We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in an unexpected place”
Review of The Lion

The Lion
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Kington
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Opened 22nd June 2012
theclifster
1 review
“Great food in an unexpected place”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great food, great fun staff and home made ice-cream.
Some of the best food I have had outside London. Yes it was just steak and ice-cream, but everything on the plate was cooked brilliantly.

Way better than the usual food we usually find on offer for groups of walkers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matthew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fine dining”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Best quality food beautifully presented. The flavour combinations were delightful and the enthusiasm of the staff completed the experience. The best restaurant I've been to in Herefordshire.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ianbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Kington”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My friend and I enjoyed a mid-week meal at the Lion Restaurant recently. The menu was interesting - if slightly 'meat-heavy' (I am semi-vegetarian) with locally sourced produce. My friend ordered duck and requested it to be 'not pink'. She commented that this is often a controversial request as conventional wisdom dictates that duck must be pink. However, to the chef's credit, the duck came exactly as she requested (and was delicious!). I enjoyed my spicy butter bean and tomato casserole. We each had a pudding featuring excellent homemade ice cream. Feeling greedy, we also shared a single portion of cheese and biscuits - beautifully presented. Our waitress was attentive, but not over-bearing. The restaurant is attractively decorated - with a tranquil elegance. Reasonable prices, excellent food, good service and pleasant ambience - a gem in Kington.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doesn't cut the mustard”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

As visitors staying in Kington in search of somewhere to eat which offered more than pub grub, the menu and restaurant looked promising. We should have gone with our gut instincts at the start - avoid places who have next to no diners (2 only) on a friday night. Anyway hungry after a day's walking on the hills, we ventured in and ordered. Pleasant staff and wine was good. Bread and olives fine, though olive oil a tad 'ordinaire'. Starters came a ok aside from the bizarre tasting hazelnuts coated in some unpalatable mixture (given comments from others on Trip Advisor evidently a house speciality). Mains arrived and one (salmon) was uncooked. Amazingly on returning it to the kitchen for proper cooking we were informed that this is how the chef always prepares it and therefore it was implied we were the ones in error. Mmm if I want sushi fish I will order it.......I didn't. Anyway it returned a few minutes later properly cooked. Overall it was of average quality as other ingredients (chard, mushrooms and potatoes) were akin to an Eastern European offering which was overly fried and presented in too much oil. The other meal was reasonable. Then to end the evening a final two chocolate covered hazelnuts with the bill. What's with the hazelnut theme??

Overall, service and wine good, food did not cut the mustard for us. Was it a one off?? Who knows....the lack of other customers suggest perhaps not.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We were staying in Kington and did not fancy eating in our hotel and did not want to drive so ate in The Lion.
The food was really good (although a limited selection), it was all locally obtained food and was very good and priced accordingly, a meal for 2 with starters, bottle of wine, a beer was around £60. The wine was very good and priced at £13.95 = extremely good value.
There only small issue was they did not have any English mustard or horseradish which seemed strange for where we actually were in the UK.
Would recommend this restaurant and return if we were in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mickhere4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lion also viewed

Kington, Herefordshire
 
Kington, Herefordshire
 
Kington, Herefordshire
Eardisley, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing