We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic old house in great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Medlar

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kington, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Duncan T
1 review
“Fantastic old house in great location”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Charming property with lots of character. Full of history but modern and comfortable. There was lots of room and everywhere was clean and tidy. The log burner worked a treat. The house is in the middle of a small town which has lots of facilities including three well stocked supermarkets and a large number of pubs and cafes. It is also a great centre for walking. We were spoilt for choice when it came to visitor attractions in the surrounding area. All in all, a beautiful property in a beautiful area.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan M
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Medlar is a comfortable and interesting holiday home.”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My friend and I (plus respective wives) were doing the Offa's Dyke walk, and The Medlar was ideally located in the centre of Kington, just a short distance away from the path. The house is very old and has many interesting features. It is well equipped and is very comfortable. The Oxford Arms is close by, and although it looks a little drab, the pub staff were very pleasant and cooked us an excellent evening meal - we would thoroughly recommend the food. Although we didn't meet the landlady, the information letter we received was very helpful. Please note the comments about safety on the stairs, they are well polished and the third stair from the top slants the 'wrong way', as my friend had the misfortune to find out the hard way!
The Medlar is an excellent holiday home and we very much enjoyed staying there.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AlistairE...
1 review
“Our stay at The Medlar”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a lovely stay at the Medlar, it is so well equipped, clean and cosy. Thank you Kay for letting us come for the second time. You will definitely see us again.x

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayTrip72...
1 review
“What an amazing cottage”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage was perfect. Lovely outside area. Perfect for our little dog. Very comfortable and clean. Although we only stayed a short while, a week would have been fun with lots to do and nice walks.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
453defaul...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation with essentials in walking distance”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We came to the area for a wedding and were very pleased with our choice of Kington and of The Medlar. The melding of history and luxury is superb. We very much hope to return for a longer stay.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.