We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drownded rat saved”
Review of Church House

Church House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church House
Ranked #5 of 13 Kington B&B and Inns
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Drownded rat saved”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Walking the ODP from Knighton in persistent rain, I arrived soaked, tired and with dampened spirits, to a lovely welcome from Liz, my wet clothes and boots were whisked away to be dried, tea and home-made fruit cake produced and a really hot bath to wallow in. Their home is as charming and gracious as Andrew and Liz are, and surrounded by books, pictures and laughter, one felt so refreshed. One could not wish for better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed at Church House while hiking the Offa's Dyke trail. Andrew and Liz made me and my fellow hiker feel right at home. Wonderful, personal service, great accommodations and a huge English breakfast. I want to get back to that area of the world some time and I know where I will stay. Of yea, if you are hiking they have a huge tub for soaking your weary bones.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

liz and andrew are proud not to have frills and doilies rather than threadbare rugs - very homely, comfortable, friendly and efficient, lovely garden if the weather is good. Bathroom not en suite, but good big bath, good breakfast - thoroughly recommended

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cbvLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

When you are clearly staying in someone elses beautiful house - and it is beautiful, there is always the danger that you will feel uncomfortable. Not here. The welcome is - well - welcoming. Very individual, yes, but a welcome that makes you immediately feel at ease.

The rooms are very excellent and the bathroom sumptuous.

Breakfast was a treat - toast is served hot when you need it - a rare host who realises that hot toast is better than cold.

We will try to return later this year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RyedaleRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed in May 2012 while doing the Offa's Dyke Path and having arrived like a drowned rat on the one wet day of my trek, was immediately put at my ease, damp gear once removed was hung to dry overnight above the Aga in the kitchen and tea and scones served to take the chill out of my bones. Lovely house, nicely situated just on the outskirts of Kington but only 5 minutes walk from shops and pubs. Laid back but very gracious hosts and a nice sense of quirkiness which I loved but might not be to everyone's taste as some of the other reviews make clear. Lovely breakfast next morning and a place I'd be more than happy to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuperSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

As part of a family trip to a local wedding this was a superb overnight stay. Tea and homemade cake in the garden on arrival followed by being shown to rooms that were warm and inviting. A great night's sleep and a full english breakfast made it a real treat. The breakfast was of the highest quality and we were offered as much as we wanted. It was the sort of house you wished you lived in yourself and I would recommend it as a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alastair186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

If you like family run places with warm welcomes, beautiful surroundings and lovely food and service then I recommend Church House. I, along with 3 other members of my family stayed there last weekend and it was wonderful. They offer 2 rooms in their lovely home and make you feel very welcome from the outset. While there where no en-suite rooms we did have our own private bathroom with a lovley big roll top bath which was very inviting. Church House gardens were beautiful and we sat and enjoyed the sun while taking in our surroundings and the scent from the flowers.
I would absolutely stay with Andrew & Liz Darwin again and would have no hesitation in recommending their hospitality to friends and family. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank razzah36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kington hotels
0.0 mi away
Castle Hill House B&B
Castle Hill House B&B
#1 of 13 in Kington
33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#3 of 13 in Kington
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Firs Cottage Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Bench Mark B&B
The Bench Mark B&B
#4 of 13 in Kington
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Newburn Farm
#13 of 13 in Kington
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church House

Property: Church House
Address: Church Road, Kington HR5 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Church House Kington, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing