We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something Of A Curate's Egg”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lion

The Lion
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Kington
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Opened 22nd June 2012
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Something Of A Curate's Egg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I ate here on a Wednesday night - never promising, particularly in a tiny town like Kington but, as a newish restaurant, a visit to The Lion was overdue. First impression was that it was a rather disjointed space there being dining areas to the right and left of the front door with an unoccupied bar area in the middle. We were seated in the front dining area a rather "tea-roomy" space where the tables were crammed together. Private conversation was, therefore, difficult and made even more so by a very loud party of ten which rather dominated the room.

Drinks came quickly but we waited 20 minutes for our starters to arrive - not good! My scallops were well cooked but almost cold and my wife's goat's cheese salad introduced the hazelnuts which were to feature elsewhere during the evening. My guinea fowl breast was beautifully cooked, well presented on a bed of bubble and squeak and served with a splendid jus. The fish stew, although very good, was an intimidating plateful providing enough sustenance for two people! I finished with a decent cheese platter which included more hazelnuts and senior management had a selection of ice creams which included, surprise, surprise, a hazelnut one! (Perhaps they over-ordered and were desperately trying to shift them?)

All in all pretty good food but the atmosphere, ambiance and service really need working on.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drofdraddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Bloody gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Don't eat anywhere else in Kington! This restaurant is amazing - rose veal and guinea fowl mains and tasty starters, plus homemade ice cream and a fab wine list = an indulgent heavenly meal. Add to this the friendly and chilled staff and some of the best background music I've ever heard! Don't just save for a special occasion, it's too good to miss!

Helpful?
Thank LoulabelleK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Pleasant service,OK food, no atmosphere.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were four for lunch, in fact the only people in the place. It was cold and efforts to get the log burning stove going were unsuccessful. Service was pleasant and prompt. Three of us had hot open sandwiches with salad which came on cold plates, presumably to stop the salad from wilting. But cold plates and a cold room soon meant cold food. I suggested they might serve on hot plates with a separate dish for the salad. Wine was good and reasonably priced. But the decor was dull and even allowing for the lack of other diners it lacked atmosphere. If you are tempted try an evening because other reviewers have obviously had a better experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mainwearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Welcome pretensions - but not quite living up to them”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I had dinner here with a seven friends. It is good to find a restaurant with ambitions above the level of country pub restaurant and the menu was ambitious and attractive. The ambience was friendly and warm, though the service was a touch amateur. My starter of scallops on a bed of ratatouille was an odd combination and not totally successful; and the lamb that followed was a real disappointment: tasty in parts but even with a steak knife it was so full of tendons and gristle it could not be cut: bad buying and butchering rather than cooking. Others did better with their partridges, and the sweets were fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidJFPollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Kington!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have visited this restaurant twice now and both times have been an enjoyable experience, there is always a lovely and welcoming atmosphere and the food is perfect and very reasonably priced.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone and everyone.
I look forward to returning again in the near future.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmielou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lion also viewed

Kington, Herefordshire
 
Kington, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing