We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, cheery ambiance”
Review of Oxford Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oxford Arms
Ranked #3 of 14 Kington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My friend and I (two women walking Offa's Dyke) were very happy we chose this place. The food was terrific and the atmosphere was very pleasant. The pub doesn't look particularly inviting on the outside, but once inside we felt at home and were warmly welcomed by the owner. My trout was delicious and perfectly cooked.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank LK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Oxford Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had a great time at The Oxford Inn - thoroughly enjoyed the pub atmosphere & delicious food. Service at the bar was always with a smile. The landlord & landlady have created a special pub - and we loved staying here. We miss British pubs now we live in the USA!
The accommodation was very nice, lots of tea, coffee & biscuits in the room. Nice toiletries supplied, and even a sewing kit. Lovely & clean.
Parts of the building are 17th century, which must be kept in mind when you stay. This is not a Premier Inn or similar chain hotel - this is a building with character.
We will definitely return on future visits to the UK.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, one ensuite & 2 with private bathrooms across the corridor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The Oxford Arms was a great place to stay! The manager is fantastic; he let me bring my bike inside the back room, then gave me local beer to sample :) My room was large, clean, and the bed was comfortable. The adjoining shower was excellent, with lots of hot water :) I had a great evening in the pub with a lovely dinner and then a great breakfast in the morning. Seriously, this place is fabulous and, most importantly, the owner/manager is a great guy and will make you feel immediately welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimijimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Ignore the shabby exterior and give this place a go!
Wobbly creaky floors but a good size room with a small shower room next door.
My double bed was great but my mates single was grubby, the bed linen was yucky.
The landlord here is a star! He really does put the customer first.
Great service and a smashing evening meal.
Breakfast was fantastic with a great packed lunch.
These digs have a lot going for them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geordieman2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

When you walk in the door of this place, you might be inclined to walk right back out agin. Don't! The service is friendly and efficient and the food is very good indeed. You'll be pleasantly surprised by the bill too. Give it a go. I think you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Simon_1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The four of us plus the dog stumbled in here after a long day's walking and in need of big food. We got it - a huge slice of proper homemade pie with thick gravy, an enormous pile of chips and fresh, perfectly cooked veg. That plus being offered a sample of the local ales before we chose our pint of choice made this an absolutely top pub. I'd go back any day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Pixiedew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had great beer and wonderful food - perfect for two foot weary and hungry walkers. This pub is full of character. I thoroughly recommend it - do not miss!

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Annieg36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kington
0.2 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
216 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle Hill House B&B
Castle Hill House B&B
#1 of 14 in Kington
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Radnorshire Arms
The Radnorshire Arms
#3 of 13 in Presteigne
124 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Fforest Inn
The Fforest Inn
#1 of 2 in New Radnor
140 reviews
11.3 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Knucklas
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Arms

Address: Duke Street | Kington, Kington HR5 3DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kington
Price Range: £63 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oxford Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Oxford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Arms Kington, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing