We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower Bache House”
Review of Lower Bache House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lower Bache House
Ranked #1 of 1 Kimbolton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to Lower Bache House and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

The setting is idyllic with sweeping views of open fields and the air is full of birdsong. There are unspoilt country walks and, especially for those who enjoy wildlife and historic gardens, many attractions within half an hour’s drive or less. It is the ideal place to relax.

The accommodation is clean, comfortable and quiet but the two most notable aspects of a stay at Lower Bache House for us are the wonderful hospitality of the hosts and the quality of the meals, which is absolutely superb. We stayed for a week and during that time we did not have a meal we did not enjoy. The menu was varied and original with clever use of herbs, whilst the ingredients are locally-sourced and, as far as possible, organically produced. The food is both healthy and delicious.

We would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

We have been visiting Lower Bache House at least once a year since we discovered it some eight years ago. We meet fellow guests who have been doing the same - drawn back for the same reasons.It's difficult to describe the experience accurately because there is nowhere to compare it with. Our hosts, Leslie and Rose, who are welcoming, kind and good fun, have created most unusual and inviting accommodation in this ancient building tucked away in a beautiful valley. Besides blissfully comfortable beds, visitors each have their own cosy sitting-room with the wherewithal to make tea or coffee, books, magazines and television. Views from the windows are a joy and the peace and quiet, therapeutic.The romantic garden is home to - encouraged - birds and butterflies, there are secluded walkways and ponds with water-lilies.
In the dining-room, the huge stone cider-press still stands in the shadows and adds to the general eccentric charm. When we sit at the candle-lit tables, windows open to the fragrant garden, anticipating the delicious food Leslie and Rose serve up to us, we always feel there's no place we'd rather be. We drag ourselves away when it's time to go home by promising ourselves that we will return soon.

Room Tip: For the arthritic or elderly, it's better to choose the downstairs suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

From the moment you arrive you are warmly welcomed by Leslie and Rose. The rooms have en suite and a small but quaint seating area separate to the bedroom with a lovely view. The food is prepared carefully by the hosts who try to accommodate your needs. In addition to the delicious home cooked evening meal (optional) the breakfasts set you up for the day. Ideally sited to go to either Ludlow or Hereford and surrounding area. A great getaway from the bustle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Not quite sure why, seeing the praise heaped on it by other reviewers, but Lower Bache House still managed to come as a very pleasant surprise. The room turned out to be a suite, with sitting room, bedroom and large bathroom with an outstanding shower.
We received a very warm welcome from the owners, who have done an outstanding job of restoring this beautiful house which enjoys a stunning setting in splendid countryside.
The breakfasts were excellent, my wife being particularly impressed by the kippers, but it was the evening meals which proved to be absolutely top class and are to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This beautiful house and spectacular gardens were the perfect recipe for a long weekend getaway. My husband and I were made most welcome and it seemed as if nothing was too much trouble. The house was like a picture postcard with all sorts of interesting curios. Breakfast was lovely and our hosts talked knowledgeably about the locally sourced produce which was delicious. The rooms were immaculate and the exposed beams, country cottage feel and sense of peace and calm were just wonderful. Cant wait to book in for another trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 227Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

To be fair the Tourist Info Centre in Hereford should have rung the owners to check availability - but when we arrived there was no one home for quite some time and we were on the point of leaving rather regretting we had booked at all as the description far outshone the 'tired' appearance.The owners were not over enthusiastic to see us either....but it is miles from anywhere and too late to find an alternative.
Our room was surprisingly clean (the house was not) but squeezing down the side of the bed was a pain...how Visit Britain could rate this 4 stars was beyond me and as for the other awards...this was the worst B&B in our travels!
I skipped breakfast......my husband commented it was ok but not great
No internet access ...another pain......
...and at the price of 80 stg per night poor value
I would give Lower Bache a miss if I were you....quite honestly I nearly walked without staying!
Thank you Hereford Tourism Info for your lack of knowledge and Visit Britain for your inconsistency!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
58  Thank Heritage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leslie_wiles, Owner at Lower Bache House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

The reviewers acknowledge that the reason we were not there to greet them was because we did not know they were coming. Our attempts at a warm and friendly welcome failed to penetrate the resentful barrier they had erected. Their underwhelming comments [and puzzling self denial of breakfast] do not reflect the reality of Lower Bache House, which is better demonstrated by our other unsolicited reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Lower Bache House is in the most stunning setting. Far from the beaten track and surrounded by beautiful gardens and lovely views. The room was sympathetically decorated and furnished in keeping with the 16th century building. I liked the separate sitting room and brass taps on the roomy bath in the beamed bathroom. Rose and Leslie Wiles are excellent cooks and breakfast and dinner were excellent, as good as you could expect in a top class restaurant. fantastic location for walking or cycling

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scarysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimbolton
3.3 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
329 reviews
1.5 mi away
Farm Breakfasts B&B
Farm Breakfasts B&B
#3 of 3 in Aymestrey
7 reviews
0 mi away
Grove Farm
Grove Farm
#1 of 1 in Kimbolton
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Bache House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Bache House

Address: nr Leominster, Kimbolton, Leominster HR6 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster > Kimbolton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kimbolton
Price Range: £73 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lower Bache House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Lower Bache House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing