We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't bother” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saverys Licensed Restaurant

Saverys Licensed Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 51 Restaurants in Leominster
Price range: US$10 - US$17
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: A lovely traditional English restaurant with great food, drinks and service in the lovely market town of Leominster, Herefordshire, England.
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We went in today for a coffee and lunch after being sat at a table for 15 mins, 2 waitresses came in at different times looked at us then walked away, We then tried to order at the counter and was rudely told 'we will come to you, ok?' Still no service, so we walked out. Went to the cute little sandwich shop directly across the road and was spoken to like old friends with spot on service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plan104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    11
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Savery's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

On a cold Saturday morning in November I was wandering in Leominster looking for something for breakfast. I passed Wetherspoons and found this fabulous little restaurant. The food was so so good. It was local produce and beautifully cooked. The service was superb. The surroundings were clean and very pleasant. A lady came who was trying to find a local address, she had a coffee and asked where the place she was looking for was. The waiter, Robert went out of his way to find out for her. He did manage. I honestly don't think I have ever had a better breakfast and it was not over-priced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5rita6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice food. Slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Visited Leominster on a return trip from a holiday in Forest of Dean . Stopped in Leominster for lunch. Found Saverys. It looked interesting and had a good menu - we only wanted a light lunch. We sat at a table and waited for service. The waitresses were having a conversation amongst themselves. We wondered if we were supposed to go to the counter to order but the sign said ' we'll come to you." So we waited and waited! Eventually they completed their conversation and we were acknowledged! We nearly just left. However, when it arrived our paninis were yummy.
Allow a long time if you eat here

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandovery
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Speedy service, tasty food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Called in for a quick snack, freshly made, tasty and enjoyable, so I was very surprised to see reviews detailing poor service.
The three members of staff with whom we had contact were very pleasant, even acceding immediately to my request to have half of my sandwich packed to go as I had a bad mouth ulcer.
For a quick snack, it was great and when I mentioned it to a nearby shop owner, he concurred that it was a good place for speedy service, good local food and not too expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenBJLlandovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing food and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

When premises call themselves a restaurant, we usually expect good food and service. Saverys is basically a trying to go upmarket snack cafe.

Shabby with marked table cloths, unclean salt and pepper pot and grubby menus we wish we had not stayed. Our order was taken at the table and drinks brought quickly, the food took another 10 minutes. The tea pot I had needed a good wash as it was greasy.

We both had hot BLT my husbands in white bread, mine in granary. Granary is a proprietary name for a specific brand of bread, the bread I got was bog standard brown sliced. The menu said they would be served with either a salad or crisps. They came with neither. When I spoke to the assistant, she said "oh really" and walked off (presumably to sort it out). She then passed by 2 tables away from where we were sitting and called over to say the they were bringing the salad - one small dish arrived.

The staff were not wearing aprons and liked their jewellery, not good food hygiene standard presentation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saverys Licensed Restaurant also viewed

Leominster, Herefordshire
Leominster, Herefordshire
 
Leominster, Herefordshire
Leominster, Herefordshire
 

Been to Saverys Licensed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing