We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bloody gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lion

The Lion
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Kington
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Opened 22nd June 2012
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Bloody gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Don't eat anywhere else in Kington! This restaurant is amazing - rose veal and guinea fowl mains and tasty starters, plus homemade ice cream and a fab wine list = an indulgent heavenly meal. Add to this the friendly and chilled staff and some of the best background music I've ever heard! Don't just save for a special occasion, it's too good to miss!

Helpful?
Thank LoulabelleK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Pleasant service,OK food, no atmosphere.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were four for lunch, in fact the only people in the place. It was cold and efforts to get the log burning stove going were unsuccessful. Service was pleasant and prompt. Three of us had hot open sandwiches with salad which came on cold plates, presumably to stop the salad from wilting. But cold plates and a cold room soon meant cold food. I suggested they might serve on hot plates with a separate dish for the salad. Wine was good and reasonably priced. But the decor was dull and even allowing for the lack of other diners it lacked atmosphere. If you are tempted try an evening because other reviewers have obviously had a better experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mainwearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Welcome pretensions - but not quite living up to them”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I had dinner here with a seven friends. It is good to find a restaurant with ambitions above the level of country pub restaurant and the menu was ambitious and attractive. The ambience was friendly and warm, though the service was a touch amateur. My starter of scallops on a bed of ratatouille was an odd combination and not totally successful; and the lamb that followed was a real disappointment: tasty in parts but even with a steak knife it was so full of tendons and gristle it could not be cut: bad buying and butchering rather than cooking. Others did better with their partridges, and the sweets were fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidJFPollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Kington!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have visited this restaurant twice now and both times have been an enjoyable experience, there is always a lovely and welcoming atmosphere and the food is perfect and very reasonably priced.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone and everyone.
I look forward to returning again in the near future.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmielou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous 1920's Murder Mystery dinner party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We arranged with Gareth to have my daughters 21st Birthday dinner at The Lion Restaurant, we wanted to have a Murder Mystery party set in the 1920's, Gareth and his staff made our evening fabulous, from the wonderful doorman who had to stand outside in the rain and take our passes and ask for our password to enable us to enter the "speakeasy" to the fantastic 3 course dinner. Gareth and his staff worked wonders with the room we booked, we had Kir Royale's on arrival and a set 3 course dinner (arranged with Gareth) The food was amazing and the service from our allocated waitress was brilliant, she was very attentive and smiled the whole time (even though we took an age to determine who the murderer was) the whole evening was fabulous. We would all like to thank Gareth and his wonderful staff for making our daughter's dinner party a success.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meladams2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lion also viewed

Kington, Herefordshire
 
Kington, Herefordshire
 
Kington, Herefordshire
Eardisley, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing