We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deservedly Number 1 B&B in Leominster” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leominster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highgate House
Ranked #1 of 14 Leominster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Deservedly Number 1 B&B in Leominster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Just got back from a short trip to Herefordshire. Margaret and Cyril Merriman welcome you warmly to this smart, tastefully decorated B&B just a short 15 minute walk from Leominster town centre. The premises have been beautifully refurbished; the Victorian house is spacious, clean and welcoming. From our Room 1, we had lovely views of the green hills beyond. We found the Hereford Road by going straight across the roundabout where the A44 meets the A49, through the industrial estate thus avoiding the one way system through and around Leominster. There was tea and coffee in our room, home made cake, biscuits, all the usual helpful toiletries plus a TV. The room was clean, smart, spacious and comfortable. Parking in the road was not a problem, although there are a couple of off road spaces at the back of the house. Breakfast was great and we are especially grateful to Margaret and Cyril for welcoming an unexpected guest in the form of my husband who was on a cycling trip in the area and turned up for breakfast one morning. Nothing is too much trouble and we highly recommend the house, and the hospitality to anyone needing to stay in the area. It was a 15 minute flat walk to the local train station with connections to Ludlow, Shrewsbury, Newport and Manchester Piccadilly. Fully endorse all the positive recommendations made about this great B&B - oh, and good value for money, too!

Room Tip: Although the house is on a "B" road, there was no problem with passing traffic whilst we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank triotravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Very many thanks for your lovely review. I'm glad we lived up to your expectations as I expect you had high hopes after reading our reviews. We enjoyed our chats on mutual subjects and it was a pleasure to meet your delightful son and your husband ( for breakfast ) Hope all goes well for you all and perhaps see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
47
15
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My cycling buddy and I spent 1 night at Highgate and wish we were able to stay longer. Margret and all at Highgate made us very welcome in their home. The property is spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated inside and out. Bikes were stored securely. Facilities were modern and comfortable. Home-made cake was delicious! Breakfast was tasty. Everything first rate! We look forward to our next visit to Highgate.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Markbeezkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Very many thanks for all your lovely comments about our B and B. I know the price for our superior room was more than you had paid previously in the town but I do hope you thought it was worth it. Look forward to meeting you both again next time you're in Leominster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My son and I can thoroughly recommend this guesthouse run by Margaret and Cyril Merriman. We found it through the internet while planning our Land's End to John O'Groats charity cycle ride, and can say that it was the nicest B & B we stayed in on the whole trip. It's a handsome C19th house, easy to find, nice big airy rooms which are tastefully but not fussily decorated. Two large slices of homemade carrot cakes awaited us in some tupperware! Beats a bit of shortbread in a packet anyday. Our bikes were locked away and even our cycling kit was removed, washed and dried for the next morning. But despite all these lovely surprises the best bit was the next day - a superb breakfast, bacon trimmed of fat, different types of bread toasted, such attention to detail, all of it gracefully and thoughtfully done. If you are going to Leominster, I honestly doubt you'll find another overnight stay as good as this one.

Room Tip: Ask about Mrs Wilkinson - you'll be in for a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Firstly, well done on completing the Land's End to John O'Groats charity cycle ride. We hope you made lots of money for your charity. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for the lovely review. Perhaps you'll come and stay with us again, if only to see Mrs Wilkinson, our cat with attitude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here for a night in June and received a very warm welcome from the hosts. Our room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Tea and coffee were provided, as was some delicious home made cake. Breakfast was lovely, and they even managed to cater for me, a fussy vegetarian! I would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubia1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Glad you felt welcome at Highgate House. It's the sort of house that needs people in it. Cyril and I enjoy all our different guests and we hope that shows through in the way we welcome them. Many thanks for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights had a great time .Cyril and Margaret could not be more welcoming with homemade cake in the room tea and coffee making facilities and a bottle of water.Fantastic breakfast with nothing to much trouble.Would recommend !PS it only took us 8 mins to walk into town.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Glad you liked our house as we're very proud of it. It was lovely having you as our guests and perhaps it will be longer next time as there's lots to do in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have recently spent 4 nights at Highgate Hous and what a delightful stay we had.

Margaret and Cyril were very welcoming and friendly and did everything to make us feel at home. Their house is delightful and obviously lovingly cared for. It is easily within walking of the town centre.

Our room ( Number 1 ) was beautifully decorated , spacious and spotless - it has what is probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in !

Breakfasts , with plenty of choice of cereals and fruit and bacon and egg etc, etc AND etc, were delicious, as were the slices of homemade cake that magically appeared each day on the tea-tray in our room.

Altogether a most comfortable and happy place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 150SuJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you so very much for your lovely review and we're so glad you felt " at home " in our B and B. Perhaps we'll see you again when you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Cyril and Margaret guest house is superb. Very clean and the standerd of the room we had was A1.
We enjoyed our stay very much.
But it takes a little longer than 10 minutes to walk to town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pastorjohnWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. I judged the walk into town to be about 10 minutes but obviously it depends how well each person can walk. It is exactly half a mile and most of our guests enjoy it after they have had a meal in town. It also means we are not situated right in the middle of town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leominster
0.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
10.0 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
3.6 mi away
Lower Bache House
Lower Bache House
#1 of 1 in Kimbolton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Hills Farm
The Hills Farm
#1 of 1 in Leysters
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Grove Farm
Grove Farm
#1 of 1 in Kimbolton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate House

Property: Highgate House
Address: 29 Hereford Road, Leominster HR6 8JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Leominster
Hotel Class:4 star — Highgate House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 120 year old Victorian property, retaining many original features.There is rear parking and it's a 10-15 minute walk into town where you will find several restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highgate House Hotel Leominster
Highgate House Leominster, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing