my room was not that brilliant ;all I could see was stacked up folding tables. My son got his room facing the front lawns and he was really pleased. Highlight was their huge dining rooms open plan with resplendent views of lush green lawns. There were big adjacent halls where the wedding ceremony took place. It was beautiful. All in all we enjoyed our stay and wished wedding had lasted 2 days rather than one. Hotel sent us an email asking for our comments. I did have a small issue which was duly acknowledged by hotel and they informed me that steps had been taken to make good what I had pointed out.fantastic!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing inside of hotel storage areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naresh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding everything was taking place within the hotel. The staff were amazing given the fact that there was 2 weddings taking place at the same time. This hotel is very beautiful and sits within amazing grounds,with rabbits running freely round the grounds. Our room was so big with a huge wooden bed our bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom. We arrived at tea time and sat on huge comfy couches drinking lovely cold sparkling wine,our food was lovely presented and was delicious. The community toilets were very clean well decorated and well stocked. We were very pleased when on the Saturday we didn't leave our room for the ceremony until 1.30pm that arriving back to our room to find it spotless and clean, as we felt the staff were to busy to clean our room in the afternoon. I would certainly return to shendish manor and would recommend it to everyone wishing to have a lovely comfortable time away .

Room Tip: Ask for the manor not the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Had a good conference at this hotel, good meeting room and bedroom and very pleasant surroundings, Food was good by conference hotel standards and breakfast was excellent. Bar service could be improved, but otherwise it is a very good location for business meetings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
715 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
394 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#7 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
613 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Property: Shendish Manor Hotel
Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing