We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds but needs some money spent on it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed for a business team meeting and although the grounds are wonderful; the food, bar service and service in general all needed to step up a level to match other similarly priced and located hotels.
Our self service buffet lunch served between our working sessions arrived a plate at a time and was disappointing. The overall impression was that the hotel was being run on a skeleton staff. Shame as the rooms are good and the location is lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandaw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Booked for a overnight Golf break . First impressions as we booked in was of a old stately home, room very nice however it was obvious that the carpet had not been hoovered,( hair clip and what seemed like bits of food) from there it went down hill. If you are a Golfer then forget it, the course is very Micky Mouse with the fairways very poor, greens in reasonable condition but grass long on the day we played, usual holiday golfers on the course. This is the first course that I have actually been hit by a ball. Food in the restaurant was very poor, had the lamb shank which was dry and tasteless, with couscous spiced beyond belief, my partners experienced similar with there orders. Whilst you expect hotel drinks to be above pub prices £5.20 for a glass of wine seemed over the odds. All in all I would not recommend a stay at this hotel. ps. No spa suite, but staff very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not next to a connecting door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GazaSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Right, a great location to eat with wonderful views. It is unfortunate that the food just does not hit the mark.

Starters - The tart was clearly burnt black around the edges and at least 1cm down. Any self respecting chef would never have sent it out to the table. The scallops were basic and bland.

Mains - Half a Roast chicken is not rocket science and at the price being charged, you expect it to taste and look right. A dry bird which was obviously overcooked, maybe even reheated. The Cote de boeuf had very little taste with zero seasoning. The mains themselves cost over £40 - not what you would accept at that price point.

Desserts - yes, now these were good. Very well presented and tasted nice.

As the food and drinks are so over-priced, you would like the food to taste half decent in line with your surroundings - not the case right now.

There are other great much cheaper local options, both within a mile -

Holiday Inn Express, Apsley - has good sized rooms with a superb bistro pub next door (The Paper Mill).

Premier Inn, Kings Langley - again superb rooms and a great pub next door (The Young Pretender)

The Rose & Crown - a brilliant bistro pub in Kings Langley, a 5 minute drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lestamunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We booked three rooms - two,for two nights and one for one night.The rooms were all very clean and the a.c. in the newer section was very efficiient.The room in the Manor House was provided with a fan which did little for the size of the room but the window could not be left open as an event spilled onto the terrace and grounds untilabout 4 a.m.Although this was rectified the following evening, nothing would have been done if not reported!
Breakfast was arranged in the Manor house.Good food but cold and not covered.nofacility for making toast - this was brouht on a plate,slightly brown on one end.We had three meals in all and on each occasion dirty plates etc. were cleared in a hit and miss fashion.All staff were very responsive and very pleasant but not on the ball.
All rooms were very clean but one double seemed to have a single and a bit.very little in the way of toiletries,bath very slippery for showering.
All these "small"things should not have to be reported.
Standard letter (misnamed) of thanks for writing report and thanking us forour "kind comments" and "gladeverything was to (our) satisfaction!!

Room Tip: Choose newer block - a.c. and far end away from most "noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on a conference being held at the hotel. Rooms are fairly small but very clean and comfortable. Conference facilities were good. The hotels seems to be used a lot for social functions, although I was not disturbed by any noise in my room. The food and service were very good. The golf course is very popular and the restaurants nearby are enjoyable. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room away from the function areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelvincraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We flew from Europe into Luton London and were at Shendish very quickly. With wonderful weather, the enormous gardens were perfect for the family to relax and spread out after the intensity of Paris. The interconnecting rooms were grand, clean and spacious and perfect for a family who were booked into the Harry Potter Studio Tour only 15mins drive away. What was surprising was that Shendish Manor seemed to have no idea that this highly sophisticated, state of the art tourist destination was right on their doorstep. They had plenty of old brochures on Westminster Cathedral and the like but when we asked for directions, the receptionist looked blankly at us. The Management need to get themselves down to the studios and familiarise themselves with this wonderful marketing opportunity, as it has only been open just over a year and they have already had 2 million people through the doors!

The only gripe I had with the room was they lit the exterior façade of the old house in the evenings which looked elegant but does it need to be lit ALL night? Think global warming or at least put in block out in our room. Breakfast was a typical buffet but very fresh with beautifully cooked eggs. The hotel stuck me as being very short staffed, particularly at the reception. The receptionist was so stressed that it was uncomfortable and we put off several times asking questions during our stay. We will return one day and imagine it would be a great romantic destination as well, just don't have too many requirements of the staff as they are flat out.

Room Tip: We were in the old house with large rooms. Not sure how this compares to the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Farfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed here with work and was impressed with the hotel. Nice hotel grounds to relax. Rooms functional, I had a room with air con which meant it was comfortable but some of my group did not so were not so pleased, request an air con room if available. All staff were friendly and efficient, special mention to person working the night of 10/07/13, we arrived back late so it was technically the 11th July at around 3.30am and wanted a few more drinks and some food. In most hotels this is not greeted favourably and they do it reluctantly. The guy working this night was really friendly and chatty, even tried to get us a late night dominoes ordered, unfortunately they were shut but instead made us a lovely platter of sandwiches that were not on the menu. For me this kind of service really makes a hotel

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank 27steve118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
3.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,860 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
6.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
6.4 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £54 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing