We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great holiday”
Review of Bredward Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bredward Farm
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another great holiday”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have just returned from our second stay at Bredward Farm. As before, we had a refreshing and enjoyable visit. Lorraine and Ian made every effort to make our stay enjoyable and whilst they can't chnage the weather (which was wet), Bredward Farm is an excellent place to be, rain or shine.

We stayed in the self-catering cottage next to the B&B, our friends were in a caravan on the farm's campsite. The Farm is, therfore, a good plavce for a group holiday, with different types of accomodation to suit different tastes. Since our visit last year Lorraine and Ian have installed a shepherd's hut as well, which offers another option.

We have already booked for our hoiday next year!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveWiseman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
41
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I only stayed for one night, i wish i had stayed for a week. If your looking for something different then i can REALLY recommend this.
Lorrain and Ian were really welcoming on my arrival, nothing was to much bother for them.
This really is a great place to stay and i think other B&B owners could learn a few lesson's from a stay with Lorrain and Ian. Their farm is truly beautiful and i cant wait to go back there. I cant rate this place enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Two friends and I camped at Bredward Farm on the 4th of June 2012 for one night, on the fourth day of our walk on Offa's Dyke.

The site is well situated on a quiet country road with a lovely stone house and very attractive garden in the front. The camping area was clean, neat and very pleasant, sporting plenty of soft cut grass and a pond. Views all around are very pleasant.

The highlight of the stay has to be the hospitality of the host and hostess. One rarely encounters such hospitality. I know my 2 friends share the view that while we were only there one night - it was very pleasant and a highlight on our walk.

I would have no hesitation in highly recommending this location as a camp site or B&B and intend taking my wife there at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conrad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2012

A special weekend for both myself and my partner was made all the more special thanks to Lorraine and Ian's welcome at Bredward Farm. From the initial phonecall in January to the parting wave this morning they made us feel both welcome and at home on their farm.
A cup of tea and biscuits was laid on at our arrival where we were invited to sit out in the beautifully lanscaped garden in the glorious sunshine. We planned a trip to the local beauty spot Hergest Ridge for the evening and Ian's invaluable local knowledge helped us get to know a different route to the summit. Their local knowledge was well to the fore again when looking for the best place for fish and chips!
On our return yesterday evening another cup of tea was made and a cake was also offered, which was a lovely thought. After a great night's sleep on a very comfy bed (only disturbed by the dawn chorus, which isn't really a hardship!) we were invited into the garden room where a full breakfast was being served. Everything you'd expect was on there - cereals, fruit, the full English, fruit juice, toast, a choice of hot drinks - and very filling it is too.
After we'd got the financial business aspect side of the weekend out of the way, Lorraine knew we'd gone to Hergest Ridge for a special occasion and produced a gift for us, which is a lovely thought and has inspired the title of this review.
We both found Bredward Farm to be a welcoming place to stay which is clean and beautifully presented where the hospitality on offer is second to none.
We'd both highly recommend the B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing and comfortable stay in this gorgeous and often overlooked part of the English countryside.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Despite the 'unsettled' weather that seems to have become the norm for Spring 2012, we had a great time on our first visit to Bredward Farm. We stayed for about a week, self-catering in Cider Cottage, and can certainly see why so many people rave about this place.
The cottage itself has been lovingly restored by Lorraine & Ian (the owners), and is presented to an incredibly high standard. Apart from being much cleaner than our own house(!), absolutely everything seems to be provided - a superb welcome pack of food & drink, high quality toiletries, loads of maps, books, a massive range of kitchen equipment, children's games/toys, etc. In some ways it was rather like staying in a cosy, living museum - surrounded as we were by antique furniture and lots of other interesting artefacts! Ian even gave us a freshly caught trout that went down very well - once we'd figured out what to do with it! The pony, donkey and small farm pond all provided added interest, especially the mallard with its 18 ducklings!!
Despite the weather, we enjoyed several walks, which is what obviously attracts many people to the Kington area. One walk that we can recommend involved a circular route where we walked from the cottage itself up onto Hergest Ridge. There are also several National Trust places within a short distance - all well worth visiting. However, for us at least, one of the highlights of our stay was simply wandering around some of the lovely 'black and white' villages in the area. Places like Weobley, Eardisland and Pembridge are all nearby.
Over the years, we've spent holidays in a wide variety of locations, but this experience really was exceptional and we will certainly be back again (if we can get in!).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinghamDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My wife and I visited Bredward Farm over the Easter Period. We stayed in our caravan in the field for eight nights and my sister in law and her husband spent three nights in Cider Press Cottage over the Easter Bank Holiday Weekend.

Even with the drought and hosepipe bans Herefordshire had managed to have rain and the field was slippery when I was towing my caravan onto it. Not having a four-wheel drive we soon got into difficulties with our front wheels slipping, Ian came to the rescue with his Land Rover and soon had us situated where we wanted to be. The field was in its usual trim and tidy condition, except for the marks left by my car. For those requiring a bit more from caravan sites, you may wish to know Lorraine and Ian have invested in an ablution block which was well on its way to completion when we were there. It comprises of a shower, two washbasins, two toilet cubicles and a vegetable preparation area. Plans are also in the pipeline to have hard standings on the field as well as a restored Shepherds Hut complete with wood burning stove for hire.

The cottage was immaculate, beautifully furnished and fully equipped down to baking trays, food processors and coffee machines. The welcome pack was exactly that, very welcoming with tea, coffee, sugar, biscuits and wine. My sister and her husband were very impressed.

Bredward Farm is ideally located for the walker, this being our third visit we ventured further afield with a visit to the beautiful Elan Valley. We spent the day walking the old track bed alongside the reservoirs and even managed a visit inside one of the huge dams on an open day. Elan Valley is an ideal place for walking, cycling or just enjoying nature. Our next walk was around the lush Herefordshire countryside enjoying the wonderful views from Offa’s Dyke Path.

Visits were also made to Leominster and Ross-on-Wye, enjoying lunch in a tea room and browsing through the numerous antique shops. A taste of the local cider was had at the nearby cider making farm and can be recommended. There is still much more for us to see and do and we will be returning.

Lorraine and Ian work hard to make peoples stay at the farm as enjoyable and stress free as possible. I may be making any future stays more difficult with these recommendations as word gets around and more people visit, but the praise is warranted.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bens1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Rich, Kerry, Angela & Dave had a wonderful weekend in Cider Press Cottage and only wish
we could have stayed longer. Lorraine was very welcoming and the Breakfast was out of
this world. The Cottage is superb with everything one could wish for and more. Milk in the
fridge, biscuits on the table and all the tea & coffee you could drink. It is spotlessly clean
and there is every comfort imaginable Thank you so much Lorraine and Ian for your kind
hospitality. Sincerely hope we can come back in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kington hotels
1.2 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Castle Hill House B&B
Castle Hill House B&B
#1 of 13 in Kington
24 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#3 of 13 in Kington
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Firs Cottage Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
The Bench Mark B&B
The Bench Mark B&B
#4 of 13 in Kington
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Newburn Farm
#13 of 13 in Kington
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bredward Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bredward Farm

Property: Bredward Farm
Address: Bredward Farm, Kington HR5 3HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kington
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bredward Farm Hotel Kington
Bredward Farm Kington, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing