We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Spoilt Birthday Lunch !!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Corners Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Corners Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Leominster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Spoilt Birthday Lunch !!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This event was a birthday lunch get-together. We had table in the bar area. The Barman had a poor attitude, i.e. he was rude. Bar staff did not know how to wait on table - over reaching on other members of the party when serving party individuals with food.
As with steak, staff should ask "do you want the meat rare/medium/well cooked" for liver (ours was rare - not so safe for liver) !. Vegetables were cooked OK, but again, the question arises staff need to ask whether the customer requires veg. aldenti/medium/overcooked !. Chef's tend to cook most vegetables aldenti (not all customers have all their own teeth). Not many complaints from other party members - steaks cooked to customer order; lasagne, fish dishes OK.
The billing was un-professional – a scrap of paper to list food items and a till printout with itemised prices – need top to put the two together for professional IT presentation of bill – Bill did add up correctly however. Service was a bit slow, not many patrons eating.

Overall, a two hour lunch spoilt by an un-professional approach !!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailey-HB H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    44
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
29
72
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for a short break .We were met with a warm welcome by the lady owner..The room was a delight ,it was spotless with everything you would need , the bathroom was lovely with a large shower unit and plenty of thick towels . The bed was very large and comfy , had a great nights sleep as it was nice and quiet . We ate in the bar ,which was enhanced by the lovely fires . The staff and meal were superb , even though there was 3 large christmas parties going on, we were still attended to very well. The breakfast choice is plentiful and the cooked breakfast was delicious .We thoroughly enjoyed staying here and will certainly be returning to this beautiful olde worlde pub and its superb rooms. Would highly recommend .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggs321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

For my fathers 73rd Birthday we went for Sunday lunch. The landlord was so rude that it will bé the last time I go to that pub. 18 for lunch is a good number as without us it would have been a quiet service. Were we treated with respect - NO! As a family we have used the corners over the years, with special events, shoot meetings etc. Today is the last. Food was okay but the attitude stunk! At 2pm the lights were off and the bar was empty. How I help my tounge when the landlord said to our table 'and where is SHE going now!' about my mother I do not know. Thank god for the Àngel!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SleepySleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My friend and I stayed here last weekend and found the accommodation first class. We were unable to get a twin room so booked a double, and are we glad we did. The bed was to die for. It was absolutely massive (super King size) and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The room was spotless and the en suite roomy with lovely powerful shower. We ate in the bar in the evening and in the dining room for breakfast, which again was very nice. If I was to be very picky the only fault was that you couldn't open the velux window. However, there is a lovely big air conditioning unit above the wardrobe which was very effective, but I do like some fresh air. However, it would not put me off visiting again and overall would give it 10/10.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuterosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We didn't stay here but we happened upon it by chance while looking for Sunday lunch. Very good fixed price menu with plenty of choice, including vegetarian and fish. Local produce, well prepared. The best cauliflower cheese I've ever had. Very pleasant dining room, excellent service.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jacquir88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Found the 'Corners' on Late Rooms and what a nice surprise we had. It is a real pub with character, excellent meals and superb accommodation. The accommodation is chalet style separate from the main building, huge comfortable bed, powerful easy to use shower and plenty of space for all the toiletries. The wardrobe itself is big enough to sleep in !!! The whole place was spotless.
We had our evening meal in the bar as the restaurant was full, but had a really enjoyable time chatting with Richard the landlord. At last, someone with the same outlook on life as mine.
Breakfast was served in the dining room and was really nicely presented.
All in all we had a lovely stay and would stay again and recommend the 'Corners' to others.
Thank you Sue and Richard.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 on ground floor, fine for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had business near Leominster and were in need of a stop-over I. The area. What a pleasant surprise it was to find The Corners Inn at short notice. The cabin style rooms are spotless and very well appointed. The owners and their staff are fun and extremely accommodating. The food is very nice. All in all this is a great place to stay and worth making a detour if you are in the area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank butterbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leominster
3.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
8.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
6.2 mi away
Lower Bache House
Lower Bache House
#1 of 1 in Kimbolton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corners Inn

Property: The Corners Inn
Address: Kingsland, Leominster HR6 9RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Leominster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Corners Hotel Leominster
The Corners Inn Leominster, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing