We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Wedding Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manor Of Groves Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in High Wych
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We planned our wedding to be small and intimate just the two of us and 16 close family members. We found Manor of Groves on the web and booked it for our wedding, hoping the when we got the chance to visit, (we don't live locally) it matched the pictures. It did. Although a few areas were in need of a lick of paint, that's to be expected in a period building.

We booked 8 rooms and although we only saw inside ours and 2 others everyone was happy with the size, facilities and cleanliness.

Staff bent over backwards to make sure everything went to plan for us even though there were two other much larger wedding taking place on the same day.

We stayed on the Friday night before our wedding eating in the hotel, the food was beautifully presented and very good, we both said we hoped the wedding breakfast would be just a good and it really was.

A big thank you to all the events team and hotel staff who made our say and 'big' day so very special.

Room Tip: Check with hotel as when some function rooms are rearranged at the end of the night staff cannot he...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dncns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
There are newer reviews for Manor Of Groves Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Attended a wedding here that went well for the happy couple. Lovely photo's were taken in the gazebo and grounds. We booked into the hotel for the night thinking we would be in for a good treat. I have to say it was very disappointing. The hotel clearly needs major renovation and decoration. The room was large and the furniture was fine however due to a not very nice smell and the windows having to be opened it was evident they were rotting needed painting and not in good repair. There was also a balcony running along the building on the outside thankfully in the morning I was fully dressed when standing in front of the window looking out when a man with a suitcase walked by! To get there I would have had to have climbed out of the window. The shower was a nightmare it could be either hot hot hot or cold cold cold not a pleasant experience. The bathroom also needed decorating and the toilet under the rim was vile this is easily noticeable to anyone cleaning it. There was also no toilet brush.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMH380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My new wife and I held our wedding at this wonderful venue at the weekend (31st August), and really wanted to praise all the staff who helped our day go so wonderfully. The service, from original booking, through the planning phase, and on the day was very professional, friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble. The wedding coordinators (Mary, Laura, Vicki) were always happy to answer all our questions and clarify all our queries (large or small), and the handover to the banqueting staff, led by the excellent Callan who looked after us on the day, apparently seamless. Any small problems were quickly rectified and we felt the venue really took their job seriously, taking pride in delivering a great day for us. I think it reflects very well, that where there were some minor issues (you can't account for everything and some things are outside of our control) that they responded well, calmly and looked to rectify the situation as quickly as possible, ensuring there was no/minimal impact to the event.
The food was of a very high quality, and I was extremely impressed by the way they got the food out for so many people in a short amount of time, my compliments to the chef and the whole kitchen team. We had many compliments from our guests.
Other highlights/points which you may want to consider when booking here:
Beautiful setting, with opportunity (weather permitting) to have ceremony outside in gazebo. Lots of space for guests to relax in, exclusive to the wedding (ie Separate from other hotel guests, and although the hotel may have two weddings on as it did on our day, we didn't cross at all with the other, so the venue still felt special/exclusive to us, as I hope it did for the other party). As with all the food, breakfast is of a good standard, and the opportunity to have private breakfast for us and our guests who also stayed was a nice touch. The rooms are very clean and spacious, and although the decor may not be to everyone's taste, I think that's a subjective view, and they are generally well fitted. Pricewise, i think when you consider what other places charge, Manor of Groves are relatively reasonably placed (lets be honest, weddings in any of these types of venues aren't cheap), and having looked around at numerous other places I think for what they provide and their level of service they seem to compare very favourably. I would recommend this venue to others, especially if you're looking for a professional, welcoming, and friendly service, set in wonderful grounds. Thank you to all at Manor Of Groves who made our day so amazing, and hope to be back for a visit in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skeeterskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here on a special dinner package. The three course meal was very nice with good service. A breakfast buffet was also included in the price which again was very nice, but they do start clearing away early so be warned! The room was large and comfortable. The grounds and hotel itself were very nice. There was also a spa attached to the hotel which was included in the price, which again was very nice with sauna, steam room, swimming pool and jacuzzi. Very nice for a one night break and would go again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliecat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip from work for three days, the hotel was lovely and my room in the new side of the building was huge, the massive bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was clean and spacious. A colleague had a room in the old side and said his room was also huge and high quality although I am aware a few others said their rooms in the old side were not a hight standard. The wifi is excellent as are the pool and facilities. The main restaurant does a wonderful three course meal offer for £25.90 and the good was excellent. the bar food is cheaper but just as high quality (huge burgers and portions). All the staff are friendly and helpful. I would have liked toothpaste to be provided in the bathroom but only because I forgot mine! All in all an excellent stay and I'd like to visit again when I'm not working.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkib1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Disappointing 2 night stay. My daughter and I went for peaceful spa weekend. Rooms in old building very dated, ceiling leaked after heavy downpour, windows rotten. Restaurant is poorly located in centre of building without views or natural daylight to beautiful grounds. Treatment room we had is located beneath a function room and furniture movement and music very audible - not ideal while having a massage. Staff generally seem very young and inexperienced with no apparent supervision, particularly in restaurant, seemed a bit slap dash. Food and pool nice. Probably ok for noisy functions and golf breaks, .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollypops123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We returned to Manor of Groves after staying in June and it didnt disappoint again, lovely big room with comfy bed, tea and coffee facilities and mini toilettries, staff very friendly especially Lucy and the young girl on reception, food once again excellent and breakfast fresh with wide variety, very clean! Thanks again see you soon x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisarutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Hi Lisa, Thanks for your kind review, good to hear that we get things right time and again, and Im sure if you come back to visit us again in the future, the standards will be as high as always.

Kind Regards,
Dean Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Wych
4.0 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,680 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
295 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
2.3 mi away
Green Man Hotel
Green Man Hotel
#4 of 8 in Harlow
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Of Groves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Of Groves Hotel

Address: High Wych, High Wych CM21 0JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > High Wych
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in High Wych
Price Range: £56 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Of Groves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Manor Of Groves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Manor Of Groves
Manor Groves
Manor Of Groves High Wych
Manor Of Groves Hotel High Wych, Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing