We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent meal - excellent value.”
Review of chutneys - CLOSED

chutneys
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent meal - excellent value.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

several indians in the area do a buffet deal for ten pounds - starter/main/veg side/rice and naan. good value for the money, and the food was good quality

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    4
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, good food, 4 star food hygiene rating too.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Went out for a meal for my birthday and decided on this restaurant. Food was nice, extremely good value on the £9.99 banquet. You get a starter, main, side, rice, naan and coffee. The curry was good but none of us finished our meal, it was just too much. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Forgot to give us napkins so we had to ask. But were apologetic and polite when we did ask. All in all, very good meal out for the price paid.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay2178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So much food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Banquet night is awesome £9.99 and you get a banquet!
Lovely food, great Indian restaurant in Hemel Town

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamjam8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best in hemel”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have eaten at many curry houses in hemel, Chutneys in my opion is up there with the Best, exellent service and great food and exellent value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank graham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Avoid...”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stopped by for dinner at this place... started ordering the drinks and the food - and the food was truly terrible... I had heard that you get bad Indian food in UK, but this is the very worst... the food was dripping with oil, mish mash preparations, and tasted truly horrible... when we decided we did not want to have any more and decided to walk out .. the server told us that we cannot leave without the main course - ARE YOU KIDDING! we told him we hated the food and could not bear to have more... and he still kept insisting... we said that we will not have the main course and walked out anyway... ideally we should not have paid for the sordid food, Also - this is Bangladeshi not Indian - and this is not the way Indian food is supposed to be prepared and had... My advice - stay away... give this place a wide berth!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amit_Sengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed chutneys also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing