We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manor Of Groves Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in High Wych
Banbury
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The drive in raises expectations which the hotel cannot match and falls well short of the basics. There is a bar area which is a just a an extension of the reception desk, very odd. As we were meeting others we ordered some drinks only to find that any draught lager or cider was at room temperature and not chilled. The Barman looked baffled and didn't even attempt to resolve the problem. We had lunch which wasn't too bad but were left completely on our own and cleared up the plates etc..ourselves. We didn't see a member of staff for about 3 hours, no word of a lie. Later on, just before our evening meal I enquired whether the draught lager situation had been resolved and was assured it was sorted only to be served the same dishwater as before. The rooms are very basic, tired, not well maintained and average at best. The doors of each room looked like they had been kicked, gouged, marked by trollies, bashed,banged and the whole place looks like a 2 star hotel dropped into lovely surroundings. Save your money and go elsewhere, almost every aspect of the hotel is wrong, there are no redeeming features and it is very badly designed and laid out. Avoid!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. At 9am on Sunday morning there was music blasting out from above the 1st floor bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
I pride my team on their customer service, so find it very difficult to understand being left alone for 3 hours in our Restaurant. But moving onto the beer situation, we did have an issue with our chiller where we were unable to serve draught beer on the day in question.

When this happens, the equipment is the property of the brewery, so you hope that they come the next day to repair. This didn't happen, and we didn't have draught beer until Monday morning when it was restored. I don't believe we are worth a one star review based on having no draught beer.

Dean Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    176
    113
    67
    42
See reviews for
97
202
12
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hired this hotel for my wedding reception and I can honestly say that it's an amazing place. Close to London yet so different (in a good way). The grounds are big - excellent for golfers. My hotel room was nicely decorated and had a good shower. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was good too (Traditional English). Staff were friendly and overall the venue looked great in the pictures!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sachin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi Sachin

We're so pleased everything went to plan for your Wedding Reception with us. I hope you and your wife can come back and visit us on your Wedding Anniversary!

Kind regards
Dean Thompson
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just spent a golf weekend at the Manor of groves and overall it was great. The golf course is a course of contrast with a number of short tight holes and the remainder more open with a number of double ditches. All in preety good condition although the greens were very slow. This could be forgiven though due to the extremely wet conditions lately. The Staff were all very polite and catered to most requests instantly. The food was excellent comparied to other hotels offering similar packages and the portions generous. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The adjacent health centre was also very good with a lovely pool. My only complaint was that the only bar that was open was stuck on the side of the reception. This is a bit of a shame as there was a seperate bar with a nice conservatory looking over the gardens which was not open on the friday and used for a private function on the saturday. The staff were also relucant to go and change the Guiness barrel when it ran out late on saturday night! However overall a good weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterball-49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you found the course a challenge! We are very proud of the results Damien Bowe, my Head Greenkeeper and his team have on the Golf Course and in particular with the challenging weather we had.
We like to offer value for money to our customers and am glad you think you achieved this. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again for another weekend break in the near future.

Kind regards
Dean Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed just one night whilst attending a charity dinner and dance. The food served was extremely good for mass catering, hot and tasty. The hotel looks beautiful as you approach and is in a lovely setting. The staff were helpful and friendly and overall the experience was good, and not bad value for money. It could be stunning IF the rooms had a facelift. Although clean and warm, the bathrooms especially are very dated, and our shower fell apart in our hands !! Just needs a bit of TLC.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hello Jack, thank you for your review! Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We run large functions on a regular basis and although a challenge we seem to be able to make a success of mass catering! My chef Lee Murton is very proud of the food we send out to our customers for these events.
I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future?
Regards
Dean Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I attended a function there recently and was impressed by the Functions Room and adjacent Ballroom, large, light and very airy.

We did not stay in the hotel but admired the beautiful golf course from the Functions Room.

The staff who served lunch were professional and courteous however were let down by the lack of management and foresight.

We ordered red wine prior to the meal and it was delived to our table 'stone cold'. We sent it back as did a few other lunchers.

I had lamb but there was no mint sauce on the tables or mustard. When requested it took 10 minutes to arrive. The meal was good but was spoilt but these basic errors in lack of service not to be expected at such an establishment.

There did not appear to be anyone in charge of the waiters and this was not acceptable considering the price paid for the meal.

That being said we enjoyed our day so management - correct these basic ommisions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robocop646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Its always good to learn from our customers how we have performed. This was an oversight on the day to not put out the mint sauce and we can only apologise for this. Your feedback was shared with the team to make sure small things like this do not get missed. We run about 140 events a year, and this hasn't happened before. I can only apologise this happened on the event you attended.

I hope we can welcome you back to Manor of Groves in the near future.

Regards
Dean Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Fantastic hotel!

Good points:
- Lovely rooms, nice big TVs with all freeview channels, lovely bathroom with big bath, very clean and comfortable.
- Relaxing spa
- Food is fantastic but pricey (breakfast is great)
- Lovely golf course
- Amazing oriental restaurant- 5mins drive- Straw Hat oriental restaurant- worth paying the extra money for lovely food and top service.
- Free wifi

Bad points:
- Two single beds pushed together to make a double.
- Spa is not as clean as it might be.
- Kids swimming lessons in the pool until 5:30.
- Location is a bit far away, surrounding restaurants are pricey.
- No phone signal.

Overall I had a lovely stay and really enjoyed it. However, we had a fiasco with the smoke alarms going off in the entire building all night- every half an hour until 3am (everytime you managed to get back to sleep)- it was disappointing that somebody didn't resolve the issue and perhaps offer something for the sleepless night. Myself and colleagues were extremely tired the next day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank food h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We got married at the Manor if Groves 20 years ago and thought we would visit for our anniversary. It prompted many memories, certainly some more than I care as not a lit has changed. The room seemed a bit tired with faded pictures on the wall and windows that wouldn't stay open. The main reception sticks out from the original hotel with little thought for architecture. Looking at the main conference room, it was a shame it has been screened and seemed to be very non descript. A shame, as it used to have a real country house feel to it. The staff were very helpful though and should be applauded for their professionalism.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomo475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Wych
6.8 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.0 mi away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
19.7 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Harlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Of Groves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Of Groves Hotel

Property: Manor Of Groves Hotel
Address: High Wych, High Wych CM21 0JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > High Wych
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in High Wych
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Of Groves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manor Of Groves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Manor Of Groves
Manor Groves
Manor Of Groves High Wych
Manor Of Groves Hotel High Wych, Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing