We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was like stepping back in time...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bredward Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bredward Farm
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was like stepping back in time...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Dating back to the late 19th century, The Ryland shepherd's hut is like stepping back in time. Warm, cosy, clean, comfortable and beautifully refurbished, it is a wonderful retreat from modern life and our dubious summer weather. Lorraine has put her heart and soul into making a stay in her 'huts' a special experience - the welcome hamper, a fridge of goodies, wood for the stove, wet weather entertainment, authentic sound effects from the neighbouring sheep, a full-on dawn chorus and a family of ducklings are but a few of those 'extra special touches' that make you smile. Lorraine and her husband Ian, are wonderful hosts and both very much make you feel at home. Lorraine provides the most incredible breakfasts and Ian is certainly the entertainment and practical joker! The area surrounding Bredward Farm kept us fully entertained for the long weekend: The Hay Festival gave us a chance to see live music and the likes of Stephen Fry and Jennifer Saunders; The Old Stable Tea Room provided an amazing afternoon tea and local pubs stock a tempting selection of beers and ciders to slowly work your way through! I 'd certainly recommend a trip to the 'Swan Inn' local freehouse - it can't be described, yet must be experienced!!

Room Tip: Try a Shepherd's hut - these are 19th century originals and need to be experienced!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
41
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is our hot air balloon teams third visit to Bredward Farm. This time we were in the B&B and a team member stayed in the Shepherds hut, which turned out to be the ultimate glamping experience - she loved it. The B&B was fantastic, and none of us wanted to go home!
Breakfast was superb, the conservatory has amazing views over the colourful well planted garden with Hergest ridge in the distance.
We enjoyed our visits to the Hay festival, especially seeing many quality speakers and wandering around the town. I would recommend a visit this time of year as there is a lot to do.
Now plan to return next year as part of a charity fundraising walk of Offas Dyke.
I look forward to seeing Ian and Lorraine the ever attentive and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G-WSTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Fantastic hosts and lovely surroundings. This is our third visit to Bredward Farm. We have camped here in previous years and this year decided to stay B&B. Despite poor weather during our stay, we have had such an enjoyable time, and our hosts are so friendly and helpful, and full of information about the area, places to eat and visit. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I've lost count of the number of times we have visited Bredward Farm. My wife and I, accompanied by two friends spent a couple of nights in Cider Press Cottage in November. As ever the cottage was outstanding, fully equipped and spotlessly clean. Our friends own their own successful hotel in London and they unreservedly gave the cottage five stars. My wife and I have used the camping / caravan field and the cottage in the past and we have to say that yes, the location is stunning and the work put into making the cottage so lovely is huge. However the thing that makes every holiday we spend at Bredward Farm so marvellous is the welcome we get from Lorraine and Ian. If you need a break away from the pressures of work and life and want to go home feeling refreshed then I can thoroughly recommend Bredward Farm. This applies even if the weather is not so good, we have been in summer and winter. We will definately be returning and this time we must try the famous Lorraine Breakfast. We can recommend The Tram a few miles up the road for good food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bens1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is our third visit to Cider Press cottage: the haven in Herefordshire. Again everything was first class from Lorraine and Ian's welcome to the accommodation itself. We will be returning to the cottage again very soon. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmab2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Having spent a lovely week at Bredward about 18 months ago, we were keen to return for another holiday in the 'home from home' that is Cider Press Cottage. Needless to say, it was just as good as ever and we'll doubtless be back again in the future. The accommodation itself is lovely and provides for everything that you could possibly want. Lorraine's 'welcome pack' is one of the most generous we've ever had anywhere, and every convenience seems to have been considered - including BT Wi-Fi (at extra cost if you're not a BT customer). We chose to eat out on a few evenings and can certainly recommend The Royal Oak in Kington - excellent food and very friendly people. One of the highlights for us was being able to walk up on to Hergest Ridge straight from the holiday cottage, although sadly there was no sign of Mike Oldfield or his Tubular Bells!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinghamDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed for two nights to attend a local wedding and we were very pleased to have chosen Bredward Farm! We were warmly welcomed and looked after. The farm is in a lovely spot with views over the garden and fields - we enjoyed watching a woodpecker whilst having breakfast - a nice break from the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanga90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kington hotels
1.2 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.8 mi away
Firs Cottage Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#3 of 13 in Kington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bench Mark B&B
The Bench Mark B&B
#4 of 13 in Kington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Newburn Farm
#13 of 13 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.2 mi away
Castle Hill House B&B
Castle Hill House B&B
#1 of 13 in Kington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bredward Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bredward Farm

Property: Bredward Farm
Address: Bredward Farm, Kington HR5 3HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kington
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bredward Farm Hotel Kington
Bredward Farm Kington, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing