We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Royal Oak

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Royal Oak
Ranked #11 of 13 Kington B&B and Inns
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We were in Kington for the weekend and we stopped off at the Royal Oak. We were in the night before where we were made very welcome and nothing we too much trouble. While we were sat by the lovely real fire in the bar, we thought we'd book a table for the Sunday lunch and it was a good job we did. When we arrived, the restaurant was fully but the person behind the bar saved us a table and got everything we needed and once again made us feel very welcome as if we are proper regulars to the pub.

The food was amazing. I believe the chief is Tina, reading other reviews, she cooked the lamb to perfection and those homemade yorkshire puddings were the best ones we've tasted for years. Everything else was brilliant and well worth the money. We did have a look at the sweet menu but was too stuffed to sample anything else. Maybe next time.

If you want amazing food in this pub on a Sunday Lunch, BOOK! Because it is amazing. If only my wife could cook like that. Ha Ha Ha!!

Lovely pub. We will back next year. We wish all the best between now and then!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

went here on chance initially to try some local beer and due to the friendly staff and customers ended upstaying for the evening and on the recomendation of a customer we ended up eating their. they have a good menu, great prices and the food is cooked to order but well worth the wait. good selection of real ale and they are dog friendly ,so our dog was able to come into the warm.dont hesitate try the food cooked by tina

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billi160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We wanted a good traditional pub in which to eat in the evening whilst staying near Kington, and we certainly found it here! The staff were very welcoming and seemed genuinely interested to sit and talk with us - after 2 or 3 evenings it honestly felt as though we had almost become 'regulars' and accepted as friends. The food and drink was excellent on every occasion - plenty to eat, freshly prepared and at sensible prices. We will certainly return when we're back in the area again!

Helpful?
Thank BinghamDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehouse
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a rainy day on the Offa's Dyke Trail and were cheerfully greeted by Casey, the Manager who was lighting the fire in the cosy bar. He showed us to our rooms which were very comfortable and ensured we were well settled in. The food was good, home made fare and the range of drinks was fine. The bar was very friendly with good conversation going on. We really enjoyed our overnight stay, feeling refreshed and ready for the trail again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinver, West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

When I rang to book the landlord thought he was doing me a favour and let me have his guest room, which isn't one of the ones normally offered to paying visitors. It sounds ungrateful but I do rather wish he hadn't. In its favour the pub is right on the national trail and has a lively bar and good meal options. Against, my room had an enormous tv which was perched at an impossible angle to watch, the remote had no batteries and you couldn't even turn the subtitles off. The toilet was badly stained and didn't flush properly. The upstairs was tired and grubby and the pub noise a bit loud if you wanted an early night.

Room Tip: If you are offered the landlords own guest room, think twice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andersons103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey F, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We do apologies. As you did say rightly in your review, that room isn't normally let out to the public. We are going to make some changes to this room and make it more suitable for guests. I was going to give you batteries for the remote but never got a chance so I apologies about that. And you are correct, the sub-titles are almost impossible to get rid of.

If you stay with us again, we will give you one of our main letting rooms. Thank you for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were travelling around the area and staying about 10 miles away from the Royal Oak.
We just accidentally came across this Pub on Sunday evening when we were looking for somewhere to eat. What great luck that we came across this Pub. From the moment we walked in it was as if we had been there hundreds of times, everyone was really friendly.

The menu was varied with lots of old favourites it was a little hard to choose, but we did.
The meal was a little slow at arriving but well worth the wait. This was no problem though as we were in no rush and caught up with the news in the papers provided. A nice touch we thought.
We both had a starter and a main. It was all cooked just right.

The Manager I did not know his name but (other reviewers called him Casey), is very young or rather he looks it. He knows how to keep the customers happy and chats as he goes round the rooms. He seems very interested in the job he does and does it very well. He is a natural and a real people person.

As stated earlier we were touring around the area and the next night we deviated around our route so we could try it again. It was just as good the next night. The starters were just made and really tasty. The home made chips were and gammon cooked to perfection as was the rest of the meal.

Casey was not on duty behind the bar but seemed to be doing a bit of paperwork. This did not stop him from having a word.

If we are in the area again we shall go without hesitation.

You should give it a try, I doubt that you will be disappointed.

Well done TEAM keep it up.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidr19510101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed at the Royal Oak when we were doing some walking in the area. We stay in Room 3 which came with a bath, it was clean and you couldn't hear the road as the room was on the back of the pub. During our stay, we had a lovely meal in the restaurant. The food was fresh, home cooked and cooked to order which I liked. You needed to wait a bit but the food was lovely and you don't see many pubs these days that does that. The Lamb Rump was lovely!!! It's a must have!!

The bar had a roaring fire. The ales were great and well priced. The manager was friendly, warm welcoming and up for a chat with his customers. Great pub all round and well worth a visit for a meal or a stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kington hotels
0.1 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#3 of 13 in Kington
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bench Mark B&B
The Bench Mark B&B
#4 of 13 in Kington
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castle Hill House B&B
Castle Hill House B&B
#1 of 13 in Kington
25 reviews
1.9 mi away
Firs Cottage Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Newburn Farm
#13 of 13 in Kington
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Property: The Royal Oak
Address: 24 Church Street, Kington HR5 3BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Kington, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing