We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely summer beer garden”
Review of The Rose & Crown

The Rose & Crown
Price range: US$10 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The crowning glory of Kings Langley Simply put, The Rose & Crown in Kings Langley is a fabulous village pub and restaurant serving up tasty, top-notch food alongside an eclectic range of wines and cask ales in cosy, stylish surroundings.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely summer beer garden”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We'd been on a long walk along the Grand Union Canal, and this was a great place to stop and get some food at the end. We were looking at the main menu (which looked really nice) then noticed the sign advertising the Tapas. It was 4 for £10, so pretty good value, and there were some interesting options such as cottage pie, or lamb kofta. It was really nicely presented, served quickly, and good quality. The beer garden is really nice, there's great views of the hills in the background if you sit in the right place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    120
    66
    42
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
herts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fathers Day Lunch”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

A 10 out of 10 from my family and I for this lovely village pub. The ambience, decor, atmosphere, layout, staff, menu, value, food and drink were all top notch. Couldn't fault it! Hearty portions and something for everyone on the menu. A special shout out to the excellent and patient waiter who dealt with us, Stephen. We will most definitely return here and recommend it to our friends.

Helpful?
Thank nostieandtinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“When we really, really don't want another curry...”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

...we will go to the Rose & Crown. Plus it's very convenient as the nearest to us and overall it's not too bad. If that sounds like damning with faint praise my comments are because when it is good, it is very good, but it can be inconsistent with service and/or food. Whatever happens however it has never been bad enough to abandon the place so diners can visit with confidence - hence my star rating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 507PaulG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very good effort”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

As chains go this Is a very good example of how it should be.
Going at around 17:30 meant we were assured of a decent table as the restaurant was taking a rest between two busy periods (we were informed)
We ordered the set price menu with the first course served quicker than you could blink an eye
The fish finger shaped baked Brie was just warm and just ok
The main course even though there were more staff than customers took 20 minutes to arrive but was fine apart from the rib of beef which the cook managed to murder
There was plenty on the plate and in the main was of very good quality.
When in the past going to these type of chain restaurants you don't expect much and in the main don't get much this was a pleasant surprise well done the rose and crown

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“nice pub grub”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

nice pub definitely for eating, portions not over large but good tasty food. Price £60 for 4 of us with x2 beers and tap water so good value.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wolky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rose & Crown also viewed

Kings Langley, Hertfordshire
Kings Langley, Hertfordshire
 
Kings Langley, Hertfordshire
Kings Langley, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing