We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year in Cider Press Cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bredward Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bredward Farm
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Year in Cider Press Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife and I stayed in Cider Press Cottage from 30th December 2011 until 2nd January 2012. This was our first time in the cottage and our second at Bredward Farm. Once again we were bowled over with the welcome from Lorraine and Ian and by the quality of the cottage. As someone who has spent a great deal of time living in hotels and bed and breakfasts I have to say none have left me so impressed as Cider Press Cottage. It is abundantly clear that Lorraine considers the cottage as an extension of her own home and guests as her visitors. It is spotlessly clean, extremely well equipped and a joy to stay in. I have read a comment about the size of the bed and although not considered a giant at 5’ 11” I found the beds and bedrooms to be very comfortable. For those who have never visited before be prepared to experience a relaxing, peaceful stay in beautiful lush countryside. We have already booked our next stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bens1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
41
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011


A wonderfull and relaxing environment, the accomodation is very comfortable and very well presented. This is one of the best places I have ever stayed, Lorraine and Ian are very welcoming and are 100% dedicated when it comes to looking after guests. I have stayed at Bredward farmfive times during 2011 and everytime I swaer it just gets better. Many thanks

Chris Lythall

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christoph923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We hate to share Bredward Farm because its so good !! Cider Press cottage is immaculate, beautifully furnished and equipped. Be prepared to put on at least 2lbs a day with Lorraines lovely meals. All this in an idyllic setting. Lorraine and Ian should be very proud of what they have achieved. Can't wait to go back early next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandj1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We've just spent a week staying in Cider Press Cottage on Bredward Farm. The setting is lovely, with views across the duck pond and up the hill across pastures and woods at the front and a very well kept garden and pastures to the rear. Great walking country with Hergest Ridge and Offa's Dyke trail on your doorstep, and interesting places to visit like Hay-on-Wye down the road. The cottage is very well equipped, well presented and very clean and comfortable. There is a warm, friendly and helpful welcome from Lorraine and Ian. The cottage is remarkably good value. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We've just spent a lovely week in the gorgeous Cider Press Cottage at Bredward Farm which far exceeded our expectations. The welcome and hospitality from Lorraine and Ian couldn't have been better and the cottage is exceptionally well-equipped with a large character beamed dining-room, a cosy lounge with an electric woodburner for cooler evenings (although we rarely used it even in October because the cottage was kept lovely and warm), a large farmhouse-style kitchen with everything you could need and more and two very comfortable bedrooms. Lorraine has thought of everything you could possibly need including a wonderful welcome hamper with two bottles of wine, tea, coffee, sugar and packets of scrummy biscuits and lovely shower gels etc in the bathroom. The views across from the cottage are lovely and you have access to the beautiful large garden (teeming with feeding birds - including a woodpecker) through the back door where we sat watching the sun go down with some local cider. Talking of cider, on request Lorraine kindly made us one of her special cider cakes to take home with us (absolutely delicious). Everything around the farm is so clean and tidy, with sheep, ducks on the pond, the donkey and horse just occasionally letting you know they're there! It's a lovely peaceful and quiet place, ideal for exploring the area and such good value for money. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. The area is really good for walks including Offas Dyke and Hergest Ridge which provides lovely panoramic views for miles around. Definitely on our list for a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I only stayed for one night but will definately be coming back .Beautifull home and a fantastic host in Lorraine.This is a very clean but small cottage with a cool conservatory overlooking the countryside with great views and nice gardens. Lorraine knows the way to a mans heart with a healthy breakfast that is very tasty,I could not eat another thing all day!. Its so peacefull apart from the morning song in the morning!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djkd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gestingthorpe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I stayed in a single B&B room last year. This year I returned for the Titley Jazz Fesival with a friend and our wives. We went in the self catering part, but booked in for Lorrain's breakfasts.
Downstairs is wonderful. One enters via a dining room with a vast table and about 8 chairs round it. There is a lounge with TV and a kitchen plenty big enough to breakfast in with:- every cooking pot and implement you could need, dishwasher, washing machine, table and a door to the back lawn..
Upstairs is a complete contrast. It is realy two single bedrooms with a small short double beds jammed in each. Anyone over about 1.8 m tall has to sleep at an angle, not leaving much room for their partner. The cramped feeling is accentuated by having every surface covered in ornaments.
Hospitality still wonderful. I wanted to book the bigger B&B double for next year, but it has already been snapped up. Unfortunately I am looking for somewhere with a full length bed - but I doubt if I will find a setting as good as this one.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gestingthorper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kington hotels
1.2 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#2 of 13 in Kington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.8 mi away
Firs Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bench Mark B&B
The Bench Mark B&B
#3 of 13 in Kington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Newburn Farm
#13 of 13 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.2 mi away
Castle Hill House B&B
Castle Hill House B&B
#6 of 13 in Kington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bredward Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bredward Farm

Property: Bredward Farm
Address: Bredward Farm, Kington HR5 3HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kington
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bredward Farm Hotel Kington
Bredward Farm Kington, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing