We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manor Of Groves Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in High Wych
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I booked a surprise break for my boyfriends 30th birthday & it was amazing from beginning to end. After reading some of reviews about the hotel I was a little apprehensive but there was no need.
Everything was perfect from the moment we walked through the door...the staff were all very friendly & accommodating & gave the impression, that nothing was too much to make our stay more enjoyable. The breakfast was yummy & plentiful, & we highly recommend eating dinner in the restaurant, the food did take awhile to arrive but was very much worth the wait as it tasted delicious. The health club was thoroughly enjoyable & relaxing, after reading other reviews about there being too many children & being over crowded, we didn't experience any of this, it was quite & a very lovely place for my boyfriend & I to relax in after a hectic day. The hotel was clean, the staff were very friendly, the food was delicious, the double bed was two single beds pushed together but this didn't bother us at all...hardly noticeable actually, great value for money and all in all we had an amazing weekend & would most defiantly be back.
The one down side we had was that we only stayed for two nights & wished we'd booked a longer break. Great weekend away, highly recommended.

Room Tip: I listened to other reviewers & requested a room in the newer side of the hotel...we had no comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelmouse30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

What a great review!

Thank you! I have made sure I have passed this to all the team to read as it is a great motivation for them to know every effort they do is appreciated.

Our Head Chef, Lee Murton, is very proud of the food we serve, and everything is cooked from raw when the order is received in the kitchen. We never pre-cook anything or cook out of bags or pre-packaged meals. So the waiting time can be a little longer, but I think you'll agree, worth it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards
Dean Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returned from a mini break and can not speak highly enough of the staff at Manor of Groves. Nothing was too much trouble and a fab family get together was made all the more special with the attention from the staff. Ages ranged from 9 to 73 and everyone had a great time.
I am sure we will be back very soon.
Rooms were clean, food was excellent and we made use of the health centre and golf course.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEM444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for such a great review.

I know the team enjoyed the New Year period looking after you and your family. I do hope we can welcome you back in 2014!

Kind Regards
Dean Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were staying at the Manor of Groves for two nights during the week. All in all it was a pleasant stay and it would have been an „excellent“ if there weren't little, tiny issues. I was staying in the old part of the hotel (building on the left), which seems slightly worn out (broken tiles in the bath room, window frames out of shape, etc.). Also, it would have been quite nice having a kettle and tea on the room rather than having to order one via room service. However, room and bath were spotless clean and of a decent size. The food was good and reasonably priced. The best, however, are location and surroundings. Next time I certainly will bring my hiking boots!

Room Tip: If possible get one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your review.

Some of our rooms are at the top of the very old manor house and with no lift it can be a long walk! But the rooms are a very nice size and Im glad you found them spotlessly clean. We are going through a refurbishment programme as always in the old building. We do have a tea & coffee tray in the room which is located in the cupboard. Perhaps we need to look at the signage here to make it more obvious. So my apologies for this.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to Manor of Groves.

Kind Regards
Dean Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed overnight for a wedding. Meal was good. Heating system needs attention. Our radiator wasn't working, but reception promptly sent up a heater.Bathroom was lovely. Sash windows need renovation.Made a point of using Fitness center, which was good. Used swimming pool, jacuzi, steam room, sauna and my husband had massage which great.

Room Tip: Rooms over wedding venue are noisy until late, due to clearing up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnethlmpson53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hi Lynne

Thank you for review, Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Glad that the team reacted quickly to provide you with a heater.

I hope we can welcome you back to us sometime in the future.
Kind Regards
Dean Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We, 6 of us, visited the Manor of Groves for a 'Killing Field' murder mystery dinner and overal were more than happy with the food and level of service during the dinner we received. There were a few niggles that could/should have been sorted out before the event started but once it got underway it all went very well.

The car park and path are dark and with no clear signage, groups of people attending the various events taking place that night were having to walk about to find their location - which was annoying in the cold. The member of staff who pointed us in the right direction in the end, was very pleasant and cheerful. We had to ask for a coat stand to be found, which really, in November, should have already been in place as a matter of course. The bar was heaving with people but only ONE member of staff serving. As the hotel must have know well in advance roughly 100 people were attending the murder mystery dinner that was unacceptable. We gave up and walked away. Jeeps, hotels generally make most money on alcohol sales but only after a while did a second person arrive to try and get everyone served.

The meal itself was fine, actually very good for a large catering event like this. We were crammed into the room so serving for the staff was difficult as they couldn't get around any table! Might not be hotel's fault but talk about make life harder than it need be for the staff. The dishes had been pre-chosen so... service was sleek, the staff managed to serve everyone without interupting the 'goings on' and all food was hot, generous in size and tasty. We all enjoyed our food. Vegetables were all fresh. Presentation was attractive too. The peach brulee very nice to finish on. Coffee was better than you usually get at such events which was nice and a quality chocolate mint given. Nice to have proper linen table cloths and napkins.

All the staff were friendly and pleasant.

We all enjoyed our evening and will probably go back now we know what the hotel is like.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMOG, Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your review, and the detail you go into. Its always helpful to make sure we remove any niggles you might find.

We do have signage in the car park, for all the events that are happening but in the dark this may well have been missed.

I'm glad you enjoyed the evening and the food!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Dean Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The drive in raises expectations which the hotel cannot match and falls well short of the basics. There is a bar area which is a just a an extension of the reception desk, very odd. As we were meeting others we ordered some drinks only to find that any draught lager or cider was at room temperature and not chilled. The Barman looked baffled and didn't even attempt to resolve the problem. We had lunch which wasn't too bad but were left completely on our own and cleared up the plates etc..ourselves. We didn't see a member of staff for about 3 hours, no word of a lie. Later on, just before our evening meal I enquired whether the draught lager situation had been resolved and was assured it was sorted only to be served the same dishwater as before. The rooms are very basic, tired, not well maintained and average at best. The doors of each room looked like they had been kicked, gouged, marked by trollies, bashed,banged and the whole place looks like a 2 star hotel dropped into lovely surroundings. Save your money and go elsewhere, almost every aspect of the hotel is wrong, there are no redeeming features and it is very badly designed and laid out. Avoid!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. At 9am on Sunday morning there was music blasting out from above the 1st floor bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

I pride my team on their customer service, so find it very difficult to understand being left alone for 3 hours in our Restaurant. But moving onto the beer situation, we did have an issue with our chiller where we were unable to serve draught beer on the day in question.

When this happens, the equipment is the property of the brewery, so you hope that they come the next day to repair. This didn't happen, and we didn't have draught beer until Monday morning when it was restored. I don't believe we are worth a one star review based on having no draught beer.

Dean Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hired this hotel for my wedding reception and I can honestly say that it's an amazing place. Close to London yet so different (in a good way). The grounds are big - excellent for golfers. My hotel room was nicely decorated and had a good shower. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was good too (Traditional English). Staff were friendly and overall the venue looked great in the pictures!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sachin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hi Sachin

We're so pleased everything went to plan for your Wedding Reception with us. I hope you and your wife can come back and visit us on your Wedding Anniversary!

Kind regards
Dean Thompson
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Wych
4.0 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,696 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
299 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Harlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Of Groves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Of Groves Hotel

Address: High Wych, High Wych CM21 0JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > High Wych
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in High Wych
Price Range: £56 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Of Groves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Manor Of Groves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Manor Of Groves
Manor Groves
Manor Of Groves High Wych
Manor Of Groves Hotel High Wych, Hertfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing