We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loads of character, but a few rough edges”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lower Bache House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lower Bache House
Ranked #1 of 1 Kimbolton B&B and Inns
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loads of character, but a few rough edges”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I booked this just three days before visiting and was pleased to receive a phone call to confirm our requirements, and some information in the post. Lower Bache House is down a narrow lane with few passing places, but is only about three miles from Leominster. There are a few other buildings nearby on either side. It overlooks a small valley, and the dining area catches the early morning sun. Our bedroom, accessed via an external stone staircase, was very rustic with exposed beams and low ceiling in parts. As well as an en-suite shower room it had a sitting area next to the main part of the bedroom, but overall was no more than average size. A few of the fittings were not quite right, such as the window stays on which the holes were not aligned with the knobs, and sink taps that were hard to turn off completely. Personally I found the number of ornaments, pictures and potted plants to be excessive.
Breakfast was quite good. They also provide an evening meal on request, which we chose to have on two of the three nights we stayed. You state your dietary preferences and are served a two or three course set meal in line with this. Both times we had it this was excellent - highly recommended if you are happy to eat whatever you are served, rather than choosing from a menu.

Room Tip: Some rooms are accessed via an external entrance up a flight of rough stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    4
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Not the 'nestled in a tranquil valley' retreat I had hoped for. The property is actually nestled amidst several other busy residential properties within very close proximity.
It is a beautiful building, but in much need of a deep clean and more than a little maintenance.
Following on from other comments, the area can easily be found with the use of a Sat Nav. However, it's not clearly signposted as B&B/where to check in, or indeed signposted off the main road as other accommodation in the area is. Upon arrival we eliminated the building site immediately next-door and row and cottages beyond ! and found the way in.
Leominster is indeed a beautiful town. I would stay at Leominster but perhaps not here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leslie_wiles, Owner at Lower Bache House, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We do not recognise Lower Bache House from these comments.
We are signposted from the main road.
We pride ourselves on our exacting standards of cleanliness and décor.
There are just three gates in the lane and Lower Bache is indicated by a prominent house sign.
Beyond our range of outbuildings is a small walled courtyard of six cottages, all occupied by single retired people, four of whom are ladies. Not exactly the most raucous of communities.
My neighbour is retiling a nearby barn. A very temporary minor visual inconvenience that doesn't impinge at all on what is a most peaceful and beautiful tranquil valley with outstanding views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The age of the buildings at Lower Bache gives you low, exposed beams coupled with internal and external steps (to two suites) resulting in a certain quirkiness. For some the quirkiness may be irksome for others interesting. Our suite had a large double bed, small en suite, with masses of constantly hot water, and small sitting area. There were extensive views all around the property.
Yes, a sat nav would be helpful in finding the house which is situated down very narrow lanes.
We found breakfast to be more than adequate and the evening suppers were very enjoyable.
We can also understand some of the earlier comments but enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJSNetwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

There are concerns about this property, first there is no warning in literature that you have very little chance of finding it unless you use a sat nav or similar.secondly, the place is a positive danger with quaint but very low unprotected beams , the owner seemingly having the attitude of it being quite normal to badly injure ones head, quoting he has the scars to prove it

Room Tip: The rooms located on first floor are dangerous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 562Thomasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leslie_wiles, Owner at Lower Bache House, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We are sorry that the gentleman bumped his head on a low doorway, but we did point it out to him on arrival. In 17th. century timber framed farmhouses they are common.
We make a virtue of the fact that we are deep in the peace and quiet of the countryside, and the map I sent him is easy to follow if you need support for satnav.
However, the extremely jolly ladies that he brought with him thoroughly enjoyed themselves and were most fulsome in their praise when they left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

A lovely location set way off the beaten track in the rolling Herefordshire countryside. We had pre-booked this B&B for a one-night stay whilst touring the area, from their website. We were warmly greeted on arrival by Les (mine Host) who showed us to our room in the courtyard annex.
The accommodation was quite spacious with a large bedroom & en-suite, and small sitting room with sofa, tea/coffee making facilities and small TV. All quite nice, but rather tired and in need of a fresh lick of paint and some new curtains. But a comfortable night was had.
Breakfast the following morning was taken in the main building, which was a wonderful old farm-building conversion which was really characterful with oak beams, bare stone walls & flagged floors....with numerous antiques scattered around for effect. The English breakfast was delicious with fresh local produce, but was quite small and rather mean....only one small rasher of bacon and one small sausage, one egg and a small spoon of baked beans accompanied by the ubiquitous grilled half tomato.....very nice and very tasty but not enough to satisfy a man with an appetite.
The general impression of this accommodation was good, but slightly disappointing, and did not match up to expectations of "something special" as was portrayed in the website. In general, the property was quaint and quirky but tired and in need of some maintenance and decorating to freshen things up. The garden too had potential, but was very overgrown and obviously in need of some serious maintenance.
Would we stay again.....probably not, there are better places around.

Room Tip: The courtyard annexe does offer quiet, groundfloor separation from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RangeRover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leslie_wiles, Owner at Lower Bache House, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We are pleased that much of what we offer met with a positive response from this guest, but just maybe our 'quirkiness' is at variance with his taste.
All our suites were redecorated in the spring.
We believe that the quality of the food we offer is more important that its volume, and seven separate items for a full breakfast is reasonable, not withstanding that cereals and toast are there for guests to help themselves to.
We always make a point of asking if everyone is satisfied and we received an affirmative on this occasion.
We manage our gardens for wildlife.Wild flowers grow with the cultivars and are left when seeded to feed the birds in winter. We recognise that we are not as smart as Hampton Court, but they don't have the wealth of butterflies, bees, birds and other animals, some quite rare, that we have.
We do hope that he comes again, a fresh look may make him more appreciative of our aims and efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The location is great, the hosts absolutely charming and the food wonderful. However, the gardens are overgrown and dilapidated, the stained cutlery came out of the Ark, and our room was distinctly tired. It was full of old clutter, and parts were desperately in need of a lick of paint. Even in the summer, the protruding wires of an electric blanket prodded the flesh from underneath the sheets! And although Wifi is apparently available, it failed to penetrate the walls of our room. Otherwise a tranquil retreat with loads of butterflies down a narrow lane.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leslie_wiles, Owner at Lower Bache House, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We are delighted our guests found our food wonderful as we take pride in the quality we offer.
We manage our gardens for wildlife. We allow wild flowers grow between the cultivars to provide nectar for the butterflies, bees and other pollinators. We then leave all the seed heads to over winter as essential food for the songbirds. This is not necessarily the smartest time in the gardens life.
Décor is a matter of taste. We believe that watercolours, original prints, indoor plants, antique furniture and ornaments,
and period silver cutlery are complimentary to a four hundred year old building and many of our guests go out of their way to comment favourably on our taste.
Travelodge we are not!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

RE visited 20 years after our first visit and as excellent as we remembered it in every way.
Lodgings private and characterful set in magnificent surroundindings ,breakfasts and evening meals of outstanding quality and hosts keen to ensure their guests have a break to remember.Leslie and Rose have set a standard for this kind of accommodation which will be hard to follow.Thank you both for a great break.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimbolton
3.3 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
12.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
0.0 mi away
Grove Farm
Grove Farm
#1 of 1 in Kimbolton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Bache House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Bache House

Property: Lower Bache House
Address: nr Leominster, Kimbolton, Leominster HR6 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster > Kimbolton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kimbolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lower Bache House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lower Bache House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing