We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shendish Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Tralee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

A friend & I stayed in this hotel for two nights recently for another friend's wedding. Beautiful grounds & very nice hotel. We shared a twin room in the old part of the hotel, the bed was very comfortable with crisp white linen, nice big bathroom with plenty of clean towels. Even though our room was a little on the small side, it was very nice. Breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice. The only drawback we found was the young girl on reception when we checked in. She spoke so quickly that we couldn't understand her. We politely asked her to repeat herself but we still didn't understand her.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    267
    110
    47
    34
See reviews for
131
302
11
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Very friendly staff on reception upon check in. The reception area had a warm cosy feel to it. The bedrooms were large and very nicely decorated and clean (we were in the newer end).  Liked the lit up door numbers, and the decor. it felt really modern but at the same time in keeping with the building.
 
There were 7 of us attending a party night in the mansion house end. I liked the layout of the party, with the DJ in the lobby area next to the bar and then seperate function rooms for the dinner.
 
The staff on the bar and serving the meal were really friendly and we were very well looked after.
The food was lovely and well presented.
 
The venue and grounds itself are beautiful.
 
We look forward to returning sometime x

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel for my husbands reunion. Our room was fantastic, very spacious and the bed very comfortable.

The service was very good and food was well delivered. Staff very helpful.

Breakfast was buffet style with plenty to choose from.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank janlangton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Having had such a great time in 2012 for a family get-together, including a renewal of vows for our 30th wedding anniversary, I booked Shendish for our RAF reunion where 106 of us met up to reminisce and party. The attention to detail was superb, both in the run up to the event and on the day. All the staff greeted us with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. Plenty of room to sit and relax in the reception area and the bar. The Apsley Suite was perfect with its own bar so no-one had to leave the party! The food choices were also superb and it was served hot and efficiently - no mean feat given the numbers involved. Rooms were furnished up to date, clean and tidy as you would expect, and check in/out also was no problem. We'll be coming back for our next reunion in 2016.

Room Tip: For that special occasion ask for rooms in the Manor - good choice of large doubles/four-poster, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vaughand106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shendishmanager, Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Vaughand,

Thank you for your kind review, I'm so pleased you decided to host your RAF reunion with us following on from your successful renewal of vows celebration in 2012.

I thoroughly enjoyed speaking to a number of your party throughout their stay & to hear what a wonderful time was had by all. I have passed on your kind comments to all of my team.

We look forward to welcoming you all back for your next reunion.

Heather Caslake
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My partner and I had a wonderful stay here on Sunday 3rd November 2013. I arrived at the hotel at around 1.00 pm without a reservation and asked to book a room, I was greeted by a wonderful receptionist (who's name I sadly can't remember) and booked in. The receptionist was absolutely incredible and put us in room 14, she coyly remarked it was a nice room, however, I did not expect just how glorious it would be considering we had paid a very modest £58 for the room! I was thoroughly surprised as my partner and I have stayed at Shendish manor several times and have always enjoyed our stay, but this really was special. The room was in the old part of the manor, up in the eaves, absolutely beautiful and huge. The receptionist really made our stay far lovelier than already anticipated.

We have stayed in several rooms here and I absolutely love how each one has been individually designed and considered in a contemporary style whilst retaining an old-fashioned charm.

Not only are the staff efficient and attentive, the rooms beautiful but also the food is by far and large very good here too- Shendish Manor really is a jewel- we often stay around the Hertfordshire area and Shendish Manor is by far our favourite place to stay, it feels like you're a million miles away from civilisation whilst being perfectly placed for the m25/ m1. I will, as always, recommend the hotel to anyone who I know that is visiting locally.

We have also stayed more recently and would like to thank Nicole who always makes sure we have a wonderful evening.

Room Tip: Choose the old part of the hotel, the rooms are far lovelier and more individually styled
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EScales25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Attended the Shendish Manor Hotel for a black tie new year's eve event. Their is not much to say except that the organisation, the table layouts with trinkets, streamers, crackers etc., was very good. It is always somewhat of a gamble when attending events of this nature but have to say that , apart from a couple of minor niggles, the evening went off extremely well with excellent service and well cooked and presented food.
Now for the niggles, which shouldn't be taken out of context with the evening as a whole.
1. If its advertised as a black tie event it should be a black tie event! Not lounge suits, open neck shirts, and in one case jeans.
2. The soul/jazz singer accompanying the dinner was excellent but why must the volume be so loud as to make it difficult to talk over the dinner table.
3. The sea bream was, according to my wife, excellent - but why a paucity of vegetables. This was not so with the lamb dish.
If it weren't for these issues the score would have been a full 5

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozymandias69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed in the four poster room with my fiancé in December as part of a weekend break to go to Harry Potter, for which the hotel is ideally located only a short drive away. Check in was quick and the staff polite, friendly and helpful. We couldn't believe how huge the room was when we saw it, it would be perfect for a bride getting ready on her wedding day! Large sized desk, ideal as my partner had to work on his laptop for a couple of hours, tea and coffee making facilities, a table and chairs, large TV with a good selection of channels, huge four poster bed and an ample sized bathroom with a shower and separate stand alone bath with complimentary toiletries, all of which made our stay very comfortable. The rooms have a contemporary comfort but a traditional feel which was ideal for us. We had a very comfortable, quiet and peaceful nights sleep. There was a busy Christmas party going on in the hotel as we stayed on a Saturday night but the restaurant was kept quiet, despite being full, and we couldn't hear any disruption from our room. We ate in the restaurant for both our evening meal that we selected from the a la carte menu and for breakfast. There was such a wide range of food to choose from for both meals and it was cooked to a high standard- we couldn't fault it and the vast wine list served as a great accompaniment to our meal. The service was second to none, especially from Beth who kept our glasses topped up and ensured our every need was catered to. Check out the next day was smooth, quick and simple. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would absolutely recommend this hotel. Thank you Shendish for a great stay!

Room Tip: Stay in a four poster room- they're HUGE and well worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
3.1 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Property: Shendish Manor Hotel
Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing