We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here last night, an impressive hall and golf club set in its own grounds just a few miles away from the town centre. Great reception, have to say all the staff throughout my stay we're warm and friendly, well done, that counts for a lot.
My room was a good size, clean and tidy with the usual standards you'd expect from a hotel like this. Only one comment about the bathroom and I have to say it felt like the toilet had Benin put in as an afterthought, anyone large would find it a challenge to use as there is literally no room to its front or side!
Breakfast was good with a nice selection of items, some fresh fruit would have been appreciated but it wasn't the end of the world. I also dined there and the food was fine with a good varied selection. Overall a nice hotel and would return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toyotaverso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shendishmanager, General Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for posting this review. I’m pleased to hear you had an overall impressive stay with us and all staff members you encountered were warm and friendly - we aim to deliver 5* service day in, day out.
We do offer a selection of fresh fruit for breakfast so I’ll have to check with my Breakfast Supervisor why it wasn’t available on this occasion as this is offered daily. Thank you for letting me know.

We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

James Barker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the manor for one night in January as we were going to Harry Potter world the next morning & I have to say it was lovely! Didn't expect as good quality of room as we got! Spacious and beautifully decorated! Amazing surroundings too!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank orangutans91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shendishmanager, General Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you Jenny, I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your time spent with us. I hope you will use Shendish Manor in the future should you return to this area.

Kind regards

James Barker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

A lovely Hotel only 10 mins from Hemel Hempstead centre.

Driving up to the Hotel via a long winding road was very impressive as the Hotel comes into view.

Staff are very friendly, helpful, genuine and Normal. service with a big smile.

Rooms are very clean with everything you will need in there including tea, coffee making facilities and free biscuits, wifi too.

A little gripe is the room could have been pre warmed but it was soon hot with the air con on.

I will come here again as I found it just perfect and very relaxing being in thie countryside after a long day at the office.

Its mainly business people here but there were a few families at Breakfast.

You will love this place, go try it out, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Mobile phone coverage is not good, especially on EE, orange Tmobile but there is good free wifi in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidcamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shendishmanager, General Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear David

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us with 5/5 and for recommending others to come try us out.

I’m delighted to have read its contents and you got what everyone wants; service with a big smile! We have a very friendly team here and I hope you will continue to return to Shendish Manor in the future, you won’t be disappointed.

Kind regards

James Barker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A beautiful haven hidden away near Hemel Hempstead. Fabulous room and very peaceful. Enjoyed good quality food + wine in the hotel's restaurant and breakfast served in bed the next morning.
The staff were so welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely book again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 588linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shendishmanager, General Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Reviewer

I’m so glad to hear your positive feedback and that you’ll be booking with us again. I’m sure your second stay will be just as good, if not better than the first.

See you again soon.

James Barker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A friend & I stayed in this hotel for two nights recently for another friend's wedding. Beautiful grounds & very nice hotel. We shared a twin room in the old part of the hotel, the bed was very comfortable with crisp white linen, nice big bathroom with plenty of clean towels. Even though our room was a little on the small side, it was very nice. Breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice. The only drawback we found was the young girl on reception when we checked in. She spoke so quickly that we couldn't understand her. We politely asked her to repeat herself but we still didn't understand her.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Very friendly staff on reception upon check in. The reception area had a warm cosy feel to it. The bedrooms were large and very nicely decorated and clean (we were in the newer end).  Liked the lit up door numbers, and the decor. it felt really modern but at the same time in keeping with the building.
 
There were 7 of us attending a party night in the mansion house end. I liked the layout of the party, with the DJ in the lobby area next to the bar and then seperate function rooms for the dinner.
 
The staff on the bar and serving the meal were really friendly and we were very well looked after.
The food was lovely and well presented.
 
The venue and grounds itself are beautiful.
 
We look forward to returning sometime x

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Visited this hotel for my husbands reunion. Our room was fantastic, very spacious and the bed very comfortable.

The service was very good and food was well delivered. Staff very helpful.

Breakfast was buffet style with plenty to choose from.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank janlangton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
3.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,835 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,336 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
6.4 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: £55 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing