We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pie ever”
Review of Oxford Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oxford Arms
Ranked #3 of 14 Kington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The four of us plus the dog stumbled in here after a long day's walking and in need of big food. We got it - a huge slice of proper homemade pie with thick gravy, an enormous pile of chips and fresh, perfectly cooked veg. That plus being offered a sample of the local ales before we chose our pint of choice made this an absolutely top pub. I'd go back any day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Pixiedew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had great beer and wonderful food - perfect for two foot weary and hungry walkers. This pub is full of character. I thoroughly recommend it - do not miss!

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Annieg36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We were just visiting and having few real local ale and some food. Auntie Myrtle was really nice ale and the food was great!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannuSalonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed at the Oxford Arms having walked the Offas Dyke Path from Hay on Wye. Fred was very welcoming and having looked at the menu we decided to eat in. The food was freshly prepared, excellent quality and the portions very generous; we were all impressed with the breakfasts the following morning as well. We understand Fred and Sadie only took over a couple of years ago, but if they carry on they way they are going they are sure to make the Oxford Arms a resounding success. Thank you for your excellent hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 6walkoffas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

This is a pub hich has recently started B and B, I travel a lot and have stayed in varied accomodation. We stayed here for a wedding which was about 5 miles away. We arrived running a little late - landlord sid rang us a cab and we went off to the wedding. On our return we were able to get last orders which was great.

The room had 3 single beds and was claen and tidy - there were tea/coffee facilities and an extra touch homemade muffins!!

There are two bathrooms which are shared, they wefre large and the shower was great.
Breakfast - Amazing: Choice of cereals and fruit - we were'nt expecting anything more when the owners wife came out and asked if we wanted anything cooked. Both went for the full english which was huge - fresh coffee and crusty bread toasted. I can honestly say it was one of the nicest breakfasts I have had on a B and B basis !

Overall we found the owners went out of their way to cater for us and were very helpful with directions etc.

Would definately recommend this establishment

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bartypb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kington
0.2 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
219 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
159 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Castle Hill House B&B
Castle Hill House B&B
#1 of 14 in Kington
41 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Fforest Inn
The Fforest Inn
#1 of 2 in New Radnor
142 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Radnorshire Arms
The Radnorshire Arms
#3 of 13 in Presteigne
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Arms

Address: Duke Street | Kington, Kington HR5 3DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kington
Price Range: £66 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oxford Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Oxford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Arms Kington, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing