We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eceptional Liesure Facilities and excellent service”
Review of The Burton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Burton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kington
Reviewed 6 June 2007

The Burton is a pleasant country hotel in a pleasant small market town and the Staff were particularly attentive and efficient and the food was of a high country standard. The rooms are what one would expect in the average country Hotel but plans are in place to build additional suites on the rear car park. If the new suites are developed to the standard of the exceptionally well designed and spacious Leisure Centre ( which would grace a 5 star London Hotel) and the Conference Facility which has also been added , this hotel will easilly tick all the boxes as excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 223 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2007

We enjoyed an excellent weekend at the Burton. First impressions of the front of the Hotel were not encouraging but, once inside, we found the new leisure complex to be quite exceptional. Pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and gym - the best facilities we've ever seen.
The staff were helpful and friendly and the evening meals were really good.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheepySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2006

We booked into the Burton Hotel for three nights mid-week over two months before our stay, specifically requesting a quiet room and very much looking forwards to using the pool and spa. As the previous review mentioned at £88 per night, we were expecting good things.

We ended up only staying for one night as the room we were allocated was freezing cold (even with the heating on full blast) and impossibly noisy all night, as the hotel faces onto a road used by a lot of HGVs and has old style sash windows. The bathroom light did not work, the mattress was back-cripplingly soft and the linen seemed to have come straight from a residential home.

We were not prepared to waste another £88 on this feeble attempt at a hotel, we made the management aware of our experience and left. Apologies were offered but no offer to reduce the bill for the night we stayed was made. Our feedback was met with seemingly blind indifference and I would not recommend this hotel unless you plan on spending the night in the pool.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shopaholic2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2006

I have quite mixed views about this hotel - but the health spa and pool are really excellent and make the difference if you value such facilities.

Stayed here recently for a long weekend. The hotel is three star rated by the AA. Around these parts accommodation is mostly (very nice and quite expensive ) B&Bs but very few of them are ensuite, which seems to be the case for all the rooms in this small private hotel.

It was originally a coaching in, and still has the coach house across the road. If you get disturbed by chiming clocks, the clock on top of the coach house chimes on the hour and every quarter hour, and the hotel is not (and is unlikely ever to be) double glazed - it is probably a listed, protected building with a lot of character. It is also opposite the Kington Museum - a fascinating locally run voluntary museum including the history of Kington Camp - a major destination for military victims during WW2.

It is in the centre of this pretty little town - you can probably walk the whole town in a few minutes. It seems to be stuck in the 1950s, except it has lots of tea shops and shops selling cards and gifts.

The hotel has competent guest focused staff, and good attention to our needs.

Rooms are very clean and pleasantly decorated and good duvets and linen - all look quite new. Bathrooms definitely recently redone - and sparklingly clean - but our basin had a massive crack in it. Excellent over bath shower - almost Westin standard, and plenty of hot water. Plenty of space and storage. Weird TV channel selection (Freeview maybe - but very small TVs and no radio)

It is clearly being renovated and extended, but still needs a lot of work on the facilities in the rooms - no minibar, phone radio alarms do not work consistently, strange switches to power towel rails and hair dryers, papers kept down at reception rather than delivered to the room. Not convinced there is any serious room service either.

The main lounge bar and restaurant are a popular meeting point for locals, with a nice friendly atmosphere, and lots of tables including an outside courtyard and conservatory area. Bar snacks are good value and rapidly served.

Breakfast OK and included in the room rate - good local products for the cooked breakfast especially lovely local ham and bacon - but limited juices, fruits and cereals (and no yoghurt), and slightly disjointed service. However very happy to please and go provide off menu combinations for the main cooked offerings.

The newly opened health spa - including a lovely large indoor pool (5 foot depth throughout, beautifully heated and very good acoustics) and work out facilities - is fabulous (even better than the website pix in fact) , although the leisure staff lack a sense of humour. If you have to remove your outside shoes it would be good if the changing room floors were kept really clean and dry. And the spa pool and steam room could have been hotter.

The pool made the real difference to our stay - there is nothing else comparable in any of the other local hotels. It really is a gem.

Overall, probably better than anything else for a good distance around - but then it should be at £88 a room a night.

4  Thank Graysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank VBA4210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kington
6.3 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
161 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
492 reviews
9.8 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
252 reviews
15 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#3 of 15 in Kington
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burton Hotel

Address: Mill Street, Kington HR5 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kington
Price Range: £94 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive town centre hotel which has been in the same family ownership for 30 years. 23 large en-suite rooms which includes 6 deluxe bedrooms and 1 deluxe fully disabled access ground floor bedroom in the new south wing. Also in the south wing two new two bedroomed self contained apartments with their own balcony. All rooms have freeview tv with Sky tv in the bar. The bar is open all day every day serving fresh coffee, afternoon tea, meals lunchtime and evening and local real ales. An a la carte restaurant serves meals every evening and there is a large function room which can cater for parties from 20 to 100. Complimentary to all hotel guests is Cloud 9 spa incorporating a palm fringed heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and gym. An all weather 9 hole putting green in the large beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Burton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burton Hotel Kington
The Burton Hotel Kington, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing