We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Sunday lunch for miles around”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of oxford arms hotel

oxford arms hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Kington
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: you have it listed s B&B
hereford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Sunday lunch for miles around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

If you like good homecooked food this is the place to go for Sunday lunch. Great value for money as Sadie doesn't skimp on anything. A good old fashioned pub with good hearty food. Desserts are a must ...sticky toffee pudding, or a ginger soaked pudding...or home made apple crumble or cherry pie...and wow what big portions. We didnt need to eat for the rest of the day!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank champagnesandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    25
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oxfor Arms a bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

The Oxford Arms .. A bit of a shock when we arrived, the lobby smelt strongly of disinfectant . Not pleasant. I guess that the upper rooms were maybe being redecorated, everything looked half finished. Bare floorboards. The rooms seemed clean but there was a strange smell in all 3 rooms. en-suite bathroom in double had rather battered-looking window which was very difficult to open and had to be propped.
Staff were friendly and quite welcoming and apparently the meals were good but we didn't eat there having been put off by the peculiar smell.
Breakfast was OK but no offer of brown bread , no fresh fruit or yogurt were offered.
Family seemed to have been making an effort but we were worried that it wasn't working very well. A pity as they were very nice people.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank boboranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Only had dinner here, but I thoroughly recommend the Beef Wellington. The service was good and the landlord is very accommodating and up for a chat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ullamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good local eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Do not be put off by the rather old-fashioned decor - the Oxford is a delightful place to eat! Fred is a very engaging landlord and Mrs Fred produces some wonderful food. Lamb-shanks used to be my personal favourite, but this has been nudged aside by the truly excellent Beef Wellington. I'm told the beer selection is great too...
Great value for money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very friendly local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We visited the Oxford Arms on three separate occasions over the August Bank Holiday weekend. On each visit we were made to feel very welcome by the owners and the regulars. The ales and draft cider are excellent. We really enjoyed our Sunday roast, which felt like a home-cooked meal made specially for us, right down to the freshly baked apple crumble and cherry pie. We can't wait to come back to Kington and visit again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed oxford arms hotel also viewed

Kington, Herefordshire
 
Kington, Herefordshire
 
Kington, Herefordshire
 

Been to oxford arms hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing