We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ground and room was good but annoyed over the fact stolen money !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 2 nights about 2 weeks ago now and the experiance of the manor and grounds was gorgeous, the rooms was very spacious...BUT when i checked in i was told i was to have £50 extra taken off my bank card for room service etc which we wasnt given an option of having to not pay it and we wasnt told this prior to booking which is wrong....it was a good job i had the money in the bank or we wouldnt of been able to stay. anyway upon checking we had ordered room service the night before and we was charged £4 extra for this which wasnt even stated in the information book that is in the room... anyway the bill came to £39 and i was told the other £11 would go into my bank in 7 working days which it hasnt and i phoned them up and they are refusing to give me the money back which i think is disgusting and bad business in my opinion!! ano it isnt much but it is a joke and besides the point.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ross E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
There are newer reviews for Shendish Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

This beautiful property could be amazing, but just fails to deliver the promise shown on arrival. I stayed in the old house, which, on a late September day was boiling hot, despite the heating being turned off. To be fair I was desperate for anywhere to stay near Watford after being let down elsewhere - the receptionist was excellent and gave me two rooms at a really good rate. On checkout when we complained about how hot the rooms were we were given a further discount. The rooms were large and very comfortable, despite having to sleep with the fan on and the windows open. Breakfast was good apart from the congealed fried eggs. The Night Manager was a gem, a happy, helpful guy, but all the staff were friendly, chatty and efficient. I would recommend it and would stay there again, but it is sad that such a beautiful property fails to live up to the promise of its setting and it seems that its beauty may be cosmetic for the benefit of stunning wedding photos.

Room Tip: despite lovely rooms, apparently the heat in the old house is a recurring problem, so maybe best to...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Held a Conference for 30 plus people at Shendish and everything went well, excellent food, accomodation good, and alll ran smoothly, People stayed up late in the bar and this was not a problem, will use this venue again for our conferences.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The approach to the hotel was lovely, a long, if rather badly kept, drive with a stylish country house at the end of it. Plenty of parking space. It had the makings of a delightful hotel with excellent function rooms (at which we enjoyed a well organised and catered event later that evening) but it soon become clear that economies were made everywhere else on everything.

The room, in the new wing, was small with a bed to match, mean, small and hard, on which we spent a sleepless night. The furniture was cheap and tacky. In the tiny bathroom there were no facecloths, a tiny sliver of soap and a loo roll holder set at shoulder height from which you knocked the loo roll off every time you sat down, while the spare roll holder was positioned to it got splashed every time one used the basin. The room felt grubby as did the corridors which were sort of half cleaned (clearly economies having been made on the vacuum cleaner).

A walk round the superficially lovely garden with beautifully kept lawns revealed a collapsing pergola, overgrown paths and a shrubbery with rampant bracken and brambles. Again do the cheap thing, mow, but avoid the cost of a proper gardener.

But the real problem was with the management and training of the staff who were enthusiastic and well meaning but clearly had no procedures to work to. Just two examples - afternoon tea at £14.95 a head would have been delightful if it hadn't been served without plates, knives for the cream tea, jam for the cream tea, cake forks for the cakes and napkins to wipe our fingers. When we pointed this out, the waitress looked really bewildered and then brought two plates, one knife and no napkins. The following morning having fought our way past a man shampooing the carpets at 8 am we found ourselves in a small dining room where there was an appetising help-yourself selection of raw bacon, cold eggs, sausages cooked on one side only, overcooked black pudding and a cheap toasting machine where you put in the bread and a few minutes later out came “toast” that was burnt on the outside and raw in the middle. Meanwhile the waitress stood there, hands behind her back at attention, but with eyes glazed over, not engaging with the guests in any way. Eventually I interrupted her reverie - “Excuse me but could I have some coffee and tea” - after patiently waiting a few minutes. Needless to say when it eventually did arrive it was bitter and tepid. The cramped communal table was not cleared in the time we were there. Again badly managed and untrained staff.

The hotel was equipped and managed to minimise cost. No attention to detail. No real guest care.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonathanHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Room 4 - very spacious. Room was clean & toys and the bed itself was comfy (although the standard twin beds held together). Only booked last minute - for business so made no use if any other facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danooo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Overnight stay on business. Expected large country house hotel. Didn't expect 70 rooms with modern wing. No complaints at all. Second floor room in modern wing Good size, liked the decor, imaculate presentation, very comfortable bed and modern, pristine bathroom. Great shower.

Friendly team throughout.

The big surprise for me was the excellent quality food and high standard of service in the restaurant. Usual, buffet style breakfast format but decent quality again.

A very good quality hotel in a parkland, estate setting offering excellent food and service at very competitive rates. A sensibly priced alternative to the large, budget chain hotels.

Very happy to stay at Shendish Manor again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I am writing to thank you all for the dedication and commitment to our wedding that was held with yourselves on Friday 20th September.


Please could you pass on our thanks to everyone involved on the day as the whole event ran extremely smoothly from start to finish.


The day was structured and organised extremely well with real direction and we have nothing but praise for all involved.


The meal was excellent and I would be grateful if you could pass this to the kitchen staff who must have worked very hard to deliver such a high standard of food,


We were made to feel very welcome and all staff were extremely helpful to ensure that everything ran smoothly.


Kind Regards


Steve & Debbie Aldrich

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveozzy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
1.5 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
746 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#4 of 10 in St Albans
2,259 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,780 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £54 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing