We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Ruined by Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hotel Ruined by Staff”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business. The location is good and the rooms are adequately equipped and are clean. My stay was ruined by the rude and surly attitude of some staff, one in particular. I went out for a meal with an important client for the evening then we returned to the hotel for a night cap.The bar staff were rude, unhelpful and clearly did not want us there. This was excruciatingly embarrassing for me and my client.
The following morning I endured a poor breakfast on cold plates during which I was consistently ignored by a waitress doing her best not to serve coffee to customers.
I will not be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Timbo186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    280
    125
    57
    40
See reviews for
141
321
11
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed in room 9 and would highly recommend it. The room was huge, as was the bed. There was a walk in shower and roll top bath tub. My room was extremely clean and decorated beautifully. It contained all the amenities I might need.

My only complaint is it took a while to get checked in. There was only one lady at the desk who was dealing with a customer who had a problem...which meant myself and my colleague were left standing about for a while before she finally called for assistance.

We ate in the brasserie and I had the soup to start and the burger for main. Highly recommend both and ate every bite! Again, just one criticism: the restaurant wasnt busy (only around two tables in addition to ours) but staff seemed to struggle to remember who ordered what. E.g. When there were just two tables left occupied in the restaurant, they brought a tray of drinks over to our table asking who had ordered what....we hadn't ordered anything though and they pottered off to the other table to ask if they were theirs (which they were). Personally I think this is poor form in such an empty restaurant and staff should be able to remember who they should be serving.

Overall though, fantastic hotel. Would love to bring my boyfriend here on a romantic break

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Shendish is a a fantastic setting set in its own mature gardens. I took the whole family out for afternoon and we all had a lovely time.The staff were really attentive and the afternoon tea was really yummy. The only downside was the additional pounds added with home made scones with fresh cream.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andymhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Came for afternoon tea with a small group of friends and was very impressed.

The selection of food was vast and there was plenty of it. It was all very fresh and the homemade scones were delicious.

Service was also very good
and not to invasive but were
there if you needed anything.

It was good value for money and I will definitely be back.!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I had our wedding on Saturday and cannot find a single fault. We had the most perfect day, in a perfect setting which was made even better by how hard the staff work to make sure everything runs like clockwork and they genuinely are the most caring and hard working people I have come across. The venue itself is stunning, clean and the food is of the highest quality. Would strongly recommend this venue and would rate it 10/10. Truly outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishette28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I got married at Shendish last sunday and I couldn't hope for a better place than Shendish Manor Hotel.
To be honest i had a specific idea how my big day should be and Laura (event coordinator) was absolutely brilliant and very professionnal. The team on the day were very friendly and helpful. When I need a little help without 5 min someone came.
None of our guests could actually complains about something. the food was excellent ( thanks to the chef) and the staff were very nice and smiley. a special Thanks to Petronela who runs our day so nicely and it really make a big difference to me.

I would definitely recommend this place to do any kind of events as they are easy to deal with, very accomodate and the place is stunning. We had our ceremony in the garden and dinner in the Orangery restaurant. Sadly I can't get married again )hopefully) but considering birthday party or other family events...). I need to mention that I live abroad so I had to organise my wedding from abroad which can be quiet tricky but Shendish Manor did help me a lot and the planning was easy in the end.

No need to mention the bridal suite is lovely and very quiet hotel in general.

Room Tip: manor rooms are very nice and in the new wing as well but make sure in the new wing that you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonyme37_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business in the more modern part of the hotel room 37. It is set in lovely grounds with what I am told is a very good golf course.

I would sum it up by saying the room was very quiet but disappointing. It looked very tired and the bed was just okay rather than good. The bathroom was fine but it could do with investment.

The public areas are nice. The dinner I had was good but the portions were not the most generous. The drinks are pricey as you would probably expect.

The breakfast I would describe as just okay and again a bit disappointing.

The service I thought was poor. When ordering drinks with meals it felt like it took forever.

What was the most disappointing was the service I received when I told the hotel at 7am that there was no hot water. The reaction was oh. Hmm. The maintence nan will be in shortly - about 40 minutes. It turned out the boiler stopped for my side of the hotel. They didn't really come across as being very sorry that I had to have a freezing cold shower!

This hotel could be fantastic. It is just a shame that the service is not what it could be and it is a little tired.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
722 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
621 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Property: Shendish Manor Hotel
Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing